Edison State Park Commission of New Jersey, the Association of Edison Illuminating Companies and the Edison family.

Detailed plans will not be announced until after the incorporation has been completed, but it is intended to designate the week of October 14 as Edison Memorial Week and to have a campaign at that time to raise an endowment fund for the foundation.

Mr. Barstow was reelected president of the Edison Pioneers. Other officers named were: Vice-presidents, Charles Edison, Frederick D. Potter, Arthur Walsh and Ludwig F. Ott; historian, William H. Meadow-croft; treasurer, Frederick A. Scheffler, and secretary, Frank A. Wardlaw.

## FELLOWSHIPS OF THE AMERICAN ASSO-CIATION OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN

THE American Association of University Women has announced the award of ten research fellowships to women for the coming year. Five of the fellowships will be used for scientific research. The awards were made by a committee of which Dr. Emilie J. Hutchinson, associate professor of economics at Barnard College, is chairman.

Dr. Jenny E. Rosenthal, research physicist at Columbia University, who received the Sarah Berliner research fellowship, has been working for a year in the laboratory of Professor H. C. Urey, winner of the 1934 Nobel Prize in chemistry for his work with heavy water, and will continue her work there.

The Latin-American fellowship was given to Dr. Perlina Winocur, physician on the staff of the University of Buenos Aires Medical School. The award is offered annually by the association to give a qualified woman of Latin America a year of study in the United States. Dr. Winocur has devoted several years to a study of infant mortality in Argentina. She will continue her studies on hemolytic anemia next year at the Harriet Lane Home for Children, the Johns Hopkins Hospital, where she has been working during the past winter.

The Mary Pemberton Nourse memorial fellowship was given to Lucy S. Morgan, health education specialist in the Tennessee State Health Department, who will study the science of public health at Yale University, after which she plans to resume her work in Tennessee.

Mary S. Pease, a student in archeology and recipient of the Alice Freeman Palmer memorial fellowship, plans to write a monograph on Corinthian imitations of Attic pottery. Dr. Pease has spent three years with the American School of Classical Studies at Athens, working on excavations in Athens and Corinth.

The award to a university woman of some foreign country was given to Dr. Gertrud Kornfeld, a German refugee and former lecturer of University College, Nottingham, England, who has won recognition for her research in photochemistry. She will hold her fellowship at the University of Vienna.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Isaiah Bowman, director of the American Geographical Society and chairman of the National Research Council, has been elected the fifth president of the Johns Hopkins University. The announcement was made by Daniel Willard, president of the board of trustees, at the fifty-ninth commemoration day exercises of the university on February 22. Dr. Bowman will succeed Dr. Joseph S. Ames, who will retire on June 30 after having been connected with the university for fifty-two years.

Dr. William H. Wright, astronomer at the Lick Observatory, was appointed director of the observatory on February 24 by the board of regents of the University of California. Dr. Wright, who has been a member of the staff of the university for thirty-eight years, will begin his duties as director on July 1. He succeeds Dr. Robert Grant Aitken, a member of the observatory staff for forty years and director since 1930, who is retiring from active duty.

Dr. George R. Wieland, research associate in paleobotany at Yale University, has received notification from Dr. Birbal Sahni, of Lucknow University,

of his election as an honorary member of the Indian Botanical Society.

Dr. Harry Plotz, formerly research chief of the Pasteur Institute and member of the Pierre Curie Institute of Paris, has been promoted from chevalier to officer of the Legion of Honor. Dr. Plotz, discoverer of the typhus fever germ and leader of the group which fought the typhus fever epidemic in Serbia during the world war, was the first American to be appointed a member of the permanent staff of the Pasteur Institute.

Ar the quarterly meeting of the council of the British College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists it was decided to confer the honorary fellowship upon Nagiub Mahfouz Bey, of Cairo.

The Cameron Prize of the University of Edinburgh for 1935 has been awarded to Professor Julius Wagner-Jauregg, emeritus professor of psychiatry and neuropathology in the University of Vienna, in recognition of his discoveries regarding the malarial treatment of general paralysis.