- Dr. George Ellett Coghill, professor of comparative anatomy and member of the Wistar Institute of Anatomy, Philadelphia.
- Dr. James Bryant Conant, president of Harvard University.
- Dr. Harvey N. Davis, president of Stevens Institute of Technology.

Frederic Adrian Delano, Washington, D. C.

- Dr. Harold Willis Dodds, president of Princeton University.
- Dr. Franklin Edgerton, Salisbury professor of Sanskrit and comparative philology, Yale University.
- Dr. Frank Albert Fetter, professor of political economy, Princeton University.
- Dr. Dixon Ryan Fox, president of Union College, Schenectady.
- Dr. Yandell Henderson, professor of applied psychology, Yale University.
- Dr. Karl Landsteiner, member of The Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research.
- Professor Charles Edward Merriam, chairman of the department of political science, University of Chicago.
- Dr. George Richards Minot, clinical professor of medicine at the Harvard Medical School and director of the Thorndike Memorial Laboratory.
- Dr. Eugene Gladstone O'Neill, playwright, Sea Island, Georgia.
- Dr. Frederick Leslie Ransome, professor of economic geology, California Institute of Technology.
- Dr. Alfred Newton Richards, professor of pharmacology, University of Pennsylvania.
- Dr. F. K. Richtmyer, professor of physics and dean of the Graduate School, Cornell University.
- Dr. Harold Clayton Urey, professor of chemistry, Columbia University.
- Dr. Hermann Weyl, professor of mathematics, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, N. J.
- Dr. William Hammond Wright, astronomer, Lick Observatory.

Foreign resident:

Dr. Arthur Berriedale Keith, Regius professor of Sanskrit and comparative philology, University of Edinburgh.

Dr. Roland S. Morris, of Philadelphia, was reelected president and Dr. Henry H. Donaldson, member of the Wistar Institute of Anatomy, was elected a vice-president. Vice-presidents reelected were Dr. Edwin G. Conklin, of Princeton University, and Dr. Robert A. Millikan, of the California Institute of Technology. Dr. William E. Lingelbach, professor of modern and European history at the University of Pennsylvania, was elected secretary, and Professor John A. Miller, of Swarthmore College, was reelected. Dr. Albert P.

Brubaker is curator. Four councillors were elected to serve for three years. These are Dr. Frank Aydelotte, president of Swarthmore College; Dr. Isaiah Bowman, director of the American Geographical Society and president-elect of the Johns Hopkins University; Gustavus W. Cook; Dr. Harlow Shapley, director of the Harvard College Observatory, and to fill an unexpired term of two years, Dr. William Trelease, emeritus professor of botany, University of Illinois.

RECENT DEATHS

Dr. John Livingston Rutgers Morgan, since 1905 professor of physical chemistry at Columbia University, died on April 12. He was sixty-two years old.

LIEUTENANT-COLONEL FIELDING HUDSON GARRISON, U.S.A. (retired), librarian of the Welch Medical Library at the Johns Hopkins University since 1930, died on April 18, at the age of sixty-four years.

JOSEPH EDWARD GUTHRIE, professor of zoology at the Iowa State College, died suddenly on April 16. He was sixty-three years old.

The death is announced on April 20 at the age of forty-seven years of Dr. Jesse Erwin Day, professor of chemistry at the Ohio State University.

DR. RUDOLPH MELVILLE HUNTER died on March 19. He was a member of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers and of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He was also a foundation member of the Société Française des Electriciens, Paris. A correspondent writes: Mr. Hunter was a widely known inventor and patent expert and counsel for many companies, among which were the General Electric Company, the Victor Talking Machine Company, the Westinghouse Company and the Dentists' Supply Company of New York.

WILLIAM RICHARD HODGKINSON, who retired in 1918 after serving for thirty-one years as professor of chemistry and metallurgy at the Military College of Science, Woolwich, England, died suddenly on April 8, in his eighty-fourth year.

Nature records the death of Dr. Shepherd Dawson, principal lecturer in psychology, logic and ethics in Jordanhill Training College, Glasgow, known for his work on vision and statistical problems in psychology, on March 26, and on March 14 of Professor A. Hantzsch, formerly professor of chemistry in the University of Leipzig.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Franklin Medal and the sum of \$1,000, representing the income from the Franklin Medal Fund of the Franklin Institute of Philadelphia, have been

awarded to Dr. Albert Einstein, of the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton, and to Sir John Ambrose Fleming, consulting electrical engineer, En-