work is expected to require about two months, ending in September.

THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

At the annual meeting of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, held on May 9, at its house in Boston, the following new members were elected in the scientific classes:

Fellows

Class I—Mathematical and Physical Sciences
Franzo Hazlett Crawford, Harvard University
Otto G. C. Dahl, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Chester Laurens Dawes, Harvard University
Jacob Pieter Den Hartog, Harvard University
Griffith Conrad Evans, Rice Institute, Texas
Jerome Clark Hunsaker, Massachusetts Institute of
Technology
Levis Williams McKeehen, Vol. University

Louis Williams McKeehan, Yale University
Donald Howard Menzel, Harvard University
Harry Rowe Mimno, Harvard University
Edward Leyburn Moreland, Boston
Philip McCord Morse, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Leigh Page, Yale University
Leighton B. Smith, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
John Hasbrouck Van Vleck, University of Wisconsin
David Elbridge Worrall, Tufts College

Class II—Natural and Physiological Sciences
Edgar Anderson, Harvard University
Clarence Gordon Campbell, New York City
Sterling Price Fergusson, Blue Hill Observatory
Cyrus Hartwell Fiske, Harvard University
John Farquhar Fulton, Yale University
Hudson Hoagland, Clark University
Henry Jackson, Jr., Harvard University
Donald Forsha Jones, Connecticut Agricultural Station
Leroy Matthew Simpson Miner, Harvard University
Walter Harry Newhouse, Massachusetts Institute of
Technology
William Carter Quinby, Harvard University

Alfred Newton Richards, University of Pennsylvania
Oscar Riddle, Cold Spring Harbor, N. Y.
Carl-Gustaf Arvid Rossby, Massachusetts Institute of
Technology

Arthur Hiler Ruggles, Providence, R. I. Edmund Ware Sinnott, Columbia University Gilbert Morgan Smith, Stanford University

FOREIGN HONORARY MEMBERS Ronald Aylmer Fisher, London Archibald Vivian Hill, London Arthur Holmes, Durham, England Paul Janet, Paris Luigi Lombardi, Rome Richard Willstätter, Munich

The following officers were elected for the year 1934-1935:

President, George Howard Parker
Vice-President for Class I, James Flack Norris
Vice-President for Class II, Walter Bradford Cannon
Vice-President for Class III, Edwin Francis Gay
Vice-President for Class IV, Arthur Stanley Pease
Corresponding Secretary, Tenney Lombard Davis
Recording Secretary, Walter Eugene Clark
Treasurer, Ingersoll Bowditch
Librarian, Alfred Church Lane
Editor, Robert Payne Bigelow

THE MEDAL MEETING OF THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE

THE medal meeting of the Franklin Institute was held on the afternoon of May 16 and in the evening a dinner was given in honor of the medalists.

Franklin Medals with certificates of honorary membership were presented to Dr. Henry Norris Russell, research professor of astronomy at Princeton University and director of the observatory, for his "pioneer work in the application of physical theories to astronomical problems," and to Dr. Irving Langmuir, associate director of the Research Laboratories of the General Electric Company at Schenectady, "in recognition of his investigations in physics and chemistry." Dr. Russell spoke on "The Atmospheres of the Stars" and Dr. Langmuir on "The Mechanical Properties of Monomolecular Oil Films."

The other awards were:

The Longstreth Medal, William Edwin Sykes, Buffalo, New York.

The Wetherill Medals, Dr. Johann B. Ostermeier, Augsburg, Germany; Dr. E. Newton Harvey, Princeton University, and Alfred Lee Loomis, Tuxado Park, New York.

The Levy Medal, Dr. Kenneth T. Bainbridge, Cambridge, England.

The Potts Medal, Ernst Georg Fischer, Washington, D. C.

The Cresson Medals, Stuart Ballantine, Boonton, New Jersey; Union Switch and Signal Company, Swissvale, Pennsylvania.

Certificates of Merit, Albert Allen, Winchester, Massachusetts; Joseph Grundy Shryock, Philadelphia.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. George Cary Comstock, director emeritus of the Washburn Observatory and professor of astronomy in the University of Wisconsin, formerly dean of the Graduate School, died on May 11 in his eightieth year. Dr. Harlow Shapley, of the Harvard College Observatory, delivered the George Darwin Lecture before the Royal Astronomical Society on May 11. At the conclusion of the lecture, Professor F. J. M. Stratton, professor of astrophysics at the University