classified," \$25,300; industrial machinery—process, construction, petroleum, steel-making, farming, household, food-making, textile and clothing, printing and "not otherwise classified," \$25,300.

Each entrant in a sub-classification will compete for five initial prizes of \$700, \$500, \$300, \$200 and \$150 to be awarded within the sub-classification. From the winners of these prizes will be chosen four papers in each major industry to receive additional prizes of \$3,000, \$2,000, \$1,000 and \$800.

RECENT DEATHS AND MEMORIALS

Dr. Edward Curtis Franklin, emeritus professor of organic chemistry at Stanford University, died on February 4 at the age of seventy-four years.

Dr. Duncan Star Johnson, since 1906 professor of botany at the Johns Hopkins University, died on February 16 at the age of sixty-nine years.

Dr. Frank Smithles, professor of medicine at the Medical School of the University of Illinois, Chicago, died on February 9 at the age of fifty-six years.

Nature records the following deaths: Sir John A. F. Aspinall, past-president of the Institutions of Mechanical and Civil Engineers and also of the Institution of Civil Engineers of Ireland, on January 19, aged eighty-five years; and of David Ellis, professor of bacteriology and superintendent of the Schools of Pharmacy and Bakery in the Royal Technical College, Glasgow, on January 16, aged sixty-two years.

A CORRESPONDENT of the Journal of the American Medical Association reports that a bust of the late Professor Babes, founder of the first Pasteur Institute in Bucharest, was unveiled in Bucharest on October 27. The bust is placed in the square, opposite the Bucharest Bacteriologic Institute. Memorial addresses were made by Professors Bacaloglu, Ciuca, Manicatide, Marinescu and Proca. At the same time the remains of Professor Babes were interred in the crypt situated in the garden of the institute. He died ten years ago and was buried in the Bucharest Greek Catholic cemetery.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Cardinal Newman Award for 1936 will be presented at the University of Illinois on February 21 to Dr. Alexis Carrel, of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, New York City, for his contributions to medical science. The award is conferred annually upon the individual "who has made an outstanding contribution to the enrichment of human life in the fields of statesmanship, education, art, science or humanitarianism."

Dr. RICHARD EDWIN SHOPE, of the department of animal and plant pathology of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, Princeton, has been awarded the John Phillips Memorial Medal of the American College of Physicians for 1937, in recognition of his work on filterable viruses. The medal will be presented at the annual meeting of the college in April.

In honor of the election of Dr. Frank C. Whitmore, dean of the School of Chemistry and Physics at Pennsylvania State College, as president of the American Chemical Society and as the recipient of the William H. Nichols Medal, a dinner was given by his colleagues on January 14. Dr. Grover C. Chandlee, head of the department of chemistry, presented to Dean Whitmore a congratulatory scroll signed by all staff members and graduate students in the School of Chemistry and Physics. Dr. Charles L. Parsons, secretary of the American Chemical Society, was present at the dinner and spoke briefly. Illness prevented Dr. Edward R. Weidlein, president of the society, from attending.

W. R. Ham, head of the department of physics, served as toastmaster.

Dr. Charles Wallis Edmunds, professor of materia medica and therapeutics in the School of Medicine of the University of Michigan, has been appointed Henry Russell lecturer for 1937. The award was made possible by an endowment established in 1925 by the will of the late Henry Russell and is planned "to honor and reward that member of the faculty who is declared to have accomplished the work of greatest scholarly distinction during the year past." Another portion of the endowment is used to make an award to one of the younger members of the faculty who is believed to show the greatest promise in scholarly achievement. The name of the latter customarily is announced at the time of the lecture, which probably will be given in the first week of May.

Dr. David Hilbert, professor of mathematics at the University of Göttingen, celebrated his seventyfifth birthday on January 23.

Dr. W. G. CROCKETT, professor of pharmacy at the Medical College of Virginia, Richmond, has been elected president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

OFFICERS of the Society of American Bacteriologists elected at the annual meeting in Indianapolis are: *President*, Dr. James M. Sherman, Cornell University, Ithaca, N. Y.; *Vice-president*, Dr. Paul F. Clark, University of Wisconsin; *Secretary-treasurer*, Dr. I.