PHYSICS SECTION

Chairman, E. K. Plyler, University of North Carolina Secretary, C. N. Warfield, Woman's College

The thirty-third annual meeting of the North Carolina Academy of Science will be held at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, N. C., in the spring of 1934.

H. R. Totten, Secretary

THE INDIANA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

The Indiana Academy of Science met from May 25 to 27, 1933, at Clifty Falls State Park for its regular spring meeting. The formal address was given by Mr. Curtis Marshall, president of the Jefferson County Historical Society, on "Some Incidents in Local History." The primary purpose of the spring meeting is to study regions of particular geological, botanical or zoological interest, so that one whole day was spent in field trips to the Fourteen-mile Creek

area, Rose Island, and to the Forestry Farm near Henryville.

The forty-eighth annual fall meeting of the academy was held at South Bend, from November 17 to 19, 1932, the academy being the guests of the University of Notre Dame. Dr. Fernandus Payne, Indiana University, was chairman of the meeting. A total of 116 papers on bacteriology, botany, chemistry, geology and geography, physics and mathematics and zoology were presented. The meeting closed with the annual dinner, held in the faculty dining room of the University of Notre Dame, at which the following officers were chosen for 1933: Marcus W. Lyon, Jr., South Bend, president; H. S. Markle, Earlham College, vicepresident; Ray C. Friesner, Butler University, secretary; Paul Weatherwax, Indiana University, treasurer; Stanley A. Cain, Indiana University, editor; Will E. Edington, DePauw University, press secretary. The fall meeting for 1933 will be held from October 12 to 14, at Indiana University.

WILL E. EDINGTON,

Press Secretary

REPORTS

APPROPRIATIONS FOR GRANTS-IN-AID BY THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

THE Committee on Grants-in-Aid of the National Research Council made seventy-four grants last spring for the support of individual research, as follows, from 249 applications received:

Kenneth T. Bainbridge, Bartol Research fellow, Bartol Research Foundation of the Franklin Institute, isotopes of light chemical elements; S. J. Barnett, professor of physics, University of California at Los Angeles, a gyrostatic method for the process of magnetization in strong fields; J. W. Beams, professor of physics, University of Virginia, magneto-optical method of chemical analysis of solutions; Samuel L. Boothroyd, professor of astronomy, Cornell University, the spectra of O, B and A type stars at the Lowell Observatory Mountain Station, Arizona; G. Breit, professor of physics, L. P. Granath, instructor in physics, and J. L. Rose, instructor in physics, New York University, measurement of hyperfine structure of spectral lines; Jesse W. M. Du-Mond, research associate in physics, California Institute of Technology, the construction of a high energy x-ray tube; S. A. Mitchell, director, Leander McCormick Observatory, University of Virginia, the spectra and photographic magnitudes of faint stars; Harald H. Nielsen, professor of physics, Ohio State University, the infrared region of the spectrum; Thomas C. Poulter, professor of physics, Iowa Wesleyan College, physical observations in connection with the second Byrd Antarctic Expedition; Francis G. Slack, associate professor of physics, Vanderbilt University, the magnetic rotation of the plane of polarization of light; J. C. Stearns, professor of physics and mathematics, University of Denver, distribution of the intensity of cosmic rays at high altitudes.

Corbin T. Eddy, associate professor of metallurgy, Michigan College of Mining and Technology, development of a thermo-analyzer; Richard H. Frazier, assistant professor of electrical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Thompson effect in electric circuits; Kenneth G. Merriam, assistant professor of aeronautical engineering, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, air flow around standard pitot-static heads.

Francis E. Blacet, instructor in chemistry, University of California at Los Angeles, the effects of monochromatic ultra-violet radiation upon organic substances in the vapor phase; Charles B. Hurd, professor of chemistry, Union College, the process of setting of silicic acid gels; I. M. Kalthoff, professor of analytical chemistry, University of Minnesota, internal structural changes taking place in fresh precipitates of lead sulfate; Gilbert N. Lewis, professor of chemistry, University of California, the separation and properties of pure isotopes; James W. McBain, professor of chemistry, Stanford University, construction of an ultracentrifuge; William A. Noyes, Jr., associate professor of chemistry, Brown University, absorption spectra of organic compounds, particularly ketones; H. I. Schlesinger, professor of chemistry, University of Chicago, hybrides of boron.

Charles I. Alexander, assistant professor of geology, Texas Christian University, fossil Ostracoda of Texas; Ira S. Allison, professor of geology, Oregon State Agricultural College, Pleistocene history of the Willamette Valley, Oregon; Ralph L. Belknap, assistant professor of geology, University of Michigan, upper air conditions over the Greenland Ice Gap; Margaret Fuller Boose, Madison, Wisconsin, granites of the Front Range, Colo-