Britain and secretary of the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, is chairman of the executive committee on the congress organizing committee, and Dr. H. J. Gough, superintendent, Engineering Department, National Physical Laboratory, is chairman of the British International Association for Testing Materials committee.

A NEW SOIL SCIENCE SOCIETY

AT a joint meeting of the Soils Section of the American Society of Agronomy and of the American Soil Survey Association in Washington, D. C., in late November, these organizations voted to merge and form the Soil Science Society of America. The object of the new society is to foster all phases of soil science. Sections have been organized in soil physics, soil chemistry, soil microbiology, soil fertility, soil morphology, classification and cartography and soil technology. A close affiliation with the American Society of Agronomy will be maintained. The papers presented at the annual meeting will be published in a volume of *Proceedings*. This volume will supersede the annual *Bul*- *letin* of the American Soil Survey Association. The society elected the following officers:

President, Richard Bradfield, the Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio.

Secretary and Vice-President, A. M. O'Neal, Sugar Cane Soil Laboratory, Houma, La.

Secretary-Treasurer, P. E. Brown, Department of Soils, Iowa State College, Ames, Iowa.

Chairmen of the various Sections:

- I. Soil Physics, H. E. Middleton, Division of Research, Soil Conservation Service, Washington, D. C.
- II. Soil Chemistry, S. F. Thornton, Purdue Agriculture Experiment Station, Lafayette, Ind.
- III. Soil Microbiology, L. M. Turk, Department of Soils, Michigan State College, East Lansing.
- IV. Soil Fertility, W. H. Pierre, Department of Agronomy, West Virginia Agricultural Experiment Station, Morgantown.
- V. Soil Morphology, Classification and Cartography, L. C. Wheeting, Department of Agronomy, Washington State College, Pullman, Wash.
- VI. Soil Technology, L. R. Schoenmann, Department of Land Use, University of Michigan.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

As has already been announced in SCIENCE, the annual meeting of the British Association will be held next year in Nottingham from September 1 to 8, under the presidency of Sir Edward Poulton. Presidents of the sections have been elected as follows: Section A (Mathematical and Physical Sciences), Dr. G. W. C. Kaye; B (Chemistry), Dr. F. L. Pyman; C (Geology), Professor L. J. Wills; D (Zoology), Professor F. A. E. Crew; E (Geography), Professor C. B. Fawcett; F (Economics), Professor P. Sargant Florence; G (Engineering), Sir Alexander Gibb; H (Anthropology), Dr. J. H. Hutton; I (Physiology), Dr. E. P. Poulton; J (Psychology), Dr. Mary Collins; K (Botany), Professor E. J. Salisbury; L (Education), H. G. Wells; M (Agriculture), J. M. Caie.

THE Penrose Medal of the Geological Society of America for 1936 was presented on December 30 to Dr. Arthur Philemon Coleman, professor of geology emeritus at the University of Toronto. The award is made "in recognition of eminent research in pure geology and of outstanding original contributions of achievements which mark a decided advance in the science of geology."

DR. RICHARD E. SHOPE, of the department of animal and plant pathology of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research at Princeton, N. J., has been awarded the John Phillips Memorial Medal for the year 1937 by the American College of Physicians. THE New York Academy of Sciences has awarded the A. Cressy Morrison prize of \$250 to Dr. Albert F. Blakeslee, A. Dorothy Bergner and Amos G. Avery, of the department of genetics, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Cold Spring Harbor, L. I., for their paper on "The Geographical Distribution of Chromosomal Prime Types of the Jimson Weed." The second prize of \$150 has been awarded to Dr. Frederick Fey Sheldon, of the University of California, for his paper on "The Bones, Muscles and Probable Evolution of the Catfish and Related Species."

THE American Institute, New York City, has made the following awards: A fellowship to Watson Davis, director of Science Service, for "interpreting to the people of the nation the rapid progress of science upon which modern civilization depends and for the organized dissemination of research findings as news"; a gold medal to the Bell Telephone Laboratories for "researches in electrical science which, applied to communication, have promoted understanding, security and commerce among people by transmitting human thought instantly throughout the world."

AT the one hundred and eighteenth annual meeting of the New York Academy of Sciences, Dr. George H. Sherwood, educational director of the American Museum of Natural History, was reelected honorary president. Honorary members were elected as follows: Professor K. S. Lashley, of Harvard University; Pro-