charge of that division. All informational work has been brought together with the Insect Pest Survey and placed in the Division of Insect Pest Survey and Information, under the leadership of J. A. Hyslop.

The other research divisions of the Bureau of Entomology, the regulatory divisions of the Bureau of Plant Quarantine, and the field stations of both bureaus will remain about as they were.

APPOINTMENTS AT THE ROCKEFELLER INSTITUTE FOR MEDICAL RESEARCH

THE Board of Scientific Directors of The Rocke-feller Institute for Medical Research announces the election of Dr. Warfield Theobald Longcope as a member of the Board of Scientific Directors to succeed Dr. William H. Welch, deceased.

The following promotions and appointments are announced:

PROMOTIONS

Associate Member to Member, Dr. Leslie T. Webster.

Associate to Associate Member, Dr. Richard E. Shope

Assistant to Associate, Dr. Francisco Duran-Reynals, Dr.

Kenneth Goodner, Dr. Geoffrey W. Rake.

Fellow to Assistant, Dr. Kenneth S. Chester, Dr. Erich

Traub, Dr. Philip R. White.

NEW APPOINTMENTS

Associate Member, Dr. Max Bergmann.

Assistants, Dr. Donald C. Boughton, Dr. Jack Compton, Dr. James R. Dawson, Jr., Dr. Lee E. Farr, Dr. Delavan V. Holman, Dr. John G. Kidd, Dr. Colin M. Mac-Leod, Mr. William F. Ross, Dr. Thomas F. M. Scott, Dr. Joseph E. Smadel, Dr. Carl V. Smythe.

Fellows, Dr. Bacon F. Chow, Mr. Joseph S. Fruton, Dr. George I. Lavin, Dr. Charles V. Seastone, Jr., Dr. William Trager.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

LORD RAYLEIGH, foreign secretary of the Royal Society, and Dr. Robert A. Millikan, of the California Institute of Technology, who retired on July 1 as foreign secretary of the National Academy of Sciences, will preside over a joint meeting in London of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics and of the British Physical Society. The conference, held in response to an invitation from the Royal Society, will meet from October 1 to 6 at the Royal Institution. A visit to the Cavendish Laboratory of the University of Cambridge will be made on October 4.

COMMEMORATING the pioneer work in antitoxin of Dr. Henry Sewall, who conducted his experiments at the University of Michigan from 1882 to 1887, the Delta chapter of Delta Omega, national public health society, held a banquet at the Michigan Union on June 6, presenting to the university a bronze plaque honoring Dr. Sewall. In 1887 Dr. Sewall published a treatise on his work in immunizing animals against snake venom. The society also plans to publish a pamphlet containing a photostatic copy of the original treatise.

Dr. Edwin B. Fred, professor of bacteriology at the University of Wisconsin, has been appointed dean of the graduate school. He will succeed Professor Charles S. Slichter, who has been dean since 1920. Dean Slichter retired on July 1, having reached the age of seventy years. He has been appointed research adviser to the Graduate School and professor emeritus of mathematics.

Industrial and Engineering Chemistry states that Charles L. Reese, president of the American Chemical Society, has received the honorary degree of doctor of science from Wake Forest College, North Carolina. At the Johns Hopkins University he was made recently a member of the honorary chemical society, Phi Lambda Upsilon, and the University of Virginia Chapter of Sigma Xi recently presented him with its key.

Dr. Charles H. Herty, director of the Division of Pulp and Paper Research of the Georgia Department of Forestry, has been awarded the Herty Medal of the Georgia Section of the American Chemical Society.

MEDALS for "eminent service" were presented at commencement by Amherst College to Arthur J. Hopkins, '85, retiring professor of chemistry, and to Eugene S. Wilson, of New York, vice-president of the American Telephone and Telegraph Company.

At the commencement exercises at Michigan State College on June 11, the honorary degree of doctor of science was conferred upon James Henry Kimball, of the U. S. Weather Bureau, New York City, in recognition of his contributions to science in the field of oceanic meteorology.

OKLAHOMA CITY UNIVERSITY conferred on June 1 the honorary degree of doctor of laws upon Charles Newton Gould, formerly director of the Oklahoma Geological Survey.

AT its seventy-seventh annual commencement on June 11, Mills College conferred the honorary degree of doctor of laws upon Dr. Clelia D. Mosher, emeritus professor of personal hygiene at Stanford University.

Professor A. C. Seward, professor of botany at the University of Cambridge, has been elected a foreign member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.