RECENT DEATHS

Dr. Hugo De Vries, professor of botany at the University of Amsterdam from 1878 to 1918 and director of the Amsterdam Botanical Garden, died on May 21. He was eighty-seven years old.

Dr. Herbert Henry Thomas, petrographer to the Geological Survey of Great Britain, died suddenly on May 12. He was fifty-nine years of age.

THE death at the age of seventy-two years is announced of Sir James Walker, emeritus professor of chemistry in the University of Edinburgh.

Dr. Leopold Reinecke, consulting geologist, Johan-

nesburg, South Africa, died on April 16, in his fiftieth year.

M. Louis Joubin, of the Museum of Natural History and the Institute of Oceanography, Paris, died on April 24.

Dr. Pedro Gutierrez Igaravidez, who was associated in work on hookworm disease with the late Dr. Bailey K. Ashford, died on May 24, at the age of sixtyfour years.

Dr. Bunjiro Koto, professor emeritus of geology, Tokyo Imperial University, foreign correspondent of the Geological Society of America, died on March 8.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Simon Flexner, director of the laboratories of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research since the opening of the institute in 1903, has presented his resignation to take effect on the appointment of his successor.

Dr. Frank R. Lillie, professor of embryology and dean of the division of biological sciences of the University of Chicago, will retire at the close of the academic year with the title emeritus. Dr. William H. Taliaferro, head of the department of hygiene and bacteriology, has been appointed dean of the division, effective on July 1. Dr. Lillie was recently elected president of the National Academy of Sciences and chairman of the National Research Council.

Dr. Charles Russ Richards, president of Lehigh University, has presented his resignation to the Board of Trustees on account of protracted ill health. Before becoming president of Lehigh in 1922 Dr. Richards was director of the Engineering Experiment Station at the University of Illinois. Eugene G. Grace, president of the board and of the Bethlehem Steel Corporation, has appointed a committee of trustees to seek a successor.

Professor G. W. Herrick will retire from active teaching in June. For more than a quarter of a century he has taught the large beginning class in general entomology in Cornell University. He has also been entomologist of the Cornell Experiment Station and has published many bulletins and several books on economic insects. In recognition of his services a testimonial dinner was given him by his colleagues and friends on the evening of May 23. Addresses were made by Drs. Liberty Hyde Bailey, Cornelius Betten, P. J. Parrott and Simon Henry Gage.

PROFESSOR EMIL ABDERHALDEN, director of the Physiological Institute at Halle, has been elected a foreign member of the Lombardy Society of Medi-

cine and a corresponding member of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences in Vatican City.

Nature reports that F. G. Donnan, professor of general chemistry in the University of London, has been elected an honorary member of the Chemical Society of Rumania. Professor Donnan gave three lectures before the Danish Natural Science Association at Copenhagen during the week of May 20.

Officers and councilors to serve during 1936 have been nominated by the council of The Geological Society of America as follows: President, W. C. Mendenhall, Washington, D. C.; Past President, Nevin M. Fenneman, Cincinnati; Vice-presidents, W. E. Wrather, Dallas; George D. Louderback, Berkeley; C. K. Swartz, Baltimore; C. S. Ross, Washington, D. C.; Secretary, Charles P. Berkey, New York; Treasurer, Edward B. Mathews, Baltimore; Councilors (1936–1938), Joseph Stanley-Brown, New York; Thomas L. Walker, Toronto; G. F. Loughlin, Washington, D. C. The election will take place at the 1935 annual meeting, to be held in New York City on December 26, 27 and 28.

At the eighteenth annual meeting of the American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists held at the Carnegie Museum, Pittsburgh, Pa., from May 2 to 4, the following officers were elected for the ensuing year: President, Clifford H. Pope, American Museum of Natural History; Vice-presidents, Henry W. Fowler, Philadelphia Academy of Natural Sciences; Tracy I. Storer, University of California, and E. H. Taylor, University of Kansas; Secretary, M. Graham Netting, Carnegie Museum; Treasurer, A. W. Henn, Carnegie Museum; Editors, Carl L. Hubbs and Helen T. Gaige, Museum of Zoology of the University of Michigan.

A PORTRAIT by Jacob Binder of Dr. Milton J. Rosenau, Charles Wilder professor of preventive medicine and hygiene at the Harvard Medical School, has