resenting Garden Club of America); Harlan P. Kelsey (member of the Massachusetts Horticultural Society); Robert Pyle (chairman of Committee on Botanical Gardens and Arboretums, American Association of Nurserymen); John G. Bradley (clerk of the House Committee on the Library), executive secretary.

SEC. 2. (a) The duty of the Planning Committee (hereinafter referred to as the "Committee") shall be to make a careful study of the United States Botanic Garden (hereinafter referred to as the "Garden") in comparison with other botanic gardens, arboretums, herbariums, botanic libraries, and similar institutions, with a view to its improvement as a scientific, educational, and aesthetic establishment.

(b) It shall also be the duty of this Committee to study other Federal institutions having functions in common with the Garden, particularly the National Arboretum, the Smithsonian Institution, the Library of Congress, and the Department of Agriculture, with a view to correlating these common functions for the use and improvement of the Garden.

(c) The Committee shall make a report of its findings to the Joint Committee on the Library, together with recommendations for the future administration and conduct of the Garden.

SEC. 3. The chairman of the Committee, or any member thereof authorized by him, shall be empowered to examine the files, records, and inventory of various other Federal establishments pertinent to this investigation and for the purposes herein set out.

SEC. 4. The members of the Committee shall receive no salaries for their services, but necessary traveling expenses and other expenses incident to their duties shall be paid.

SEC. 5. For the purpose of carrying out the provisions of this Act the sum of \$5,000, or so much thereof as may be needed, is hereby authorized to be appropriated.

SEC. 6. No disbursements on this account shall be made for any purpose except on the authority and approval of the chairman of the aforesaid Committee.

ELECTIONS OF THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

AT the meeting of the National Academy of Sciences held in Washington on April 23, 24 and 25, Dr. Thomas Hunt Morgan, director of the William G. Kerckhoff Laboratories of the Biological Sciences of the California Institute of Technology and past president of the academy, was elected foreign secretary to succeed Dr. Robert A. Millikan, director of the Norman Bridge Laboratory of Physics and chairman of the Executive Council of the California Institute of Technology, who asked to be relieved of the office which he has held for the past fifteen years. Dr. Roger Adams, professor of organic chemistry at the University of Illinois, and Dr. H. S. Jennings, professor of zoology at the Johns Hopkins University, were elected members of the council.

Members elected were:

- Vannevar Bush, professor of electrical engineering and vice-president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
- Herbert Spencer Gasser, professor of physiology, Cornell University Medical College, New York.
- Edmund Newton Harvey, professor of physiology, Princeton University.
- Dennis Robert Hoagland, professor of plant nutrition, University of California.
- Ernest Orlando Lawrence, professor of physics, University of California.
- James Flack Norris, director of the research laboratory of organic chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
- John Howard Northrop, biochemistry, member of the Rockefeller Institute.
- Charles Palache, professor of mineralogy, Harvard University.
- Thomas Milton Rivers, pathology, member of the Rocke-feller Institute.
- Edward Sapir, Sterling professor of anthropology and linguistics, Yale University.
- Elvin Charles Stakman, plant pathologist, U. S. Department of Agriculture.
- Harry Shultz Vandiver, associate professor of mathematics, University of Texas.
- Norbert Wiener, professor of mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
- Sewall Wright, professor of zoology, University of Chicago.

Foreign associates elected were:

- Dr. V. F. K. Bjerknes, professor of meteorology of the University of Oslo.
- Dr. Robert Robinson, Waynflete professor of chemistry at the University of Oxford.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. WILLIAM HENRY WELCH, recognized leader of the medical sciences in the United States, professor emeritus of the history of medicine in the Johns Hopkins Medical School, previously professor of pathology, first dean of the school and director of the School of Hygiene and Public Health, died on April 30 in his eighty-fifth year.

ONE of the three gold medals of the National Insti-

tute of Social Sciences, New York City, has been awarded to Dr. Walter Bradford Cannon, George Higginson professor of physiology at the Harvard Medical School. The medal will be presented to Dr. Cannon by Dr. John A. Hartwell, director of the New York Academy of Medicine, at the annual dinner of the institute, which will be given on May 10.

THE doctorate of laws was conferred on Dr. Har-