- Edward B. Pollister, president, Busch-Sulzer Brothers Diesel Engine Company.
- Colonel Robert H. Morse, president, Fairbanks-Morse and Company.
- B. C. Heacock, president, Caterpillar Tractor. Company.

C. L. Cummins, president, Cummins Engine Company.

- David S. Sarnoff, president, Radio Corporation of America.
- Edward G. Budd, president, Edward G. Budd Manufacturing Company.

Arthur Brisbane.

- H. L. Hamilton, president, Electro-Motive Corporation.
- Malcolm Muir, president, McGraw-Hill Publishing Company.
- Captain Edward V. Rickenbacker, vice-president, Eastern Air Lines.
- Thomas H. Beck, president, Crowell Publishing Company.
- Walter C. Teagle, president, Standard Oil Company (New Jersey).
- C. A. Criqui, Sr., president, Sterling Engine Company.
- B. F. Fairless, president, Carnegie-Illinois Steel Corporation.
- Frank A. Vanderlip, Sr.
- R. U. Blasingame, president, American Society of Agricultural Engineers.

THE TWENTY-FIFTH ANNIVERSARY OF THE NEW YORK STATE COLLEGE OF FORESTRY

THE twenty-fifth anniversary of the founding of the New York State College of Forestry at Syracuse University was observed on November 19, 20 and 21.

Twenty-five years ago the first class in forestry was held in the corner of Lyman Hall, one of the buildings of the College of Liberal Arts. The first classes were directed by the present dean of the Graduate School, Dr. William L. Bray. A few months later Dr. Hugh P. Baker, the first dean of the college, now president of Massachusetts State College, took charge, and from that time it began a remarkable career of development which has been furthered by the late Dean Franklin Moon and by Dr. Samuel N. Spring, the present dean.

There are now two large modern buildings at Syracuse, together with a well-equipped pulp and paper laboratory and various other laboratories. The Roosevelt Wild Life Forest Experiment Station is a part of the college. The large concrete State Ranger School building is situated on the shores of Cranberry Lake in the Adirondacks and 20,000 acres of forest land are used for experimental purposes in various sections of the state. The New York State College of Forestry is the largest and best equipped institution of its kind. To date it has approximately 1,700 graduates, including the Ranger School, a student body of 500 and a faculty of forty-five members.

During the celebration a special convocation was

held at which the doctorate of laws was conferred on Robert Moses, park commissioner of New York City and president of the New York State Council of Parks; on Arno Berthold Cammerer, director of the National Park Service, and on Robert B. Goodman, president of the Northern Hemlock Association.

The program opened on November 19 with a banquet attended by men prominent in the professional field of forestry and education, the alumni and student body. The celebration closed on Saturday, with a meeting of the Alumni Association and a luncheon prior to the Colgate-Syracuse football game.

A history of the college written by members of the faculty has been published and was distributed at the banquet. Speakers during the celebration included: President Hugh P. Baker, of Massachusetts State College; Arno B. Cammerer, director of the United States National Parks; Conservation Commissioner Lithgow Osborne; Robert Moses, chairman of the New York State Council of Parks; Acting Chancellor William P. Graham, of Syracuse University; Robert B. Goodman, chairman of Wisconsin Conservation Commission, and Dean Samuel N. Spring.

ROYAL SOCIETY MEDALLISTS

THE King of England has approved of the following awards this year by the president and council of the Royal Society in respect of the two Royal Medals:

A Royal Medal to Professor R. H. Fowler, F.R.S., for his work on statistical mechanics and allied departments of modern mathematical physics.

A Royal Medal to Professor E. S. Goodrich, F.R.S., for his work on the morphology of the excretory organs of the invertebrata and for his work on the comparative anatomy and embryology of the vertebrata.

The following awards of medals have also been made:

The Copley Medal to Sir Arthur Evans, F.R.S., in recognition of his pioneer work in Crete, particularly his contributions to the history and civilization of its Minoan Age.

The Rumford Medal to Professor E. G. Coker for his researches on the use of polarized light for investigating directly the stresses in transparent models of engineering structures.

The Davy Medal to Professor W. A. Bone, F.R.S., for his pioneer work on contact catalysis and his researches on the mechanism of combustion of hydrocarbons and on the nature of flames and on gaseous explosions.

The Darwin Medal to Dr. E. J. Allen, F.R.S., in recognition of his long-continued work for the advancement of marine biology, not only by his own researches, but by the great influence he has exerted on very numerous investigations at Plymouth.

The Hughes Medal to Dr. W. Schottky for his discovery of the Schrot effect in thermionic emission and