THE SCIENCE ADVISORY BOARD

THE Science Advisory Board, appointed by President Roosevelt in executive order No. 6238, signed on July 31, 1933, met in a four-day session last week, following its first session a month ago. In the meantime, six committees of experts appointed by the board have been actively at work on questions referred to it by governmental agencies.

Three general types of problems are under consideration. The first are questions of proper organization, or functioning, or program of the scientific and technical services of the government on which the advice of the board has been specifically requested. The second are similar matters which have otherwise come before the board, and which need attention in order that essential technical services shall not be impaired by economy, or unwise projects be supported, as may easily happen when the determining issues are obscure or highly technical. The third are basic considerations of the more permanent policy of the government toward scientific work.

In this latter category we find that the government definitely must operate certain technical services. It seems advisable that it should leave others entirely to private enterprise, while there is a rapidly increasing third class of services where the public welfare and future prosperity of the country will depend very much on the successful development of some method of cooperative attack by governmental and private agencies, so as temporarily to marshal the best scientific talent of the country for their solution, as the problems arise.

The important aspect of the board's deliberations relates to the impossibility of any effective attack on the great technical problems facing the government by any one group of experts alone, be it scientific, economic, social or business. The Science Advisory Board is therefore establishing interlocking contacts with these other phases of the governmental advisory services. Every problem is being considered from all these points of view, in order that the recommendation may be thorough and well considered, and backed by all the groups of qualified experts.

Inasmuch as the actual problems now under consideration are pressing and of a confidential nature, no discussion of them would be appropriate at this time.

The Science Advisory Board consists of:

Karl T. Compton, *chairman*, president, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

W. W. Campbell, president, National Academy of Sciences, Washington, D. C.

Isaiah Bowman, vice-chairman and director; chairman, National Research Council; director, American Geographical Society, New York City.

Gano Dunn, president, J. G. White Engineering Corporation, New York City.

Frank B. Jewett, vice-president, American Telephone and Telegraph Company; president, Bell Telephone Laboratories, New York City.

Charles F. Kettering, vice-president, General Motors Corporation; president, General Motors Research Corporation, Detroit, Michigan.

C. K. Leith, professor of geology, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin.

John C. Merriam, president, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Washington, D. C.

R. A. Millikan, director, Norman Bridge Laboratory of Physics, and chairman of the executive council, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California.

> KARL T. COMPTON, Chairman

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

As voted at the Chicago meeting, the Executive Committee of the American Association for the Advancement of Science will convene at the Cosmos Club in Washington, D. C., Saturday afternoon, October 14, at 5 o'clock, to be followed by morning and afternoon sessions on October 15. Special orders of business include: (1) Status of scientific research in federal bureaus. (2) The desirability of selecting from the membership a group to be designated as research fellows. (3) Maintenance and extension of membership. (4) Methods of securing nominations for general and sectional officers of the association. (5) The arrangements for the Boston meeting. (6) Reports of officers and committees. Members of the association having business to present to the committee should communicate with the permanent secretary,

Dr. Henry B. Ward, The Smithsonian Institution Building, Washington, D. C.

ON the occasion of the Chicago meeting of the American Chemical Society, a dinner was given in honor of Professor Julius Stieglitz, who has retired as administrative head of the department of chemistry at the University of Chicago. Professor Stieglitz has been connected with the university since 1892, when he was appointed docent in chemistry. Professor H. I. Schlesinger, of the University of Chicago, presided at the dinner. The speakers, in addition to Professor Stieglitz, included Professor William McPherson, a past president of the society, professor of chemistry and dean of Ohio State University; Dr. F. B. Dains, professor of chemistry at the University of Kansas; John Matthews Manly, head of the department of En-