January 12.—"'The Organization of Medical and Surgical Emergencies in San Francisco," Dr. Edmund Butler.

January 26.—"Medicine in Community Service," President Ray Lyman Wilbur.

February 9.—". Relation of Diet to Health," Dr. Agnes Fay Morgan.

February 23.—" 'Occupational Therapy," Mary C. Rixford.

March 9.—"The Rôle of Psychiatry in Preventive Medicine," Dr. George S. Johnson.

March 23.—"Some Contributions of Medical Science to Our Knowledge of Pain," Dr. Joseph C. Hinsey.

# OFFICERS OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIA-TION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

A FULL account of the Boston meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the scientific societies associated with it, edited by the permanent secretary, will be published in the issue of SCIENCE for February 2. Officers of the association were elected as follows:

#### President

Professor Edward L. Thorndike, Teachers College, Columbia University.

VICE-PRESIDENTS AND CHAIRMEN OF SECTIONS

- A-Mathematics. Professor R. D. Carmichael, University of Illinois.
- B—Physics. Professor Henry G. Gale, University of Chicago.
- C-Chemistry. Professor Joel H. Hildebrand, University of California.
- D-Astronomy. Professor Frederick Slocum, Wesleyan University.
- E-Geology and Geography. Professor James B. Macelwane, St. Louis University.

- F-Zoological Sciences. Professor George L. Streeter, Carnegie Institution.
- G-Botanical Science. Dr. Bernard O. Dodge, New York Botanical Garden.
- H—Anthropology and Archeology. Dr. Melville J. Herskovitz, Northwestern University.
- I-Psychology. Professor John E. Anderson, University of Minnesota.
- K-Social and Economic Sciences. Carl Snyder, Federal Reserve Bank, New York.
- L-Historical and Philological Sciences. Professor Solon J. Buck, University of Pittsburgh.
- M—Engineering. Dr. C. E. Skinner, Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company, East Pittsburgh.
- N-Medical Sciences. Dr. Cyrus C. Sturgis, University • of Michigan.
- O-Agriculture. Professor Jacob G. Lipman, Rutgers University.
- Q-Education. Professor Guy Thomas Buswell, University of Chicago.

#### ELECTED MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

- Professor F. K. Richtmyer, Cornell University.
- Dr. John C. Merriam, Carnegie Institution.

Members of the Executive Committee

- President Karl T. Compton, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
- Professor Edwin G. Conklin, Princeton University.

## TRUSTEE OF SCIENCE SERVICE

Dr. J. McKeen Cattell.

## SECRETARIES OF SECTIONS

- I-Psychology. Professor John A. McGeoch, University of Missouri.
- N-Medical Sciences. Professor Earl Baldwin McKinley, George Washington University Medical School.

# SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Rumford Medal of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences was presented to Dr. Harlow Shapley, director of the Harvard College Observatory, at a joint meeting in Boston on December 27 of the academy and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Dr. Shapley spoke on "The Anatomy of a Disordered Universe."

PRESENTATION of the Penrose Medal to Dr. Waldemar Lindgren, head of the department of geology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was made on December 29 at the annual dinner of the fellows of the Geological Society of America. Professor Edson S. Bastin, head of the department of geology at the University of Chicago, in presenting the medal to Dr. Lindgren, pointed out that Professor Lindgren had brought his adopted country into a position of leadership in the science of ore deposits. THE William H. Nichols Medal, bestowed annually by the New York section of the American Chemical Society, has been awarded for 1934 to Dr. Henry C. Sherman, Mitchill professor of chemistry in Columbia University. The award goes to Dr. Sherman for achievement in vitamin research, particularly in its quantitative aspects.

THE eleventh annual prize of \$1,000, given by the American Association for the Advancement of Science to the author of a noteworthy paper presented at the winter meeting, was awarded at Boston to Dr. Reuben L. Kahn, professor of bacteriology at the University of Michigan Medical School, for his paper "Tissue Reactions in Immunity."

DR. WILHELM HIS, professor of internal medicine at Berlin, celebrated his seventieth birthday on December 29.

8