This invitation was submitted to the members of the International Committee and the committee has resolved to accept the invitation with sincere thanks.

The exact date for the holding of the congress will be decided upon later. In 1937 there will be arranged in Moscow an All-Union Agricultural Exhibition, which undoubtedly will prove of interest to many members of the Genetics Congress.

OTTO L. MOHR

Oslo

THE AWARD OF THE MEDALS OF THE ROYAL SOCIETY AND THE ELECTION OF OFFICERS

THE following awards of medals have been made by the president and council of the Royal Society:

A Royal medal to Professor C. G. Darwin, F.R.S., for his researches in mathematical physics, especially in the quantum mechanics of the electron and in optics.

A Royal medal to Dr. A. Harker, F.R.S., in recognition of his distinguished work and influence as a petrologist. The Copley medal to Professor C. T. R. Wilson, F.R.S.,

for his work on the use of clouds in advancing our knowledge of atoms and their properties.

The Davy medal to Professor A. Harden, F.R.S., for his distinguished work in biochemistry and especially for his fundamental discoveries in the chemistry of alcoholic fermentation.

The Hughes medal to Dr. C. J. Davisson for research resulting in the discovery of the physical existence of electron waves through long-continued investigations on the reflection of electrons from the crystal planes of nickel and other metals.

The following is a list of those recommended by the president and council for election to the council of the Royal Society at the anniversary meeting:

Sir William Bragg, president; Sir Henry Lyons, treasurer; Sir Frank Smith and Professor A. V. Hill, secretaries; Professor A. C. Seward, foreign secretary.

Other members of council:—Professor E. D. Adrian, D. L. Chapman, Professor A. W. Conway, Dr. W. H. Eccles, Professor A. S. Eve, Professor L. N. G. Filon, Dr. J. Gray, Sir Daniel Hall, Dr. S. W. Kemp, Sir Patrick Laidlaw, Sir Gerald Lenox-Conyngham, Dr. G. T. Morgan, Professor R. Robison, Dr. B. Smith, Professor W. Stiles and W. Trotter.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. WILLIAM F. DURAND, professor emeritus of mechanical engineering at Stanford University, was presented with the John Fritz Medal on December 4 at the annual meeting in New York City of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. The award was made to Dr. Durand as an "authority in hydrodynamic and aerodynamic science, and its practical application" and as "an outstanding leader in research and in engineering education." Other awards were made as follows: Charles T. Main, of Boston, past president of the society, the society's medal; Stephen Timoshenko, professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Michigan, the Worcester Reed Warner Medal; Oscar R. Wikander, of Pittsburgh, the Melville Medal; Stanley J. Mikina, of East Pittsburgh, the junior award; G. Lowell Williams, a graduate of Lafayette College last year, the Charles T. Main award, and Charles P. Bacha, of last year's graduating class at Rutgers University, the student award.

Dr. F. G. Donnan, professor of chemistry in the University of London and director of the Chemical Laboratories at University College, has been elected a foreign member of the Division for Chemistry of the Royal Physiographical Society of Lund.

The Buckston Browne Prize for 1935, of the Harveian Society of London, has been awarded to William Robert Fearon, of Trinity College, Dublin, for his essay on "Nutritional Factors in Disease."

PROFESSOR ALBRECHT PENCK, of the University of Berlin, has been elected an honorary member of the Geographical Association of Sofia.

At the recent annual convention in Washington of the Association of Land Grant Colleges and Universities, Dr. A. R. Mann, provost of Cornell University, was elected chairman of the executive committee. Dr. Mann succeeds Dr. Raymond A. Pearson, formerly president of the University of Maryland and previously president of the Iowa State College, who has been for the past twenty years a member of the committee, during the last seventeen years its chairman. The association adopted resolutions recognizing Dr. Pearson's distinguished services to the Land Grant Colleges covering a period of thirty-five years. A testimonial breakfast was tendered to him by the presidents of the Land Grant Colleges in attendance at the convention.

Dr. O. M. Dickerson, of the Colorado State Teachers College at Greeley, was elected president of the Colorado-Wyoming Academy of Science at the ninth annual convention, held at Colorado College on November 29. Dr. Dickerson succeeds Dr. E. B. Renaud, of the University of Denver. Other officers elected were: B. E. Cohn, of the University of Denver, vice-president; H. B. Van Valkenburgh, of the University of Colorado, secretary; C. T. Hurst, Western State College, Gunnison, treasurer; W. D. Robertson, Colo-