estate and its choice of his papers and books. The estate was valued for probate at \$535,000.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS OF THE NEW YORK ACADEMY OF MEDICINE

AT a meeting of the New York Academy of Medicine on November 7, Dr. James Alexander Miller, professor of clinical medicine at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University, an authority on internal medicine and tuberculosis, was nominated to succeed Dr. Eugene H. Pool as president of the academy. Dr. Miller was for nine years president of the New York Tuberculosis and Health Association, and last year was president of the American College of Physicians. He will serve a two-year term.

Other officers nominated were: Dr. Arthur F. Chace, vice-president, for a term of three years, and Dr. Lewis F. Frissell, recording secretary, for a similar period; Dr. Walter L. Miles and Dr. Eugene H. Pool were elected trustees. New members of the committee on admissions are Drs. Isidore Friesner, Thomas T. Mackie, Harold R. Mixsell and Irving S. Wright.

Upon recommendation from the committee on fellowships, six honorary members were elected to honorary fellowships. They are: Dr. Maude E. Abbott, curator of the Medical Museum at McGill University in Montreal; Dr. Walter B. Cannon, professor of physiology at Harvard University; Dr. Jean Darier, dermatologist and honorary physician at the Hospital St. Louis in Paris; Lord Herbert of Ashford, Baronet of Shaston, physician in ordinary to King Edward VIII; Dr. Ernest L. Kennaway, director of the research institute of the Cancer Hospital in London, and Dr. Hans H. Meyer, emeritus professor of pharmacology at the University of Vienna.

The meeting closed with an address by Dr. William Mather Lewis, president of Lafayette College, who spoke on the educational background of professional men.

NOMINEES FOR PRESIDENT-ELECT OF THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY

THE nominations for the office of president-elect of the American Chemical Society made by the local sections have been submitted to the members of the society. The four names receiving the largest vote will then be put upon the final ballot which goes to members of the council, and the election there is final. These nominations as given in *Industrial and Engineering Chemistry* are as follows:

- Eugene C. Bingham, since 1916 professor of chemistry at Lafayette College.
- W. D. Harkins, professor of chemistry at the University of Chicago.
- Arthur W. Hixson, professor of chemical engineering at Columbia University.

- B. S. Hopkins, professor of chemistry at the University of Illinois.
- Charles A. Kraus, professor and director of chemical research at Brown University.
- James W. Lawrie, research chemist of the A. O. Smith Corporation.
- Albert P. Mathews, Andrew Carnegie professor of biochemistry and head of the department in the College of Medicine of the University of Cincinnati.
- E. Emmet Reid, professor of organic chemistry at the Johns Hopkins University.
- Hugh S. Taylor, David B. Jones professor of physical chemistry and head of the department at Princeton University.
- James G. Vail, chemical director of the Philadelphia Quartz Company and, since 1924, vice-president of the American Doucil Company.
- Frank C. Whitmore, dean of the School of Chemistry and Physics of the Pennsylvania State College.

The following have been nominated to serve as councilors-at-large.

- E. K. Bolton, chemical director, E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, Inc.
- R. A. Dutcher, professor, Pennsylvania State College.
- W. L. Evans, professor, Ohio State University.
- Per K. Frolich, chief chemist, Standard Oil Development Company.
- B. S. Hopkins, professor, chemical laboratory, University of Illinois.
- F. A. Lidbury, president, Oldbury Electro-Chemical Company.
- Edward Mack, Jr., head, department of chemistry, University of North Carolina.
- C. E. K. Mees, vice-president and director of research, Eastman Kodak Company.
- R. E. Rose, director of technical laboratory, E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, Inc.
- Alexander Silverman, professor in the department of chemistry of the University of Pittsburgh.
- C. M. A. Stine, vice-president and member of the executive committee, E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, Inc.
- J. W. Watson, professor and head of the department of chemistry of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute.

RECENT DEATHS AND MEMORIALS

JAMES A. HALL, professor of mechanical engineering at Brown University, died on October 29 at the age of forty-eight years.

DR. OSKAR KLOTZ, professor of pathology and bacteriology at the University of Toronto, died on November 3. Dr. Klotz was professor at the University of Pittsburgh from 1910 to 1920. He was fifty-eight years old.

DR. THOMAS MARTIN LOWRY, since 1920 professor of physical chemistry at the University of Cambridge, died on November 3 at the age of sixty-two years.