afflicted with a paralysis which deprived him almost entirely of the use of his legs. This infirmity he bore with cheerful fortitude, and despite it continued his intellectual activities until stricken with the illness which resulted in his death on the twelfth day of March, 1935. In his memory and honor the trustees of Columbia University at their first meeting subsequent to the death of Professor Pupin voted to name the recently-erected physics building the "Pupin Physics Laboratories."

A. P. WILLS

COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY

## SCIENTIFIC EVENTS

## ANNUAL MEETING OF THE TRUSTEES OF SCIENCE SERVICE

At the annual meeting of Science Service, held in Washington on April 25, three new trustees were elected as follows: Dr. Harlow Shapley, director of the Harvard College Observatory, representing the National Academy of Sciences; Dr. Henry B. Ward, permanent secretary of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, representing that organization; Dr. Ludvig Hektoen, director of the John McCormick Institute for Infectious Diseases, representing the National Research Council.

Trustees reelected were: Dr. R. A. Millikan, of the California Institute of Technology, representing the National Academy of Sciences; R. P. Scripps, of the Scripps-Howard Newspapers, representing the E. W. Scripps Estate, and Marlen Pew, editor of *Editor and Publisher*, representing the journalistic profession.

Dr. J. McKeen Cattell, editor of Science, was reelected president. Other officers reelected were: Dr. W. H. Howell, of the Johns Hopkins University, vice-president and chairman of the executive committee; H. L. Smithton, of the Scripps-Howard Newspapers, treasurer, and Watson Davis, director of Science Service, secretary. Dr. C. G. Abbot, secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, and Mr. Pew were reelected members of the executive committee.

Dr. Vernon Kellogg, secretary emeritus of the National Research Council, who retired as a trustee, was elected honorary vice-president in appreciation of his long service in the office of vice-president. Dr. William E. Ritter, of the University of California, is honorary president.

The following resolution was adopted upon the death of Dr. David White, of the U. S. Geological Survey, who at the time of his death was a trustee of the service:

RESOLVED, That the Board of Trustees of Science Service desire to express their sincere feeling of sorrow and personal loss in the death of Dr. David White. His long and valuable services as a trustee, as a member of the Executive Committee and as chairman of the Executive Committee are recognized and deeply appreciated by his fellow members as constituting an important factor in the successful initiation and development of the work of

Science Service. It is ordered this resolution be entered upon the minutes of the meeting of April 25, 1935, and that a copy be sent to Mrs. White.

Annual reports of Science Service for its fourteenth full year of operation, ended on March 31, 1935, showed that news and interpretations of scientific progress are furnished to over 6,000,000 readers through newspapers utilizing news and feature reports, issued by telegraph and mail daily, weekly and monthly. The weekly magazine, Science News Letter, gained in distribution, now having over 16,000 circulation.

Various books and magazine articles written and edited by members of the staff were produced during the year, notably the book entitled "The Advance of Science." Two radio talks each week were arranged over nationwide networks of stations.

Progress was made toward an extension of the work of the service in the British Empire and arrangements for the exchange of news with the Tass Agency of the U.S.S.R. were made.

Research aid activities consisting of the collection of earthquake information, the distribution of cosmic data, and the investigation of archeological and anthropological discoveries were continued.

The cost of operation during the year was slightly over \$110,000. The endowment provided by the late E. W. Scripps yields \$30,000 a year and the balance was more than covered by earnings.

## ANNUAL MEETING OF THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

At the annual meeting of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences held in Boston on May 8, Dr. Roscoe Pound, dean of the Harvard Law School, was elected president. He succeeds Dr. George H. Parker, professor of zoology at Harvard University. The following were reelected vice-presidents: James Flack Norris, Walter Bradford Cannon, Edwin Francis Gay and Arthur Stanley Pease. Joshua Whatmough succeeds Robert P. Bigelow as editor. Councillors elected for four years are: Dugald C. Jackson, Ralph H. Wetmore, Arthur N. Holcombe and Kenneth J. Conant.