ington, of the Medical College of South Carolina, will preside.

Sessions will be devoted to other fields of chemistry, including cellulose, colloids, gas and fuel, chemical education, paint and varnish, sugar and physical and inorganic chemistry. The presidential address will be delivered by Professor Roger Adams, of the University of Illinois.

Dr. William Albert Noyes, emeritus director of the laboratories of the University of Illinois, will receive the Priestley Medal, the highest honor of the American Chemical Society, which is bestowed every three years "for distinguished service to chemistry." The American Chemical Society Award in Pure Chemistry of \$1,000 will be presented to Dr. Raymond M. Fuoss, of Brown University.

GRANTS IN AID OF RESEARCH FOR 1936 OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

FROM various donors, the association has received in the past funds with the provision that the income thereof be used in making small grants for the encouragement of research. The allotment of these funds is assigned to the Committee on Grants. Within recent years, the committee has been inclined to prefer recommending the appropriation of sums to aid in the completion of important projects already initiated or to supply apparatus or facilities in circumstances where adequate funds are not otherwise available. The committee has ordinarily at its disposal the sum of \$3,000.

Individual grants have previously been limited to amounts of less than \$500, and many smaller sums have been useful in meeting emergency needs or such as are not covered by other agencies. Applications for grants are filed on special blanks which may be secured from the office of the permanent secretary. It is important that each application be supported by letters from at least two sponsors who are personally acquainted both with the applicant and with the project and are able to speak specifically regarding both items.

The membership of the committee for the current year is as follows: Arthur H. Compton (1937) (for physics), University of Chicago; J. B. Macelwane (1936) (for geology), St. Louis University; William Crocker (1935) (for botany), Boyce Thompson Institute; Philip Fox (1935) (for astronomy), Adler Planetarium; McKeen Cattell (1935) (for medical sciences), Cornell Medical School; M. Gomberg (1935) (for chemistry), University of Michigan; C. C. Little (1937) (for zoology), Jackson Memorial Laboratory; Walter R. Miles (1936) (for psychology), Yale University. The committee prefers that all correspondence be addressed to the permanent secretary and not to individual members. The fiscal year of the association opens on October 1 and closes on September 30 following. All grants not utilized within the year normally revert to the treasury of the association on October 1.

Applications for grants for 1936 must be received at the permanent secretary's office in Washington, D. C., on or before October 30. Reports which are incomplete or late in arrival can not be considered for the year 1936. The report of the committee is laid before the executive committee and the council at the annual meeting in December and payment of approved grants is made by the treasurer following that meeting. Unused portions of grants should be returned on October 1 of each year.

Publications including results obtained by virtue of the assistance rendered through grants should contain due acknowledgment of the aid furnished by the association. Recipients of grants are expected to make at least one report, which should be filed with the permanent secretary not later than October of the year for which the grant was made. In case completion of the report is delayed, notice should be sent to the permanent secretary's office, and a statement of the results obtained in the research should be made at the time the report is filed.

> HENRY B. WARD, Permanent Secretary

BIRTHDAY HONORS OF THE KING OF ENGLAND

As cabled from Europe and announced in SCIENCE the birthday honors of King George of England included the Order of Merit of the British Empire conferred on Sir Frederick Gowland Hopkins, president of the Royal Society, "in recognition of his eminent services to biochemistry, especially in connection with the discovery of vitamins." A baronetcy was conferred for public services on Dr. Evan Williams, president of the Mining Association of Great Britain.

Other honors include:

Knights Bachelors:

- Noel Ashbridge, chief engineer of the British Broadcasting Corporation.
- Professor Joseph Barcroft, professor of physiology, University of Cambridge.
- Dr. Arthur John Hall, emeritus professor of medicine, University of Sheffield, for distinguished service to medicine and medical science, with special reference to problems of the health of industrial workers.
- John Hepburn Milne Home, vice-chairman, Advisory Council to Department of Agriculture for Scotland, for services to agriculture.
- Patrick Playfair Laidlaw, pathologist to the Medical