the removal of excess residues before the products are shipped, and these are in very general use, particularly in the apple industry. The present tolerances were adopted on the basis of advice given by a committee of toxicologists called together for consultation about ten years ago. That committee, in recommending the tentative tolerances which are essentially those now in effect, recommended further researches to fill out some of the gaps in scientific knowledge of the subject and determine more conclusively than has heretofore been possible at what figure permanent tolerances for lead and arsenic should be set to guarantee public health protection.

With an increase in appropriation for the enforcement of the Food and Drugs Act granted to the department two years ago by Congress, the Food and Drug Administration organized a Division of Pharmacology under the leadership of Dr. Edwin E. Nelson, who was furloughed by the University of Michigan, for the purpose of selecting competent personnel and formulating a comprehensive program of research on the toxicity of lead and arsenic as well as on other problems. Having completed the organization of the division, Dr. Nelson returned to the University of Michigan on October 1, where he is now professor of pharmacology. He continues to assist the division, however, in a consulting capacity. Dr. Nelson was succeeded as chief of the division by Dr. Herbert O. Calvery, biochemist. The division consists of twelve technically trained men, including eight biochemists and nutritionists, three pharmacologists and one pathologist.

As the first and most important subject for consideration by the new division, Dr. Nelson and Dr. Calvery outlined the research project for the study of the toxicity of lead and arsenic, which will be continued over a period of some years, with the objective of giving a scientific answer to the question as to what are safe tolerances for these poisonous substances.

THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE GEOLOG-ICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA

THE forty-ninth annual meeting of the Geological Society of America was held at the Netherland Plaza Hotel, Cincinnati, from December 29 to 31.

Nearly six hundred persons registered for the meeting. The scientific program carried one hundred and fifteen titles, and the programs of the associated societies, the Paleontological Society and the Mineralogical Society of America, were also crowded.

The address of the retiring president, Dr. Walter C. Mendenhall, entitled "Outline of the Evolution and Present Status of Geology in North America," was delivered on the evening of December 29.

The annual dinner was held on the evening of the thirtieth. The ninth award of the Penrose Medal of

the Geological Society of America was made at this time, the recipient being Professor Arthur Philemon Coleman, professor emeritus of the University of Toronto. The presentation address was made by Professor George D. Louderback, chairman of the Medal Award Committee.

On the afternoon of December 30, Dr. Isaiah Bowman made a radio address over Station WLW, entitled "Geology in the Evolution of Culture."

The officers of the society for the year 1937, elected at the annual meeting, are as follows:

President, Charles Palache

Past-President, Walter C. Mendenhall

Vice-Presidents, W. O. Hotchkiss, Charles Camsell, G. D. Harris, W. S. Bayley

Secretary, Charles P. Berkey

Treasurer, Edward B. Mathews

Councilors, Hoyt S. Gale, Chester R. Longwell, M. M. Leighton, Joseph T. Singewald, Jr., Walter H. Bucher, Russell S. Knappen, E. L. Bruce, Joseph Stanley-Brown, G. F. Loughlin

The following geologists were elected foreign correspondents:

Lucien Cayeux, Paris, France Arthur Holmes, Durham, England Louis de Launay, Paris, France

The following is the list of newly elected fellows:

John Emery Adams, Midland, Texas John Hodgdon Bradley, Jr., Los Angeles, California Carl Colton Branson, Providence, Rhode Island Roland Wilbur Brown, Washington, D. C. Edwin Harris Colbert, New York, N. Y. George Vibert Douglas, Halifax, Nova Scotia Lloyd Wellington Fisher, Lewiston, Maine Paul Pavel Goudkoff, Los Angeles, California Philip Krieger, New York, N. Y. William Christian Krumbein, Chicago, Illinois Ralph Maxwell Leggette, Jamaica, New York Evans Blackmore Mayo, Bishop, California Simeon William Muller, Stanford University, California William Thomas Nightingale, Rock Springs, Wyoming Henry Staats Sharp, New York, N. Y. Victor Timothy Stringfield, Washington, D. C. Charles Vernon Theis, Albuquerque, New Mexico Norman Edward Weisbord, Sumatra, Netherland East Indies

Alice Evelyn Wilson, Ottawa, Canada

THE AWARD OF THE PERKIN MEDAL OF THE SOCIETY OF CHEMICAL INDUSTRY

THE William H. Perkin Medal of the American Section of the Society of Chemical Industry was presented to Thomas Midgley, Jr., vice-president of the Ethyl Gasoline Corporation, at a meeting on January 8 at the New York Chemical Club.

The medal was presented to Mr. Midgley "for dis-