The following resolution was adopted by the academy:

I. Whereas, this Academy has at an earlier meeting adopted resolutions concerning the establishing of National Forest units in the State of Illinois, be it resolved that the academy assembled in Annual Meeting on May 5th, 1933, reaffirm its interest in and active support of a policy looking toward the development of forestry conservation within our state. Be it further reaffirmed that this Academy stands ready to offer its support to both State and Federal Agencies in furthering the establishment of adequate programs of forest conservation.

II. As a body of more than one thousand persons interested in science, the Illinois State Academy of Science takes this opportunity to affirm its interest in and concern for the welfare of all scientific work of the various state agencies. Be it therefore

Resolved, that this body go on record endorsing the past and projected programs of research and studies carried on by the various educational institutions, scientific surveys and other research organizations under state direction. Be it further Resolved that the State Legislature be urged to continue to extend adequate financial support to these organizations. Further be it Resolved that the Legislative Committee of this Academy be instructed to work for all matters of legislation favoring these agencies and to oppose all untoward legislation threatening the progress of education and of science in the State.

The following were chosen officers for the year 1933-34:

President: B. Smith Hopkins, chemistry, University of Illinois.

First Vice-president: Charles H. Behre, geology, Northwestern University.

Secretary: Harold R. Wanless, geology, University of Illinois.

 $Treasurer\colon$  George D. Fuller, botany, University of Chicago.

Editor: Dorothy E. Rose, State Geological Survey, Urbana.

It was decided to hold the twenty-seventh annual meeting of the academy at Decatur early in May, 1934. Dr. J. H. Ransom, of James Millikin University, will serve as chairman of the committee on local arrangements.

HAROLD R. WANLESS,

Secretary

## THE VIRGINIA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

The Virginia Academy of Science held its eleventh annual meeting at the State Teachers College, Fredericksburg, Virginia, on May 5 and 6, with a registration of 320. In the section of astronomy, mathematics and physics 27 papers were presented; in biology, 37; in chemistry, 17; in geology, 15; in

the medical sciences, 15; and in psychology and education, 12, making a total of 121.

The annual prize of fifty dollars was awarded to S. A. Wingard, of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute, for a paper entitled, "The Production of Rust-Resistant Varieties of Beans by Hybridization," and honorable mention was accorded to a paper by A. N. Vyssotsky and Emma T. A. Williams entitled "Color Indices and Integrated Magnitudes of Fifteen Bright Globular Clusters." These awards carry added significance this year because of the unusually high quality of the papers in competition with them.

The research committee reported that during the year the following grants in aid of scientific research had been made: Jesse W. Beams, physics, University of Virginia, \$150; J. C. Forbes, biochemistry, Medical College of Virginia, \$75; J. M. McGinnis, psychology, Hollins College, \$40; C. C. Speidel, anatomy, University of Virginia, \$100; N. Beverly Tucker, chemistry, Virginia Military Institute, \$50; I. A. Updike, chemistry, Randolph-Macon College, \$75.

A noteworthy item in the year's work is the increase in the number of junior (or student) members, the number having increased from 54 to 115. There were also two papers presented by junior members and two exhibits of their work were shown. One was an array of totally cleared anatomical and zoological specimens and the other was an inexpensive, laboratory-built apparatus for the fixation of atmospheric nitrogen.

Dr. William A. Kepner, of the University of Virginia, was elected president for the coming year, Dr. William T. Sanger, of the Medical College of Virginia, president elect, and Professor D. Maurice Allan, of Hampden-Sydney College, member of the council.

Following the meeting rather extensive field trips were made by the committee on the flora of Virginia and by members of the geology section.

E. C. L. MILLER, Secretary

## THE TENNESSEE ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

The thirty-second meeting of the Tennessee Academy of Science was held at the Reelfoot Lake Biological Station of the academy on April 28 and 29. The feature of the meeting was an address by The Very Reverend I. H. Noe, dean, St. Mary's Episcopal Cathedral, Memphis, in dedication of the John T. McGill Laboratory Building. This building is named in honor of Dr. John T. McGill, professor emeritus of chemistry at Vanderbilt University and secretary-treasurer of the Tennessee Academy of Science. In thus dedicating this building recognition is given to Dr. McGill of his many years of valued work in and for the academy and particularly of his efforts which resulted in the establishment in 1931 by the state of