on Physiological Psychology, and Dr. Lois Hayden Meek, of Teachers College, Columbia University, will be chairman of a meeting on Social and Child Psychology.

There will be a tea and inspection of the laboratories of psychology at Washington Square College at 4:30 P. M.

Dr. Rufus D. Smith, recently appointed provost of New York University, will preside at a dinner at the Brevoort Hotel at 6:30 p. M. At the dinner Dr. Joseph Jastrow will speak on "The Contributions of J. McKeen Cattell to Psychology." Dr. Cattell is honorary president of the New York Branch. Dr. J. Clark Hull, of Yale University, will speak on "An Adventure in the Experimental Testing of Psychological Theory."

Following the dinner program there will be a business meeting, with Dr. Paul Achilles, secretary of the New York Branch, presiding.

DELEGATES OF THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL TO THE CHEMICAL UNION AND CONGRESS AT MADRID

THE following representatives of the National Research Council were appointed to attend the Eleventh Conference of the International Union of Chemistry and the Ninth International Congress of Pure and Applied Chemistry, to be held at Madrid from April 5 to 11:

- Arnold K. Balls, senior chemist, U. S. Bureau of Chemistry and Soils.
- Edward Bartow, head of the department of chemistry and chemical engineering, the State University of Iowa.
- John Van N. Dorr, president, the Dorr Company, New York City.
- Raleigh Gilchrist, associate and research chemist, U. S. Bureau of Standards.
- Harry N. Holmes, head of the department of chemistry, Oberlin College.
- Lauder W. Jones, professor of chemistry, Princeton University, associate director of natural sciences, Rocke-feller Foundation, Paris.
- Gilbert N. Lewis, dean, College of Chemistry, University of California.
- Atherton Seidell, chemist, National Institute of Health.

- Alexander Silverman, professor of chemistry, University of Pittsburgh.
- Robert E. Swain, professor of chemistry, Stanford University.
- John W. Turrentine, research chemist, U. S. Bureau of Chemistry and Soils.

Mr. Burrows Morey, chemical director, Larkin Company, Buffalo, New York, was also appointed a delegate, but will be unable to attend the meetings.

RECENT DEATHS

DR. BERN BUDD GALLAUDET, associate professor of anatomy at the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Columbia University, died on March 29. He was seventy-four years old.

FLORIN J. AMRHEIN, assistant professor of chemistry at the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy, died on March 30, at the age of forty-two years.

DR. ELON H. EATON, professor of biology at Hobart College, died on March 27, in his sixty-eighth year.

DR. WILLIAM A. FRONTZ, associate professor of clinical urology at the Johns Hopkins University, died on March 23 at the age of forty-nine years.

DR. FRANCIS ARTHUR BATHER, formerly keeper of the Department of Geology at the British Museum of Natural History, died on March 20, at the age of seventy-one years.

THE death at the age of eighty-nine years is announced of Sir Thomas Muir, the mathematician, superintendent-general of education at the Cape of Good Hope.

DR. WALTER ROSENHAIN, consulting metallurgist, died on March 17, at the age of fifty-eight years. Dr. Rosenhain resigned his position as superintendent of the department of metallurgy and metallurgical chemistry at the British National Physical Laboratory at the end of May, 1931, in order to take up private practise in London.

THE sudden death is announced of M. Camille Matignon, professor of physics and chemistry at the Collège de France, editor of *Chimie et Industrie*, and member of the Académie des Sciences.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE annual spring meeting of the National Academy of Sciences will be held in Washington on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, April 23, 24 and 25.

THE Theodore William Richards Medal, which the Northeastern Section of the American Chemical Society assigns biennially for "outstanding eminence in the field of pure chemistry," has been awarded to Professor Gregory P. Baxter, since 1925 Theodore William Richards professor of chemistry at Harvard University.

ON the occasion of the presentation on May 11 of the Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society to Dr. Harlow Shapley, director of the Harvard College Observatory, he will deliver the George Darwin lec-