trated publications have been issued from the establishment under the general title Gentes Herbarum.

In offering the collection to the university, Dr. Bailey wrote:

The value of these collections depends on the use that is made of them. The accumulations have been assembled over many years with the hope that they may constitute the basis of a departure in education and research, a new unit unlike any now in existence and which need not duplicate the field of any other department. Its primary purpose is to record and study the cultivated flora of the world to the end that the species may be accurately identified as a scientific basis in horticulture, plant-breeding, pathology and any other departments of knowledge that work with domesticated plants; and to provide archives of the plants that men at any time or place may grow.

The university has authorized the establishment of an administrative unit in the College of Agriculture to be known as the Liberty Hyde Bailey Hortorium, to be placed under the direct supervision of a staff member. A full-time curator, whose duty shall be the general care and supervision of the hortorium, will also be appointed. There will be an advisory board consisting of representatives of the major fields of plant science and two members at large appointed by the president, together with the supervisor of the hortorium and the curator. One or more graduate fellowships, to be known as the Liberty Hyde Bailey Botanical Fellowships, will be established.

RECENT DEATHS

DR. CHARLES E. St. John, research associate at the Mount Wilson Observatory of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, died on April 26. He was seventy-eight years old.

Dr. Ernst Bischoff, head of the chemical and pharmaceutical firm of the Ernst Bischoff Company, Inc., New York, died on April 19, at the age of seventy-one years.

The death is announced of Dr. J. Loring Arnold, professor emeritus of electrical engineering at New York University. He was sixty-seven years old.

RICHARD MORRIS. HOLMAN, associate professor of botany at the University of California, died suddenly on April 23, aged forty-nine years.

THE death is announced of Sir Richard Rawden Stawell, of Melbourne, Australia, president-elect of the British Medical Association.

HERBERT BRERETON BAKER, professor emeritus of chemistry at the Imperial College of Science, London, died on April 29, aged seventy-three years.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Herbert Spencer Jennings, professor of zoology at the Johns Hopkins University, has been elected Eastman professor at the University of Oxford for the academic year 1935–36. Dr. Arthur H. Compton, professor of physics at the University of Chicago, is this year Eastman professor. The professorship was founded by the late George Eastman to send American scholars to Oxford, and the endowment is in the hands of the Association of American Rhodes Scholars.

On the occasion of the annual dinner of the National Institute of Social Science the gold medal of the institute was awarded to Dr. Harvey Cushing, since 1933 Sterling professor of neurology at Yale University.

At the annual convocation of the American College of Physicians, which met in New York City during the week of May 1, presentation of the John Phillips Memorial Medal was made to Dr. Leo Loeb, professor of pathology at Washington University, St. Louis. Professor Loeb delivered the convocation oration, speaking on "The Thyroid-stimulating Hormone of the Anterior Pituitary Gland." Dr. O. T. Avery, of the Rockefeller Foundation, to whom the John Phillips

award was made for 1932-33, and Dr. William B. Castle, of the Harvard Medical School, to whom the award was made for 1933-34, received the medals at the ceremony.

At the New Orleans meeting of the Electrochemical Society, the Acheson Medal and \$1,000 Prize for 1935 was awarded to Frank J. Tone, president of the Carborundum Company at Niagara Falls, for his distinguished work in electrothermics. The presentation will take place on October 10, at Washington, D. C., where the fall convention of the society will be held.

Dr. Walter B. Cannon, George Higginson professor of physiology at the Harvard Medical School, was elected an honorary member of the National Academy of Medicine of Spain at the recent celebration of the two hundredth anniversary of its founding.

Professor Guérin, director of the anti-tuberculosis vaccination service of the Pasteur Institute of Paris, has been elected a fellow of the French Academy of Medicine.

W. B. Herms, professor of parasitology at the College of Agriculture of the University of California, has been decorated by the French government with the rank of Chevalier du Mérite Agricole.