lege, Merom, Indiana, in 1893, and pursued graduate studies at Johns Hopkins University until 1895. The doctor of philosophy degree was conferred on him by the University of Chicago in 1904. After lecturing on diplomatic history at the Johns Hopkins University, and on naval history at George Washington University, Dr. Paullin joined the research staff of the Carnegie Institution, Washington.

Dr. Wright, librarian of the American Geographical Society, was born at Cambridge, Massachusetts, and is a graduate of Harvard University, having received his bachelor of arts degree in 1913, his master's in 1914, and his Ph.D. in 1922. He was an instructor in history at Harvard in 1916 and 1917, and assumed his present position in 1920.

The prize-winning work of Professor Webb, issued in 1932 by Ginn and Company, is declared by the jury of award to be an accurate study of what happened in American civilization when, in its westward progress, it emerged from the woods and "essayed life on the Plains." Professor Webb's answer, the jury continued, "explores all the shaping influences of land, climate and rainfall and displays in fascinating detail the innovations forced upon the pioneers of the Great Plains—innovations in weapons, in agricultural methods and utensils, in fencing, in water supply, in law and custom."

Members of the Loubat jury were Dr. Isaiah Bowman, director of the American Geographical Society, chairman; Dr. Arthur M. Schlesinger, professor of history in Harvard University, and Dr. Carl Russell Fish, professor of American history in the University of Wisconsin.

THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

AT the closing session of the meeting of the National Academy of Sciences held in Washington on April 24, 25 and 26, the following scientific men were elected to membership: Dr. Oswald Theodore Avery, member, Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, bacteriology; Harold Delos Babcock, physicist at the Mount Wilson Observatory, physics; Dr. Thomas Barbour, director of the Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University, zoology; Dr. Alphonse Raymond Dochez, professor of medicine, Columbia University, medicine; Dr. Bernard O. Dodge, plant pathologist at the New York Botanical Garden, botany; Dr. Eugene F. DuBois, professor of medicine, Cornell University Medical College, pathological physiology; Dr. Griffith C. Evans, professor of pure mathematics, Rice Institute, mathematics; Bancroft Gherardi, vice-president of the American Telephone and Telegraph Company, New York City, engineering; Dr. Herbert Eugene Ives, physicist, Bell Telephone

Laboratories, physics; Dr. W. R. Miles, professor of psychology, Yale University, psychology; Samuel Alfred Mitchell, director of the Leander McCormick Observatory, University of Virginia, astronomy; Dr. Linus Pauling, professor of chemistry, California Institute of Technology, chemistry; Dr. J. F. Ritt, professor of mathematics, Columbia University, mathematics; Dr. H. C. Sherman, Mitchill professor of chemistry, Columbia University, chemistry.

At the same session, Dr. Arthur L. Day, director of the Geophysical Laboratory of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, was elected vice-president, succeeding Dr. David White, of the U. S. Geological Survey, resigned. Dr. J. McKeen Cattell, editor of Science, and Dr. Karl T. Compton, president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, were reelected to membership in the governing council of the academy.

At the dinner given on the evening of April 25 medals were presented to five scientific men for distinguished work:

The Alexander Agassiz Medal for Oceanography was given to Dr. Albert Defant, of the Institute for Oceanography, Berlin, for his studies on atmospheric and oceanic circulation and his notable contributions to theoretical oceanography. The address was made by Dr. Henry B. Bigelow, of Harvard University, director of the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, and the medal was received by the German ambassador.

The Public Welfare Medal was awarded to Dr. William H. Park, of New York, for his work as head of the research laboratories of the New York City Department of Health as a pioneer and leader both in research and in the application of scientific discovery to the prevention of disease. The address was made by Dr. Simon Flexner, director of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research.

The John J. Carty Medal and Award for the Advancement of Science was awarded before his death to Dr. Carty, in whose honor the medal was established, for his distinguished accomplishments in the field of electrical engineering. Dr. Frank B. Jewett, president of the Bell Telephone Laboratories, a colleague of Dr. Carty, made the address, and the medal was received by his son, Dr. John Russell Carty.

The Henry Draper Medal was presented to Dr. V. M. Slipher, astronomer of the Lowell Observatory, Flagstaff, Arizona, in recognition of his spectroscopic researches. The address was made by Dr. Henry Norris Russell, research professor of astronomy and director of the Princeton University observatory.

The Mary Clark Thompson Medal was given to Dr. Francis Arthur Bather, of Wimbledon, England, for his distinguished services in the fields of paleontology and geology. The British ambassador having been detained by the political situation, the medal was received by Ralph Howard Fowler, of the University of Cambridge.