Dr. C. Van Caulaert, Strasbourg, France, \$400 for biological work on nephritis.

Professor René Wurmser, Paris, France, \$500 for continuation of studies of oxidation-reduction phenomena in cells

Professor Edgard Zunz, Brussels, Belgium, \$100 for studies of pancreatic secretion.

Applications for grants to be held during the year 1933-1934 should be in the hands of the executive committee before May 1, 1933. They should be sent to Dr. Joseph C. Aub, Collis P. Huntington Memorial Hospital, 695 Huntington Avenue, Boston, Massachusetts

SOCIETIES AND MEETINGS

THE COLORADO-WYOMING ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE sixth annual meeting of the Colorado-Wyoming Academy of Science was held on November 25 and 26, 1932, at the Colorado Agricultural College, Fort Collins.

Friday and Saturday mornings were given over to the reading of papers in section meetings. One hundred thirty-six papers were presented, These were distributed as follows: Chemistry, 12; education, 13; geology and geography, 10; physics, 15; plant science, 25; psychology, 16; social science, 16, and zoology 29.

About 175 members were present. The attendance of the public and college students was unusually large.

A new feature of the program was the display of exhibits of the scientific work carried on by members of the academy. Sixty exhibits were presented. These included teaching devices, demonstrations of collections of animals and plants, rare scientific books, chemical and physical apparatus, experiments in physics and chemistry, cooking devices, historical manuscripts, charts for psychology and education, experiments in hydraulics, plant breeding, plant pathology, models of ecological situations, etc. These were on display during the entire session. The enthusiastic interest shown by academy members, students and the visiting public insured the continuance of this feature.

At the academy dinner on Friday evening, A. S. Adams, of the Colorado School of Mines, spoke on "A Defense of Mass Production."

The following officers were elected: President: F. C. Jean, Colorado State Teachers College; Vice-President: S. H. Knight, University of Wyoming; Secretary: R. J. Gilmore, Colorado College; Treasurer: O. M. Dickerson, Colorado State Teachers College.

- C. H. Hutchinson, University of Colorado, was appointed chairman of the program and publications committee.
- F. E. E. Germann, University of Colorado, was appointed representative to the conference of state academies

Members of the executive committee are: O. A.

Beath, University of Wyoming; F. F. Coen, Colorado Agricultural College; F. F. Ramaley, University of Colorado; A. S. Adams, Colorado School of Mines; T. R. Garth, University of Denver; F. P. Goeder, Colorado Agricultural College; R. G. Gustavson, University of Denver.

The 1933 meeting will be held at the University of Wyoming, Laramie, on December 1 and 2, 1933.

R. J. GILMORE,
Secretary

THE ALABAMA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

The tenth annual meeting of the Alabama Academy of Science was held at Birmingham-Southern College, Birmingham, Alabama, on March 10 and 11. The attendance was better than at any previous meeting.

The presiding officer was Professor J. F. Duggar, Alabama Polytechnic Institute. There were two general sessions and sectional meetings were held by the following sections: biology, chemistry, physics and mathematics, industry and medicine. A fifth section was organized at the meeting, which will cover the following subjects: anthropology, archeology and geology.

The internal organization of the academy was changed at this meeting. The plan adopted is in some respects similar to that of the American Association for the Advancement of Science; that is, sectional chairmen are automatically vice-presidents of the academy. The offices of first vice-president and second vice-president were discontinued.

The officers elected for 1933-34 are as follows:

President: James L. Brakefield, Howard College, Birmingham, Alabama.

General Secretary: W. A. Whiting, Birmingham-Southern College, Alabama.

Treasurer: A. G. Overton, Alabama By-Products Corporation, Tarrant.

Councilor to the American Association for the Advancement of Science: Emmett B. Carmichael, University of Alabama.

Editor of the Journal: E. V. Jones, Birmingham-Southern College.