of geography; A. H. Warner, instructor to assistant professor of physics.

In the College of Agriculture the following promotions were made: P. L. Hibbard, associate chemist to chemist; H. R. Guilbert, assistant to associate animal husbandman: A. J. Winkler, associate viticulturist to viticulturist; P. M. Barr, assistant to associate professor of forestry; W. M. Hoskins, assistant professor and assistant entomologist to associate professor and associate entomologist; T. E. Rawlins, assistant professor and assistant plant pathologist to associate professor and associate plant pathologist; F. N. Briggs, assistant to associate agronomist; S. H. Cameron, assistant to associate plant physiologist; E. C. Voorhies, associate to full professor of agricultural economics; F. J. Veihmeyer, associate to full professor of irrigation investigations and practice; M. Kleiber, associate animal husbandman, additional title of associate professor of animal husbandry: H. J. Almquist. instructor and junior poultry husbandman to assistant professor and assistant poultry husbandman; D. E. Bliss, junior to assistant plant pathologist.

NOTES FROM THE CONNECTICUT AGRI-CULTURAL EXPERIMENT STATION

WILLIAM L. SLATE, director of the Agricultural Experiment Station at New Haven, Conn., has been appointed chairman of the State Planning Board by Governor Wilbur L. Cross. The Planning Board was given legal status by the recent General Assembly. For the past year it had functioned in an advisory capacity, as the Governor's Planning Board, carrying on research under the chairmanship of Director Slate.

Dr. Donald F. Jones, head of the department of genetics at the Agricultural Experiment Station at New Haven, has been granted leave of absence beginning on September 1. He will carry on special research at the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena. Dr. Jones is president of the American Genetics Society.

Director William L. Slate and Dr. M. F. Morgan, of the Agricultural Experiment Station at New Haven, will attend the International Congress of Soil Science, meeting at Oxford, England, from July 30 to August 7. Dr. Morgan will read two papers based on the experimental work he has carried on at the station. The first, on the simultaneous estimation of active chemical factors in plant nutrition through tests of sodium acetate-acetic acid soil extract, is the background for Dr. Morgan's simplified method of soil testing, described in Station Bulletin 372, now on the press. In the second, Dr. Morgan will talk about changes in exchangeable bases in soils as related to fertilizer application, leaching and crop removal. This paper is based on the results of lysimeter investigations made at the substation at Windsor in which he has studied the effects of nitrogen-carrying fertilizers on different types of soil.

Besides attending the conference, Director Slate and Dr. Morgan will hold conferences with Dr. L. Dudley Stamp, director of the Land Use Survey of Great Britain. The Connecticut Stations at New Haven and at Storrs have been engaged in a somewhat similar project for several years. Because of Connecticut's vital interest in the Dutch elm disease, the director also plans to spend some time investigating control in European countries where the disease is wide-spread.

Dr. George P. Clinton, head of the department of botany at the New Haven Experiment Station, will attend the sixth International Botanical Congress to be held at Amsterdam, the Netherlands, early in September. During his European trip, Dr. Clinton will make special inquiries about the Dutch elm disease in England, Holland and in other European countries.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Marshall A. Howe, assistant director of the New York Botanical Garden for the past twelve years, a member of the scientific staff for thirty-four years, has been appointed director. He succeeds Dr. Elmer D. Merrill, who has resigned to assume the newly created post of director of the eight botanical units of Harvard University.

Dr. Henry B. Ward returned to the University of Nebraska for a homecoming celebration of the department of zoology which he founded in 1893 upon the invitation of the then Chancellor James H. Canfield. He was given a departmental breakfast by Professor D. D. Whitney, present head of the department, and an evening reception by Dean Lyman, one of his former students. At the commencement on June 10 the degree of doctor of laws was conferred on him.

At the closing session on July 17 of the International Astronomical Union, Dr. Ernest Esclangon, director of the Paris and Meudon Observatories and professor of astronomy at the University of Paris, was elected president for the next three years, succeeding Dr. Frank Schlesinger, director of the Yale Observatory. Dr. W. S. Adams, of the Mount Wilson Observatory; Harold Spencer Jones, Astronomer Royal of Great Britain, and Dr. Hilding Bergstrand, of Sweden, were elected vice-presidents. The union accepted the invitation of the Swedish government to meet in Stockholm in 1938.