writing to The American orestry Association, 1713 K Street, N.W., Washington, D. C. Room reservations will be made by the association, or they can be obtained by writing directly to the Forest Hills Hotel, Franconia, New Hampshire.

OBITUARY

DR. FRANK R. VAN HORN, professor of geology and mineralogy in the Case School of Applied Science, Cleveland, councilor of the Geological Society of America and secretary of the Mineralogical Society of America, died on August 1 at the age of sixty-one years.

JOHN R. DYER, executive dean and professor of psychology at the southern branch of the University

of Idaho, was killed in an automobile accident on August 5. He was forty-four years old.

Dr. Robert Emerson Wall, assistant professor of entomology at the Montana Agricultural Experiment Station, died on July 29 in his thirtieth year.

BERT RUSSELL, associate examiner at the Patent Office in charge of chemical cases, died by suicide on July 31.

CLIVE E. LORD, director of the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, known for his work on the natural history of Tasmania, has died at the age of forty-three years.

THE death at the age of sixty-two years is announced of Professor Dr. Georges Joannovic, dean of the Faculty of Medicine in Belgrade, of which he was the founder.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

PRESIDENT ROOSEVELT has issued the following executive order: "The National Research Council was created at the request of President Wilson in 1916 and perpetuated by Executive Order No. 2859, signed by President Wilson on May 11, 1918. In order to carry out to the fullest extent the intent of the above Executive Order, there is hereby created a Science Advisory Board with authority, acting through the machinery and under the jurisdiction of the National Academy of Sciences and the National Research Council, to appoint committees to deal with specific problems in the various departments. The Science Advisory Board of the National Research Council will consist of the following members who are hereby appointed for a period of two years: Karl T. Compton, chairman, president, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; W. W. Campbell, president, National Academy of Sciences, Washington, D. C.; Isaiah Bowman, chairman, National Research Council, and director, American Geographical Society, New York City; Gano Dunn, president, J. G. White Engineering Corporation, New York City; Frank B. Jewett, vice-president, American Telephone and Telegraph Company, and president, Bell Telephone Laboratories; Charles F. Kettering, vice-president, General Motors Corporation, and president, General Motors Research Corporation, Detroit; C. K. Leith, professor of geology, University of Wisconsin; John C. Merriam, president, Carnegie Institution of Washington; R. A. Millikan, director, Norman Bridge Laboratory of Physics, and chairman of the Executive Council, California Institute of Technology."

Professor George R. Minot, of the Harvard Medical School and director of the Thorndike Memorial Laboratory in the Boston City Hospital, discoverer in 1926 of the liver treatment for pernicious anemia, has

been awarded the Moxon Gold Medal of the Royal College of Physicians, London.

Dr. ARTHUR H. COMPTON, professor of physics in the University of Chicago, has been elected president of the alumni of Wooster College.

Dr. A. ROBERTSON, of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, has been appointed to the Heath Harrison chair of organic chemistry at the University of Liverpool, in succession to Professor I. M. Heilbron, who resigned recently.

DR. RALPH M. F. PICKEN, medical officer of health of the City of Cardiff, Wales, has been appointed Mansel Talbot professor of preventive medicine in the Welsh National School of Medicine, Cardiff, in succession to Professor E. L. Collis, who is retiring.

Dr. H. Jones has been appointed lecturer in theoretical physics at the University of Bristol.

THE title of professor of medical entomology has been conferred on Dr. P. A. Buxton, of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, and that of professor of pharmacology on Dr. J. H. Burn, director of the pharmacological laboratory of the Pharmaceutical Society, by the University of London.

THE Medical Research Council has appointed Professor Edward Mellanby secretary in succession to the late Sir Walter Morley Fletcher. Dr. Mellanby, who has been professor of pharmacology in the University of Sheffield since 1920, is at present a member of the council. He will not assume full duty as secretary until next January. The secretary of the Medical Research Council is ex officio secretary of the Committee of Privy Council for Medical Research.

Nature reports that Dr. W. L. Balls, director of the Botanical Section, Ministry of Agriculture, Egypt,