the practical impossibility of making adjustments to meet the situation in reference to superannuated employes in the entire absence of any pension system, leads me to urge the establishment of an equitable contributory pension system just as soon as this becomes economically feasible.

OFFICERS OF THE WASHINGTON ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

THE result of election of the officers for the Washington Academy of Sciences was announced at its annual meeting as follows:

President, Robert F. Griggs

Non-resident Vice-presidents, F. A. Vening Meinesz, Edward A. Birge

Corresponding Secretary, Paul E. Howe Recording Secretary, Charles Thom

Treasurer, H. G. Avers

Members of the Board of Managers for the three-year term ending January, 1936: M. C. Hall, S. A. Robwer

Vice-presidents representing the various affiliated societies of the academy:

Anthropological Society, N. M. Judd; Archeological Society, J. Townsend Russell; Bacteriological Society, N. R. Smith; Biological Society, H. H. T. Jackson; Botanical Society, C. L. Shear; Chemical Society, E. Wichers; Columbia Historical Society, Allen C. Clark; Electrical Engineers, E. C. Crittenden; Entomological Society, Harold Morrison; Geological Society, F. E. Matthes; Helminthological Society, G. Steiner; Mechanical Engineers, O. P. Hood; Medical Society, H. C. Macatee; Military Engineers, C. H. Birdseye; National Geographic, F. V. Coville; Philosophical Society, H. L. Curtis; Society of Foresters, F. C. Craighead; Washington Engineers, N. H. Heck.

At this meeting the affiliation of the Washington Section of the Institute of Radio Engineers with the academy was approved.

The new president, Professor Robert F. Griggs, is professor of botany at George Washington University. Dr. Griggs has been in charge of a number of expeditions to Puerto Rico, Guatemala, Texas and Alaska, the best known of which was the one to the Valley of Ten Thousand Smokes.

AWARD OF THE CHANDLER MEDAL

Dr. George Oliver Curme, vice-president and director of research of the Carbide and Carbon Chemicals Corporation, has been awarded the Chandler Medal for 1933, according to an announcement made by Professor Arthur W. Hixson, of the department of chemical engineering in Columbia University, chairman of the award committee.

The Chandler Medal and Lectureship were instituted in 1910 by friends of the late Professor Charles Frederick Chandler, of Columbia University, pioneer

in industrial chemistry and a founder of the American Chemical Society.

The aliphatic chemicals with which Dr. Curme has worked are open chain compounds, such as fatty acids, hydrocarbons, alcohols, esters and ethers. Of his work Professor Hixson writes:

Although the achievements of Dr. Curme are only now beginning to be recognized, it is of significant importance that his ideas and his thoughts as expressed to his intimate friends have changed but little in the fifteen years that have elapsed since he began this work. He saw clearly in 1915 and 1916, before anybody else appreciated the possibilities, just exactly what is happening to-day in the field of aliphatic chemistry and he predicted in those days the industrial use of these aliphatic compounds in quantities reaching into the millions of pounds per month, although at the time only test-tube quantities were available.

The achievements of Dr. Curme are many. His original work involved the production of acetylene, the thermo-decomposition of mineral oil inducted by sticking an electric arc beneath the surface of the oil. This was done in 1915-16.

Subsequently he has worked out practical methods for the production of ethylene glycol, ethylene dichloride, ethylene chlorhydrin, ethylene oxide, diethyl sulfate, dichlor ethyl ether and many other compounds. Most of this work has been patented.

Dr. Curme's greatest achievement has not been solely the working out of laboratory methods for making the compounds mentioned above, but in translating these laboratory applications to large-scale manufacturing processes. As is well known to-day, the production of ethylene glycol, ethylene dichloride, ethylene chlorhydrin and some of the other compounds mentioned runs into many millions of pounds annually.

More recently his early work in connection with the production of synthetic isopropyl alcohol and acetone has been commercialized and these products are now available on a large scale. He is considered one of the greatest living exponents of aliphatic chemistry.

The achievement that has attracted the most public interest has been the manufacture of synthetic ethyl alcohol, which was put into production in a large way during April, 1930, but the preliminary work for it had been done and the process well outlined over ten years ago.

Among the previous Chandler medalists are Dr. Leo H. Baekeland, president of the Bakelite Corporation, New York City; Dr. Irving Langmuir, associate director of research for the General Electric Company; Dr. Willis R. Whitney, director of research for the General Electric Company; Professor Moses Gomberg, of the University of Michigan; Professor F. Gowland Hopkins, University of Cambridge, and Professor James Bryant Conant, chairman of the Division of Chemistry of Harvard University.

The formal presentation of the medal will take place at Columbia University early in March, when Dr. Curme will deliver the annual Chandler lecture.