The association is not scheduled to meet again in Philadelphia until 1942. It is hoped that many members may take this opportunity of seeing the recent developments in some of these oldest and most renowned scientific institutions of America.

RECENT DEATHS

Dr. Louis M. Dennis, for thirty-two years professor of chemistry at Cornell University until his retirement in 1932 as professor emeritus, died on December 9 at the age of seventy-three years.

Dr. Arthur Witter Gilbert, of the U. S. Department of Agriculture, died on December 7 at the age of fifty-four years. Dr. Gilbert was assistant professor and professor of plant breeding at Cornell University from 1909 to 1917 and Massachusetts State Commissioner of Agriculture from 1919 to 1934.

DR. CHARLES METCALFE BYRNES, associate in neurology at the Johns Hopkins Medical School, died suddenly on November 9. He was fifty-five years old.

The death is announced of Dr. Edgar Hartley Kettle, professor of pathology in the British Post-Graduate Medical School of the University of London and consulting pathologist to St. Bartholomew's Hospital.

THE death is reported of Dr. Valdemar Henriques, director of the Rockefeller Institute of Copenhagen, formerly professor of physiology at the University of Copenhagen.

JUAN DE LA CIERVA, inventor of the autogyro, was killed on December 9 in an airplane accident at the Croydon Airdrome, England. He was forty years of age.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Charles Frederick Chandler Medal of Columbia University has been awarded to Dr. John Howard Northrop, member of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, "for fundamental discoveries concerning bacteria, the constitution of protein and the chemistry of digestion." This is the sixteenth award of the medal. It will mark the centennial of the birth of Dr. Chandler. Dr. Northrop will deliver the Chandler lecture in the spring.

THE Associated Grocery Manufacturers Association of America, at their annual banquet in New York City on December 1 presented to Dr. George R. Minot, professor of medicine at the Harvard Medical School, its annual award "for research in the field of nutrition leading to the prevention of disease and the advancement of health." The selection of Dr. Minot was made by the following committee: Dr. George R. Cowgill, professor of physiological chemistry, Yale University, chairman; Dr. James S. McLester, Birmingham, Ala., past president of the American Medical Association; Dr. George W. McCoy, director of the National Institute of Health of the U.S. Public Health Service; Dr. Mary D. Swartz Rose, professor of nutrition, Teachers College, Columbia University, and Dr. Leonard A. Maynard, professor of animal nutrition, Cornell University. The presentation address was made by Dr. Morris Fishbein, Chicago, editor of the Journal of the American Medical Association.

MRS. MARY L. JOBE AKELEY received the gold medal for "distinguished achievement in exploration" of the National Travel Club at the annual dinner given in New York City on December 3. The silver medal was given to H. R. Ekins, of the Scripps-Howard newspapers, for "his distinguished contribution to the science of transportation and communication."

Dr. Carlos E. Porter, director of the Zoological Institute of the University of Chile, founder and editor of the Revista Chilena de Historia Natural, has been awarded a gold medal in commemoration of his forty years of scientific work as editor of the Revista. A gathering was held in his honor on September 23 by representatives of the university and of the scientific and cultural societies of Chile. Dr. Porter was this year the recipient of a gold medal from the International Faculty of Sciences of London.

THE John Anisfield Prize of \$1,000 of The Saturday Review of Literature has been awarded to Julian S. Huxley, secretary of the Zoological Society of London, and to Dr. Alfred C. Haddon, formerly reader in ethnology in the University of Cambridge, for their book, entitled "We Europeans: A Survey of 'Racial' Problems." The John Anisfield Award, established in 1934 by Mrs. Edith Anisfield Wolf, of Cleveland, in memory of her father, John Anisfield, is awarded annually "to encourage and reward the production of good books in the field of racial relationships, either here or abroad." The committee of judges consisted of Henry Pratt Fairchild, professor of sociology in New York University; Donald Young, of the Social Science Research Council, and Henry Seidel Canby, contributing editor to The Saturday Review.

At the centennial convocation at Emory University the degree of doctor of science was conferred on Dr. Thomas M. Rivers, member of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research.

Industrial and Engineering Chemistry announces that of the men nominated by the local sections for officers of the American Chemical Society, the following have received the largest number of votes: Presi-