in orderly fashion an increasing use of American farm products in American industry.

The hope is entertained that such cooperation will result in the gradual absorption of much of the domestic farm surplus by domestic industry; put idle acres to work profitably; increase the purchasing power of the American farmer on a stable, permanent basis; increase the demand for manufactured products which the American farmer wants, needs and then will be able to purchase; create new work, thus reviving American industry and aiding American labor. The sponsors of the conference believe that in proportion as these objectives are accomplished, the depression will recede and dependable national prosperity will return.

The sessions will be held at Dearborn Inn, Dearborn, Mich., where Carl B. Fritsche, chairman of the committee on arrangements, has opened headquarters. Those who will take part in the program include: Dr. E. R. Weidlein, director of the Mellon Institute; Dr. C. F. Kettering, president of the General Motors Research Corporation, and Dr. Charles H. Herty, Pulp and Paper Laboratory of the Industrial Committee of Savannah, Inc., at Savannah, Ga.

THE WASHINGTON CONFERENCE ON THEORETICAL PHYSICS

Scientific men from various universities throughout the country gathered in Washington on April 19, 20 and 21 for a conference on theoretical physics under the joint auspices of the Carnegie Institution of Washington and the George Washington University.

The conference was the first of a series to be held annually in Washington in connection with the researches in nuclear physics conducted by the Carnegie Institution, and the work which is being done in this field at the George Washington University under the leadership of Dr. George Gamow. Dr. Gamow, who is known for his work on atomic nuclei and the theory of radio-activity, has served during the past year as visiting professor of theoretical physics in the George Washington University. His appointment to the regular staff of the university was recently announced.

Day sessions of the conference were held at the university and evening sessions at the Department of Terrestrial Magnetism of the Carnegie Institution. On the opening day members of the conference were the guests of Dr. Cloyd H. Marvin, president of the university, at a luncheon at the Cosmos Club.

The purpose of the conference was to discuss informally problems and recent advances in nuclear physics. Specific topics included: (1) General nuclear model; (2) nuclear transformations; (3) the process of beta-disintegration; (4) the effects of high-energy radiations. Each session was opened by a brief intro-

duction of the subject by one speaker, and the balance of the time left free for discussion.

Those who attended the conference included: Dr. G. Breit, University of Wisconsin; Dr. Edward U. Condon. Princeton University: Dr. P. A. M. Dirac: Dr. S. Goudsmit and Dr. G. E. Uhlenbeck, University of Michigan: Dr. A. Lande, the Ohio State University; Dr. L. Nordheim, Purdue University: Dr. H. Bethe. Cornell University; Dr. G. Beck, University of Kansas: Dr. J. C. Merriam, Dr. John A. Fleming, Dr. L. R. Hafstad and Dr. M. A. Tuve, of the Carnegie Institution of Washington; Dr. L. J. Briggs, Dr. F. L. Mohler and Dr. L. B. Tuckerman, of the National Bureau of Standards; Dr. Charles R. Mann, Dr. T. B. Brown, Dr. James H. Taylor and Dr. George Gamow, of George Washington University. Dr. J. R. Oppenheimer, of the University of California and the California Institute of Technology, who was among those invited to participate, could not attend.

Next year the conference will place the emphasis on certain problems related to chemistry.

THE AMERICAN PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

AT the general meeting of the American Philosophical Society held in Philadelphia on April 18, 19 and 20, the Penrose Memorial Lecture was given by Dr. W. F. G. Swann, director of the Bartol Research Foundation of the Franklin Institute, whose subject was "Is the Universe Running Down?" The addresses at the annual dinner were given by Dr. H. H. Donaldson, of the Wistar Institute of Anatomy; Dr. Edwin G. Conklin, of Princeton University, and Dr. Harlow Shapley, director of the Harvard College Observatory. On Saturday afternoon a reception was given at the Franklin Institute, preceded by an address entitled "A Brief Sketch of the Franklin Institute," by Dr. Howard McClenahan, director of the institute. In the morning there were addresses on "Cosmic Rays," by Dr. Robert A. Millikan, director of the Norman Bridge Laboratory of Physics and chairman of the executive council of the California Institute of Technology, and by Dr. Arthur H. Compton, professor of physics at the University of Chicago.

The following members were elected:

Dr. Roger Adams, professor of organic chemistry and head of the department, University of Illinois.

Dr. Leo H. Baekeland, honorary professor of chemical engineering, Columbia University.

Dr. Franz Boas, professor of anthropology, Columbia University.

Dr. Lyman J. Briggs, director of the National Bureau of Standards.

William L. Bryant, director of the Park Museum, Providence, Rhode Island.

Rhys Carpenter, professor of classical archeology, Bryn Mawr College.