featuring exhibits of ancient man found in all parts of the world. At the academy there will be assembled in one hall all the present available fossil remains, weapons and tools as well as replicas of the sites on which these discoveries have been made.

Though final arrangements have yet to be consummated, Dr. Ralph Von Koenigswald will bring a cast of the earliest datable human fossil, "Homo Modjokertensis," Dr. Pierre Teilhard de Chardin will bring casts of recently unearthed remains of "Peking Man" and Dr. A. E. Jenks will contribute to the exhibition human skeletal remains found in Minnesota. At one end of the hall there will be a reproduction of the site at Clovis, New Mexico, where last summer Dr. Howard found the tools and stone points of the so-called "Folsom Man" in conjunction with the bones of extinct mammoths.

The one hundred and twenty-fifth anniversary of the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, to be marked by the Symposium on Early Man, will commemorate the founding of the oldest institution of its kind on the American continent. In its earliest years, the academy was known to European scientists as the "Lyceum of America" and the scientific gateway to a virgin field. The institution has been a pioneer in many fields of natural history. During the past year more than twenty-six expeditions and field trips to all parts of the world have gone out from the academy; new work in geology and in the study of ancient man has been undertaken and a new department of education has been organized.

BROADCASTS BY THE AMERICAN ASSOCIA-TION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

THE program of radio broadcasts arranged for the meetings of the American Association for the Advancement of Science at Atlantic City and Philadelphia is as follows:

December 28, Monday, 7:30 to 7:45 P. M.

E. G. Conklin, Princeton University, president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Topic: "Science and Human Welfare."

December 29, Tuesday, 6:00 to 6:15 P. M.A. H. Compton, University of Chicago, sponsor. Topic: "Science in the News."

December 30, Wednesday, 5:00 to 5:15 P.M.

A. E. Hitchcock and P. W. Zimmerman, Boyce Thompson Institute. Topic: "How Do Plant Hormones Act?"

- December 31, Thursday, 6:00 to 6:15 P. M. Howard Blakeslee, David Dietz and John O'Neill, New York newspapers. Topic: "Science and the Press."
- January 2, Saturday, 6:00 to 6:15 P. M., Philadelphia. Otis W. Caldwell, Boyce Thompson Institute; Watson

Davis, Science Service; Franklin Dunham, National Broadcasting Company. Topic: "The Week of Science Meetings."

Columbia Broadcasting Company

December 28, Monday, 2:30 to 2:45 P. M.

- Howard E. Enders, Purdue University; Otis W. Caldwell, Boyce Thompson Institute; Evelyn M. Fansler, Atlantic City High School Science Clubs, and Alton Meister, New York City High School Science Clubs. Topic: "The Science Youth Movement."
- December 29, Tuesday, 2:30 to 2:45 P.M. Watson Davis, Science Service. Topic: "The Year in Science."

December 30, Wednesday, 2:30 to 2:45 P.M.

F. B. Knight, University of Iowa. Topic: "Is Education a Science?"

ELECTION OF OFFICERS OF THE AMER-ICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY

DEAN FRANK C. WHITMORE, of the School of Chemistry and Physics of Pennsylvania State College, has been elected president of the American Chemical Society for 1938. He will take office as presidentelect on January 1, succeeding Dr. Edward R. Weidlein, director of the Mellon Institute of Industrial Research, who will become president. Dr. Weidlein succeeds Professor Edward Bartow, of the State University of Iowa.

Other officers elected were:

Directors: Professor Townes R. Leigh, acting vicepresident of the University of Florida—director for the fourth district to succeed Professor E. Emmet Reid, of the Johns Hopkins University; Professor Robert E. Swain, head of the department of chemistry in Leland Stanford University—director for the sixth district to succeed Dr. Walter A. Schmidt, of Los Angeles; Dr. Willard H. Dow, president of the Dow Chemical Company, Midland, Mich., —director at large to succeed Dr. Milton C. Whitaker, of New York.

Councilors at Large: Dr. E. K. Bolton, chemical director of E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company; Professor W. L. Evans, of the Ohio State University; Professor Edward Mack, Jr., head of the department of chemistry of the University of North Carolina; Dr. C. E. K. Mees, vice-president and director of research, Eastman Kodak Company.

Dean Whitmore was recently awarded the William H. Nichols Medal of the New York Section of the American Chemical Society, one of the highest honors in chemical science, "for his studies in metallo-organic compounds, especially those of mercury, and in the field of aliphatic chemistry, particularly in molecular rearrangements and in the polymerization of olefins." He will receive the medal, founded in 1902 to stimulate original research in chemistry, at a ceremony on March 5, 1937.

Before becoming dean of the school of chemistry and