BRITISH HONORS

From the New Year Honors List Nature selects the following names of scientific workers and others associated with scientific work: K.C.V.O.: Sir Richard Glazebrook, chairman of the Aeronautical Research Committee, 1908-33. Knights: Dr. S. C. Cockerell, director of the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge; G. Evans, principal of the Imperial College of Tropical Agriculture, Trinidad; Dr. Kenneth Lee, chairman of the Industrial Grants Committee, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research; Colonel C. E. Merrett, president and trustee of the Royal Agricultural Society, State of Victoria; Professor Robert Muir, professor of pathology, University of Glasgow; Dr. C. T. Hagberg Wright, secretary and librarian of the London Library. C.S.I.: Brigadier R. H. Thomas, lately Surveyor-General of India. C.M.G.: Professor R. E. Alexander, director of Canterbury Agricultural College, Lincoln, near Christchurch, New Zealand; Mr. A. Holm, lately director of agriculture, Kenya. C.I.E.: Lieutenant-Colonel A. D. Stewart, director of the All-India Institute of Hygiene and Public Health, Calcutta; Lieutenant-Colonel Ram Nath Chopra, professor of pharmacology, School of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, Calcutta. C.B.E.: J. S. Buchanan, deputy director of technical development, Air Ministry; R. G. Hatton, director of the Horticultural Research Station, East Malling, Kent. O.B.E.: G. H. J. Adlam, senior science master, City of London School; M. C. C. Bonington, lately divisional forest officer and forest development officer, Andamans; C. Coles, principal of Cardiff Technical College; D. Mackay, for service in connection with scientific exploration and survey in the interior of Australia; Professor W. Makower, professor of science, Royal Military Academy; Dr. P. D. Strachan, superintendent, Leper Settlement, Botsabelo, Basutoland; H. B. Thomas, deputy director of surveys, Uganda Protectorate; A. H. Unwin, conservator of forests, Cyprus. M.B.E.: A. S. Buckhurst, assistant in the Plant Pathological Laboratory, Harpenden; B. J. Hartley, district agricultural officer, Tanganyika Territory; C. A. Pinto, curator in the Zoological Gardens, Lahore, Punjab; M. J. S. Rosair, extra assistant conservator of forests, Burma.

IN HONOR OF PROFESSORS OF MATHE-MATICS AT THE UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN

A BANQUET in honor of three members of the faculty of mathematics at the University of Wisconsin was recently given by friends, associates and students.

These were Professor Charles S. Slichter, dean of the Graduate School; Dr. E. B. Skinner, professor of mathematics, and Dr. E. B. Van Vleck, emeritus professor of mathematics. A number of representatives from the departments of mathematics of other universities were present. They included Professor George D. Birkhoff, of Harvard University, who formerly taught at Wisconsin; Professors G. A. Bliss and E. P. Lane, of the University of Chicago, and Professor T. F. Holgate, of Northwestern University. In addition, Professor Warren Weaver, who left Wisconsin two years ago to join the Rockefeller Foundation in New York, returned for the occasion.

Speakers at the banquet included President Glenn Frank; Dr. E. A. Birge, president emeritus of the university; George C. Sellery, dean of the College of Letters and Science; Professor Birkhoff and Dr. Weaver. The guests of honor also spoke. Professor Mark Ingraham, of the department of mathematics, acted as toastmaster.

Dean Slichter holds the longest record of service—forty-seven years. He became an instructor of mathematics in 1886, was made assistant professor in 1889 and professor in 1892. Since 1920 he has served as dean of the Graduate School. Professor Skinner joined the faculty as an instructor in mathematics in 1892, forty-one years ago. He became assistant professor in 1910 and since 1920 has been professor of mathematics. Professor Van Vleck became instructor of mathematics in 1893. In 1895 he left the university, but returned as full professor in 1906. He became an emeritus professor in 1928. The three men have a combined service record in the university of one hundred and sixteen years.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

PROFESSOR GILBERT A. BLISS has been awarded the Martin A. Ryerson Distinguished Service Professorship for his "brilliant and fruitful service to the University of Chicago." Of the nine distinguished service professorships two are now held by members of the department of mathematics, the Eliakim Hastings Moore Distinguished Service Professorship having been awarded to Professor Leonard Eugene Dickson several years ago.

PROFESSOR HERBERT E. SLAUGHT, emeritus pro-

fessor of mathematics of the University of Chicago, was at the Boston meeting elected honorary president for life of the Mathematical Association of America.

The gold medal of the Royal Astronomical Society, London, has been awarded to Dr. Harlow Shapley, director of the Harvard College Observatory, for his work on the structure and dimensions of the galactic system. On May 11 Dr. Shapley will deliver the annual George Darwin Lecture to the society.

WILLIAM LAWRENCE BRAGG, Langworthy professor