delegate from the United States, was unable to attend. Representatives of organizations present were: J. Gérard, International Union of Chemistry; D. Secrétan, International Institute of Intellectual Cooperation; P. H. Chase and G. Riedberg, International Chamber of Commerce.

The conference voted that, in view of the great importance and variety of the literature and other records, it is highly desirable that the office establish permanent coordination and cooperation among the various centers over the world, and that it strive to make the accumulated documents available to searchers.

The field is divided into pure chemistry and applied chemistry (plant and laboratory, combustibles, inorganic industries, organic industries, agronomy and agricultural industries). Among the "documents" are included not only books, pamphlets, periodicals, charts, patents and manuscripts, but laboratory and plant products, equipment, models, photographs, films, disks, etc.

The Office International de Chimie has, according to the experts, three principal tasks: (1) to render accessible the documents already existing; (2) to assist in improving their production, indexing, preservation and distribution, and (3) to assure coordination between chemistry and other fields in this matter. Under (1), various international indexes and collections need to be established. Under (2), the most appropriate technics need to be studied and a knowledge of them diffused. Under (3), the office will represent chemistry in a general coordination and improvement of the records of scientific knowledge as a whole and in avoiding overlapping the sciences. Other topics considered were the safeguarding of the rights of authors and publishers and the lowering of the cost of scientific publications.

The office is engaged in the preparation of an international index of centers of chemical records which will give exact information as to the nature of each center and the services which it renders. It will be published in book form.

## COMMITTEES OF THE AMERICAN INSTI-TUTE OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERS

At the August meeting of the Board of Directors of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, President Whitehead announced the committee appointments for the administrative year beginning August 1, 1933. The chairmen of the general committees are as follows:

*Executive:* J. B. Whitehead (president of the institute), dean of the faculty of engineering, the Johns Hopkins University.

Board of Examiners: H. Goodwin, Jr., consulting engineer, Philadelphia. Code of Principles of Professional Conduct: C. E. Stephens, vice-president, Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company, New York.

Columbia University Scholarships: W. I. Slichter, professor of electrical engineering, Columbia University.

Constitution and By-laws: W. S. Gorsuch, engineer of economics, Interborough Rapid Transit Company, New York.

Coordination of Institute Activities: E. B. Meyer, vicepresident, United Engineers and Constructors, Incorporated, Newark.

Economic Status of the Engineer: C. O. Bickelhaupt, assistant vice-president, American Telephone and Telegraph Company, New York.

Edison Medal: C. E. Stephens, vice-president, Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company, New York.

*Finance*: E. B. Meyer, vice-president, United Engineers and Constructors, Incorporated, Newark.

Headquarters: W. S. Gorsuch, engineer of economics, Interborough Rapid Transit Company, New York.

Iwadare Foundation: F. B. Jewett, vice-president, American Telephone and Telegraph Company; president, Bell Telephone Laboratories, New York.

Lamme Medal: C. E. Skinner, Wilkinsburg, Pennsylvania.

Legislation Affecting the Engineering Profession: W. I. Slichter, professor of electrical engineering, Columbia University.

*Membership*: Everett S. Lee, engineer in charge, General Engineering Laboratory, General Electric Company, Schenectady, New York.

Advisory Committee to New York Museum of Science and Industry: John P. Jackson, manager, Department of Personnel and Statistics, Manhattan District, New York Edison Company, New York.

Popular Science Award: Harold Pender, dean, Moore School of Electrical Engineering, University of Pennsylvania.

Award of Institute Prizes: R. N. Conwell, transmission and substation engineer, Public Service Electric and Gas Company, Newark.

Publication: E. B. Meyer, vice-president, United Engineers and Constructors, Incorporated, Newark.

Public Policy: H. P. Charlesworth, assistant chief engineer, American Telephone and Telegraph Company, New York.

Safety Codes: F. V. Magalhaes, General Electric Company, Lynn, Mass.

Sections: I. Melville Stein, director of research, Leeds and Northrup Company, Philadelphia.

Standards: A. M. MacCutcheon, engineering vice-president, Reliance Electric and Engineering Company, Cleveland.

Student Branches: L. A. Doggett, professor of electrical engineering, Pennsylvania State College.

Technical Program: R. N. Conwell, transmission and substation engineer, Public Service Electric and Gas Company, Newark.

Transfers: J. Allen Johnson, chief electrical engineer, Buffalo, Niagara and Eastern Power Corporation.