## THE AMERICAN SOCIETY AND JOURNAL FOR PHARMACOLOGY AND EXPERIMENTAL THERAPEUTICS

THE annual meeting of the society was held at the University of Cincinnati from April 10 to 12. The following officers were elected for next year:

President, Wm. de B. MacNider Vice-president, A. L. Tatum Secretary, V. E. Henderson Treasurer, O. H. Plant Council, C. M. Gruber G. B. Roth Membership Committee, J. Auer

The most important business before the society was the offer of Dr. J. J. Abel, who founded the Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics and who, with Dr. Carl Voegtlin and Dr. Reid Hunt, formed the original corporation, to turn over the journal to the society as its official organ. This offer was unanimously accepted by the society, and the following resolution was adopted by the society as the means of expressing its appreciation to Professor Abel:

Be it Resolved, that the Secretary of the Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics be instructed to write to Professor Abel and to the members of the Corporation of the Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics,

(a) That the Society wishes to express to them its deep gratitude and thanks for their most gracious and very generous offer to transfer the Journal free of all encumbrances to the Society.

(b) That the Society records its grateful appreciation of Dr. Abel's long and faithful service in furthering the advancement of Pharmacology in this country by promoting and editing the Journal.

(c) That the Society wishes to assure Dr. Abel that every effort will be made to maintain and extend if possible, the high standards of excellence as set by the Journal during the twenty-four years it has been under his control.

(d) That the Society is deeply touched by the devotion shown by Dr. Abel to its interest in returning from Baltimore to this meeting in order to aid in completing the arrangements for the transfer of the Journal to the Society.

The necessary steps were taken by the society for giving effect to this transfer.

V. E. HENDERSON, Secretary

## **OBITUARY**

Dr. EDGAR HENRY SUMMERFIELD BAILEY, professor emeritus of chemistry at the University of Kansas, where he was a member of the faculty for fifty years, died on June 1 at the age of eighty-four years.

Professor William P. Ryan, head of the department of chemical engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and director of its school of chemical engineering practise, died on May 31 at the age of thirty-eight years.

FREDERIC POOLE GORHAM, professor of bacteriology at Brown University, died suddenly on June 4. He was sixty-two years old.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

WE are informed by cable that there was organized in London on June 1 the Academic Assistance Council with Lord Rutherford as chairman. Its object is to provide positions or other aid for university professors and scientific men who because of "religion, political opinion or race are unable to carry on their work in their own country."

Dr. Isaiah Bowman, director of the American Geographical Society, has been elected chairman of the National Research Council, to fill the position occupied until his recent resignation by Dr. Vernon Kellogg. Dr. Bowman will remain director of the American Geographical Society and will devote half his time to the work of the National Research Council. There has been created in the National Research Council the office of honorary vice-chairman to which Dr. William H. Welch, of the Johns Hopkins University, has been elected. The honorary chairman is Dr. George Ellery Hale, honorary director of the Mount Wilson Observatory.

Dr. Harold Willis Dodds, professor of politics at

Princeton University and chairman of the administrative committee of the Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, has been elected fifteenth president of the university to succeed the late Dr. John Grier Hibben. Dr. Luther P. Eisenhart, professor of mathematics and dean of the faculty, has been elected dean of the Graduate School to succeed Dr. Augustus Trowbridge, who resigned last year, and Dr. Robert Kilburn Root, Woodrow Wilson professor of literature and chairman of the department of English, succeeds Dr. Eisenhart as dean of the faculty. Since the resignation of Dr. Hibben in June, 1932, Edward D. Duffield, president of the Prudential Insurance Company and trustee of the university, has been acting president.

Dr. George David Birkhoff, professor of mathematics at Harvard University, has been elected Perkins professor of mathematics to succeed Professor William F. Osgood, who on September 1 retires with the title of professor emeritus.

Professor William H. Taliaferro, associate dean