members from various parts of the country, has nominated the following official ticket of candidates for the offices becoming vacant on August 1.

For President

J. Allen Johnson, chief electrical engineer, Buffalo, Niagara and Eastern Power Corporation, Buffalo, N. Y.

For Vice-presidents

Northeastern District:

W. H. Timbie, professor of electrical engineering and industrial practise, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

New York City District:

R. H. Tapscott, vice-president, New York Edison Company, New York.

Great Lakes District:

G. G. Post, vice-president, Milwaukee Electric Railway and Light Company.

Southwest District:

F. J. Meyer, vice-president in charge of operation, Oklahoma Gas and Electric Company, Oklahoma City.

Northwest District:

F. O. McMillan, research professor of electrical engineering, Oregon State College, Corvallis.

For Directors

F. Malcolm Farmer, vice-president and chief engineer, Electrical Testing Laboratories, New York.

Nevin E. Funk, vice-president in charge of engineering, Philadelphia Electric Company, Philadelphia.

H. B. Gear, assistant to the vice-president, Commonwealth Edison Company, Chicago.

For National Treasurer

W. I. Slichter, professor of electrical engineering, Columbia University.

These official candidates, together with any independent nominees that may be proposed later in the manner specified by the constitution and by-laws, will be voted upon by the membership at the coming election in the spring of 1934.

OFFICERS OF THE WASHINGTON ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

The result of election of the officers for the Washington Academy of Sciences was announced at its annual meeting as follows:

President, L. B. Tuckerman.

Non-resident Vice-presidents, E. C. Andrews, E. T. Wherry.

Corresponding Secretary, Paul E. Howe.

Recording Secretary, Charles Thom.

Treasurer, H. G. Avers.

Members of the Board of Managers for the three year term ending January, 1937, William M. Corse, John E. Graf. Vice-presidents, representing the various affiliated societies of the academy:

Anthropological Society, Matthew W. Stirling. Archeological Society, Walter Hough. Bacteriological Society, N. R. Smith. Biological Society, Chas. E. Chambliss. Botanical Society, Charlotte Elliott. Chemical Society, D. B. Jones. Engineers, Paul E. Whitney. Columbia Historical Society, Allen C. Clark. Electrical Engineers, E. C. Crittenden. Entomological Society, Harold Morrison. Geological Society, C. N. Fenner. Helminthological Society, G. Steiner. Mechanical Engineers, H. L. Whittemore. Medical Society, H. C. Macatee. Military Engineers, C. H. Birdseye. National Geographic, F. V. Coville. Philosophical Society, H. L. Dryden. Radio Engineers, H. G. Dorsey. Society of Foresters, T. S. Palmer.

THE GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA

THE forty-sixth annual meeting of The Geological Society of America was held at the University of Chicago on December 28, 29 and 30. More than five hundred persons were in attendance, and a total of more than one hundred scientific papers were presented at the various sessions.

The address of the retiring president, Professor C. K. Leith, on "The Pre-Cambrian," was delivered on the evening of December 28 in Mandel Hall, and was followed by a smoker held in the Reynolds Club. The annual dinner was held at the Shoreland Hotel on the evening of December 29, when the sixth award of the Penrose Medal of The Geological Society, for distinguished service and fundamental contribution to the advancement of geologic science, was announced, the recipient being Professor Waldemar Lindgren, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

The council of the society authorized twenty-six additional research grants at this time, from the income of the bequest to the society under the will of the late Dr. R. A. F. Penrose, Jr. A total of sixty-six grants have now received support from this fund, involving prospective expenditure of \$72,000.

The newly elected officers of the society for the year 1934 are:

President, W. H. Collins, Ottawa, Canada.

Past-president, C. K. Leith, Madison, Wisconsin.

Vice-presidents, Arthur L. Day, Washington, D. C.;

Eliot Blackwelder, Stanford, California; Percy E.

Raymond, Cambridge; John E. Wolff, Pasadena,

California.

Secretary, Charles P. Berkey, New York.

Treasurer, Edward B. Mathews, Baltimore.