Mr. Anderson, who was graduated from Mississippi State College with the degree of bachelor of science in 1931 and received a master of arts degree from Duke University this year, will carry on research work on the cytology of species of the mock orange Philadelphus, of which the arboretum has an exceptionally wide collection.

Miss Beall, a graduate of Goucher College in 1925 and later a graduate student at the Johns Hopkins University, will employ the newly developed Allison Optical Analyzer in a study of chemicals used in botanical research, while Mr. Childs, who was graduated from Oregon State Agricultural College in 1929 and has served as an assistant in forest pathology work in the Bureau of Plant Industry, will study diseases of trees.

A special study of the flora of Delaware will be made by Miss Larsen, who received a bachelor of arts degree from the University of Montana in 1925 and a master of science degree from Washington University, St. Louis, in 1926.

Mr. McQuilkin, who was graduated from Doane College, Nebraska, with the degree of bachelor of arts, in 1925 and who also holds a master of arts degree from the University of Nebraska, will study the relation of roots to soil characteristics.

According to Dr. True, the character of the research work undertaken by a number of the fellowship holders will require them to divide their time between the Morris Arboretum and the botanical laboratories on the university campus.

## THE TEXAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE annual meeting of the Texas Academy of Science was held at Dallas on October 20 and 21. In addition to papers presented before the sections, group luncheons with round table discussions were held as follows. Physicists: "Physical Science Opportunities in Texas," Dr. H. A. Wilson, Rice Institute, presiding. Geologists: "Geological Opportunities in Texas," Dr. E. H. Sellards, Bureau of Economic Geology, presiding. Biologists: "Biological Opportunities in Texas," Dr. Hardy C. Kemp, presiding. There was also a joint meeting of all biological sections and the Texas Entomological Society.

The annual banquet was followed by three addresses: The president's address, by Dr. E. N. Jones, Baylor University; "Some Geological Beginnings in Texas," by Dr. Robert T. Hill, and "Plant Life of the Past," by Dr. A. Noé, University of Chicago.

Following Dr. Hill's address the academy conferred on him a life fellowship.

The total attendance at sectional meetings, luncheon discussions and general sessions was about three hundred and fifty. The following officers were elected for the coming year:

- President: B. C. Tharp, professor of botany, University of Texas.
- Executive Vice-president: J. G. Burr, director of research, State Fish, Game and Oyster Bureau.
- Secretary-Treasurer: Frederick A. Burt, associate professor of geology, A. and M. College.
- Vice-president for Section 1: J. C. Godbey, professor of chemistry, Southwestern University.
- Vice-president for Section 2: Mayne Longnecker, assistant professor of biology, Southern Methodist University.
- Vice-president for Section 3: W. J. McConnell, dean of College of Industrial Arts.
- Vice-president for Section 4: Gayle Scott, professor of paleontology, Texas Christian University.
- Dr. S. W. Bilsing, professor of entomology, A. and M. College, reelected representative to the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

## OFFICERS OF THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF TROPICAL MEDICINE

At the meeting of the American Society of Tropical Medicine held in Richmond, Virginia, from November 15 to 17, the following officers were elected for the ensuing year:

- President: Dr. F. F. Russell, International Health Division, Rockefeller Foundation, New York, N. Y.
- President-elect: Dr. E. B. Vedder, Washington, D. C.
- Vice-president: Dr. F. W. O'Connor, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University.
- Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. Henry E. Meleney, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine.
- Editor: Dr. C. F. Craig, Tulane University School of Medicine.
- Councilors: Dr. G. R. Callender, Fort Sam Houston, Texas (1 year); Dr. G. C. Shattuck, Harvard Medical School (1 year); Dr. E. C. Faust, Tulane University School of Medicine (2 years); Dr. H. C. Clark, Gorgas Memorial Laboratory, Panama (2 years); Dr. T. B. Magath, Mayo Foundation, Rochester, Minnesota (3 years); Dr. S. S. Cook, U. S. Navy Department (3 years); Dr. E. B. Mc-Kinley, George Washington University School of Medicine (4 years); Dr. A. C. Reed, University of California Medical School (4 years).

The following honorary members were elected:

- Dr. William H. Welch, the Johns Hopkins University.
- Sir Leonard Rogers, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.
- Dr. Bailey K. Ashford, Medical Corps, U. S. Army, retired, School of Tropical Medicine, San Juan, Puerto Rico.
- Dr. Charles Nicolle, director of the Pasteur Institute, Tunis.
- Dr. W. Schüffner, School of Tropical Medicine, Koloniaal Institut, Amsterdam.