Founded in 1923 by the family of Louis E. Levy of Philadelphia. To Dr. H. L. Hazen, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, "for his two papers published in the September, 1934, issue of the *Journal* of the Institute and the November, 1934, issue, entitled, respectively, "Theory of Servo-Mechanisms' and "Design and Test of a High Performance Servo-Mechanism.""

The Franklin Medals

Founded in 1914 by Samuel Insull, Esq., of Chicago, Ill. To Dr. Albert Einstein, of the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, N. J., "in recognition of his contributions of fundamental importance to theoretical physics, especially his work on relativity and the photoelectric effect." To Sir John Ambrose Fleming, emeritus professor of the University of London, London, Eng., "in recognition of his many contributions to the improvement of the art of communication, and especially the invention of the thermionic valve which bears his name." Sir Ambrose was unable to come to America to receive his medal in person. He was represented by the British Consul General at Philadelphia.

In the evening a subscription dinner was held in honor of the medalists at the Bellevue-Stratford Hotel.

SEMI-CENTENNIAL OF THE AWARD OF THE FIRST ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING DEGREE IN AMERICA

THE Massachusetts Institute of Technology on August 31, 1882, announced its pioneer course, and on June 2, 1885, awarded the first electrical-engineering degree in America. The event will be celebrated at Cambridge on Alumni Day, June 3, by a Semi-Centennial Symposium in which electrical-engineering education in the United States during the past fifty years will be reviewed with particular reference to the influence that the Massachusetts Institute of Technology has had on its development.

The principal speakers will be Dr. F. B. Jewett, '03, president of the Bell Telephone Laboratories, Inc.; Dr. A. A. Potter, '03, dean of engineering at Purdue University, and Dr. Vannevar Bush, '16, vice-president and dean of engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Professor D. C. Jackson, head of the department of electrical engineering, will preside.

Following the symposium, a testimonial luncheon will be held in the Walker Memorial for Professor Jackson, who is retiring this year after directing the electrical-engineering division for twenty-eight years. The speakers at the luncheon will include: Herbert G. Pratt, '85, president of the Samson Cordage Works; C. A. Stone, '88, chairman of the board, Stone and Webster, Inc.; Gerard Swope, '95, president of the General Electric Company; Professor W. S. Rodman, '09, dean of engineering at the University of Virginia; Professor O. G. C. Dahl, '21, representing the electrical-engineering faculty at the institute, and Dr. K. T. Compton, president, and E. L. Moreland, '07, who will succeed Professor Jackson as head of the department of electrical engineering. Professor Jackson will respond, and Alexander Macomber, '07, consulting engineer and public-utility executive, will preside.

After the luncheon Professor Jackson, attended by the electrical-engineering faculty, will hold a reception for the guests. In the electrical-engineering laboratories special demonstrations will be made of calculating machines, electrical communication, sound measurement, modern illumination, developments in electronics, stroboscopic measurement, insulation research, electro-physiological research and super high-voltage engineering. A statistical and historical exhibit will illustrate the development of electrical-engineering education at the institute.

RECENT DEATHS

DR. CHARLES HORACE CLAPP, president of the State University of Montana, formerly of the Geological Survey of Canada and of the U. S. Geological Survey, died on May 9 at the age of fifty-two years.

DR. ALFRED E. BURTON, who joined the faculty of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology as instructor of topographical engineering in 1882, becoming professor emeritus in 1922, died on May 11 at the age of seventy-eight years. Dr. Burton served the institute as dean for a period of twenty years.

THE death is announced of H. B. Baker, lately professor of general chemistry in the Imperial College of Science and Technology, London, on April 27 at the age of seventy-three years.

PROFESSOR HECTOR MUNRO MACDONALD, since 1904 professor of mathematics at the University of Aberdeen, died on May 16. He was a fellow of the Royal Society, in whose proceedings his contributions to the mathematical theory of radio were mainly published. He received the society's Royal Medal in 1916. He was also a fellow of the Royal Astronomical Association and president of the London Mathematical Society.

HERBERT HENRY THOMAS, petrographer to the British Geological Survey, died on May 12. He was a former secretary and president of the Geological Society and a former president of Section C of the British Association. In 1925 he won the Murchison Medal of the Geological Society. He was fifty-nine years old.