Besides the three main sessions enumerated above, there will be a session devoted to a group of papers on various phases of electrochemistry. Stender and his associates (Leningrad, Russia) will discuss the Castner cell; Krause and Kahlenberg (University of Wisconsin), the palladium-hydrogen equilibrium; Lilienfeld, Nieh and Goldman (of Malden, Mass.), anodic layers on aluminum.

Dr. Colin G. Fink, Columbia University, New York City, is secretary of the society.

CHANGES AT THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE

NATHAN HAYWARD, president of the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia, Pa., has announced the election of Henry Butler Allen, metallurgist of the Henry Disston Company, Philadelphia, and member of the Board of Managers of the Franklin Institute for several years, as director of the museum of the institute. He will take up his new work on October 1.

Dr. Howard McClenahan has been granted a year's leave of absence and plans to travel for a year, after which he will continue his services as secretary of the institute, a position that he accepted in 1925 when he retired as dean of the College of Princeton University. Under his leadership the Franklin Institute, together with the Benjamin Franklin Memorial, Inc., conducted a drive for funds for a new building. Work was begun in 1930 and the building completed and occu-

pied in the fall of 1933. Shortly after his acceptance of the secretaryship he proposed this expansion and was sent abroad by the officials of the institute to study the Deutsches Museum in Munich. As a result of his efforts the scientific and technological museum was sponsored by the institute. One of its best known features is the planetarium, the gift of Samuel S. Fels. In Dr. McClenahan's absence Dr. Alfred Rigling, librarian and assistant secretary, will carry on his work.

Mr. Allen's connection with the Franklin Institute began when he became a member in 1916. He has served as chairman of the Committee on Science and the Arts, and in 1932 was elected a member of the Board of Managers. He has been chairman of the Museum Committee for the past two years. Mr. Allen, who was born in Greenfield, Mass., attended New England schools and Amherst in the class of 1909. He received a degree of metallurgical engineer from the Columbia University School of Mines in 1911. For a short time thereafter he was United States Examiner of Iron and Steel for the Port of New York. In 1913 he became associated with Henry Disston Sons Company, of Philadelphia, and has continued with them ever since, being now chief metallurgist of the company. Mr. Allen returned recently from a six-week trip to Europe, where he visited museums as well as industrial plants.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

SIR JOSIAH STAMP was elected president of the British Association for the Advancement of Science at the recent meeting at Norwich. Sir Josiah is chairman of the London, Midland and Scottish Railway, director of the Bank of England and a member of the British Economic Advisory Council.

At the annual meeting of the American Astronomical Society, held at Toronto on September 10, 11 and 12, under the presidency of Dr. Henry Norris Russell, of Princeton University, the following officers were elected: Dr. Frederick Slocum, of the Van Vleck Observatory at Wesleyan University, vice-president; Dr. Annie Jump Cannon, of Harvard College Observatory; Dr. Robert H. Baker, of the University of Illinois, and Dr. Theodore Dunham, Jr., of the Mount Wilson Observatory, councilors; Dr. Robert G. Aitken, director emeritus of the Lick Observatory, was appointed the society's representative on the National Research Council. Dr. R. S. Dugan, of Princeton University, secretary, and Dr. F. C. Jordan, of Allegheny Observatory, treasurer, were reelected. Dr. Einar Hertzsprung, director of the Sterrewacht at Leiden, Holland, was elected to honorary membership to succeed the late Dr. Willem de Sitter.

A DINNER in honor of Dr. Gilbert N. Lewis, professor of physical chemistry and dean of the College of Chemistry of the University of California, was given by the American Chemical Society at the close of the San Francisco meeting.

PRESENTATION will be made of the Frederic Ives Medal for 1935 to Dr. George Ellery Hale, honorary director of the Mount Wilson Observatory of the Carnegie Institution, at the annual dinner of the Optical Society of America, which meets at the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia, from October 24 to 26. Dr. Charles G. Abbot, secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, will accept the medal on behalf of Dr. Hale.

The Albert Medal for 1935 of the Royal Society of Arts, London, given annually "for distinguished merit in promoting arts, manufactures or commerce," has been awarded to Sir Robert Hadfield "for his researches in metallurgy and his services to the steel industry."

Nature states that the council of the Royal Society of Edinburgh has awarded the Makdougall-Brisbane Prize for the period 1932-34 to Dr. A. E. Cameron, lecturer in entomology at the University of Edinburgh, for his publications in entomology.