The choice of place to work in is left to the fellow, subject to the approval of the Fellowship Board; but as a rule fellows will be expected to work in this country. Ordinarily before sending his application to the board, a candidate should have assurance from the person with whom he wishes to work that he is acceptable.

The appointments are for full time and no other remunerative work is permitted. The usual basic stipends awarded are \$1,800 a year for unmarried fellows and \$2,300 for married fellows.

Fellows will be chosen at a meeting of the Medical Fellowship Board in April. Applications to receive consideration at this meeting must be filed on or before March 1. Appointments may begin on any date determined by the board.

Further particulars concerning these fellowships may be obtained on request. All communications should be addressed to the Secretary of the Medical Fellowship Board, National Research Council, 2101 Constitution Avenue, Washington, D. C.

FRANCIS G. BLAKE, Chairman Division of Medical Sciences

NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

THE NEW DEAN OF THE YALE SCHOOL OF MEDICINE

DR. MILTON C. WINTERNITZ, whose term of office as dean of the Yale School of Medicine expires in June, has declined to be considered for reappointment. To succeed Dr. Winternitz, Dr. Stanhope Bayne-Jones, professor of bacteriology in the faculty of medicine, has been appointed dean for a period of five years beginning on July 1.

The following resolution, adopted at the January meeting of the Yale Corporation, was also made public:

To record the enduring gratitude of the President and Fellows to Professor Milton C. Winternitz for his outstanding services to the University and the New Haven Hospital during the fifteen years he has served as dean of the School of Medicine, and to express their hope that he may long continue his association with the community, and the University to which he has in his work made such notable contributions.

Dr. Winternitz, who is professor of pathology, came to Yale University from the Johns Hopkins University. He has been a professor in the Yale Medical School since 1917, was first appointed its dean in 1920 and has served as such for three successive five-year terms. From this country and abroad the following members have been added in recent years to its faculty: Professors J. G. Dusser de Barenne from Utrecht; John F. Fulton from Oxford; Eugen Kahn from Munich; Edgar Allen from the University of

Missouri; Walter R. Miles from Stanford University, and Harvey Cushing from Harvard University.

The physical plant of the school and of the New Haven Hospital, with which it is affiliated, has been practically rebuilt and greatly enlarged by gifts for these purposes from friends of the school and from some of the great foundations, resulting from the leadership of Dr. Winternitz. In addition he was one of the prime movers in the establishment of the Institute of Human Relations.

In general support of the program developed by Dr. Winternitz, the endowment of the School of Medicine has been increased from about \$2,000,000 to over \$8,000,000 by gifts made during his deanship.

Dr. Winternitz will continue his work in the school as professor of pathology.

Dr. Bayne-Jones, who is professor of bacteriology and master of Trumbull College, took his B.A. degree at Yale in 1910, and his M.D. at the Johns Hopkins University, where he studied under Dr. Winternitz. During the war he served as Medical Officer with the British Expeditionary Forces for ten months; later was with the Twenty-Sixth Division of the A. E. F., and finally with the rank of major as sanitary inspector of the Army of Occupation. He received the British Military Cross and the Croix de Guerre. He was associate professor of bacteriology at the Johns Hopkins Medical School from 1919 to 1923. He came to Yale from the University of Rochester where he had been professor of bacteriology for eight years. While there he was director of the Rochester Health Bureau Laboratories.

THE ROCHESTER MEETING OF THE GEO-LOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA

The forty-seventh annual meeting of the Geological Society of America was held at the University of Rochester, from December 27 to 29.

The meeting was one of the largest in the history of the society. One hundred and twenty-two scientific papers were presented before the Geological Society, and the programs of the associated societies meeting with it, the Paleontological Society and the Mineralogical Society of America, were also crowded.

The address of the retiring president, W. H. Collins, geology and literature, was delivered the evening of December 27, followed by the annual smoker. The annual dinner was held at the Hotel Seneca on the 28th. The seventh award of the Penrose Medal was made at the dinner, the recipient being Professor Charles Schuchert, of Yale University.

The officers of the society for the year 1935 are:

President, Nevin M. Fenneman. Past-president, W. H. Collins.