academy shall be ready at all times to give advice when called upon by any branch of government. This privilege has been availed of by government on many occasions. One of the most notable was during the Great War, when the National Research Council was established by the academy at President Wilson's call to mobilize the scientific learning and ability of the country to aid in that great struggle.

I take this opportunity to thank the academy for the advice and assistance it has given the administration during the past two years, particularly where problems pertaining to the scientific policies of the government have arisen.

With renewed congratulations and best wishes, I remain,

To this letter President Campbell replied as follows:

I have the great pleasure of acknowledging the receipt of your esteemed communication of to-day which extends to the members of the National Academy of Sciences a warm welcome to Washington for the holding of the Academy's Annual Meeting of 1935, and expresses your cordial wish for the greater development and usefulness of the academy.

Your letter was read to the members of the academy this afternoon at the opening of the first general assembly of this week's meeting, and I was requested and instructed to convey to you an expression of the academy's deep appreciation of your thoughtful and courteous message.

I am also requested to assure you that the members of the academy are happy in their obligation and privilege of advising the government of the United States on subjects within the domain of the physical and the biological sciences, whenever called upon by any branch or department of the government for such service, under the wise provision of the academy's congressional charter that "the Academy shall receive no compensation whatever for any services to the government."

ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

DR. FRANK R. LILLIE, professor of embryology and dean of the Division of Biology at the University of Chicago, was elected president of the National Academy of Sciences at the Washington meeting. He succeeds Dr. W. W. Campbell, president emeritus of the

University of California and director emeritus of the Lick Observatory. Dr. Lillie was also elected chairman of the National Research Council, in which office he succeeds Dr. Isaiah Bowman, who has been called to the presidency of the Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Fred E. Wright, of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, was reelected home secretary and Dr. Henry Norris Russell, of Princeton University, and Dr. Ross G. Harrison, of Yale University, were reelected members of the council.

Members of the academy were elected as follows:

Dr. Norman Levi Bowen, petrologist, Geophysical Laboratory of the Carnegie Institution of Washington.

Dr. Charles Manning Child, professor of zoology, University of Chicago.

Dr. George Ellett Coghill, professor of comparative anatomy and member of the Wistar Institute of Anatomy, Philadelphia.

Dr. James Ewing, professor of oncology, Medical College, Cornell University.

Dr. Merritt Lyndon Fernald, Fisher professor of natural history, Harvard University.

Dr. Harvey Fletcher, acoustical research director, Bell Telephone Laboratories, New York.

Dr. Ross Aiken Gortner, professor of biochemistry, University of Minnesota.

Dr. Earnest Albert Hooton, professor of anthropology, Harvard University.

Dr. Jerome Clark Hunsaker, professor of aerodynamics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Dr. Walter Samuel Hunter, G. Stanley Hall professor of genetic psychology, Clark University.

Dr. Dunham Jackson, professor of mathematics, University of Minnesota.

Dr. Chester Ray Longwell, professor of geology, Yale University.

Dr. Harold C. Urey, professor of chemistry, Columbia University.

Dr. John Hasbrouck Van Vleck, professor of physics, University of Minnesota.

Two foreign associates were elected:

Dr. John Scott Haldane, Oxford, honorary professor and director of the Mining Research Laboratory at the University of Birmingham.

Dr. Jules Bordet, Pasteur Institute, Brussels.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Frank B. Jewett, president of the Bell Telephone Laboratories and vice-president in charge of development and research of the American Telephone and Telegraph Company, who has been awarded the Faraday Medal for distinguished services in the field of communications, sailed for England on April 23 in order that the medal may be presented to him.

Dr. RAYMOND M. FUESS, assistant professor of chemistry in Brown University, has received the American Chemical Society award in pure chemistry of \$1,000 for work which resulted in the "first comprehensive theory of electrolytic solutions which, at lower concentrations, applies to all solvent media and to all electrolytes." The award, founded by Dr. A. C. Lang-