Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New York, North Dakota, Texas and Vermont also joined in the petition for review.

NATIONAL RESEARCH FELLOWSHIPS IN THE BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

NATIONAL RESEARCH fellowships in the biological sciences (agriculture, forestry, botany, zoology, anthropology and psychology), are as usual to be awarded in 1933 by the National Research Council.

These fellowships are administered by a board appointed by the National Research Council. They are for study and research in America or abroad, and are open to citizens of both sexes of the United States and Canada who possess a Ph.D. degree or its equivalent. The purpose of these fellowships is the promotion of fundamental research through development of thoroughly trained investigators. The present policy of the board of administration is to restrict appointment to those applicants in the early stages of a research career who have demonstrated a high order of ability and who give promise of developing individual judgments and viewpoints in investigative work.

The basic stipends per annum are \$1,620 for unmarried fellows and \$2,070 for married fellows, in America; or \$1,620 and \$2,160, respectively, with additional travel allowance, for fellows appointed to study in Europe. Awards are made for one year, but fellowships may be renewed. Applications for 1933– 34 must be in the hands of the fellowship board not later than March 1, 1933. Appointments will be made about May 1.

The fellowships are not granted to any institution or university, but the choice of place to work is left to the fellow, subject to the approval of the fellowship board. The appointments are for full time and no other remunerative or routine work is permitted.

For further information address: Chairman, Board of National Research Fellowships in the Biological Sciences, the National Research Council, Washington, D. C.

THE HERSEY PROFESSORSHIP OF THE THEORY AND PRACTICE OF PHYSIC AT HARVARD UNIVERSITY

A MEETING celebrating the 150th anniversary of the founding of the Hersey Professorship of the Theory and Practice of Physic, one of the first three professorships in medicine established at the university, was held on December 20, at the Harvard Medical School.

The professorship was established on December 24, 1782. In the 150 years since that time, it has had seven holders. The first incumbent was Benjamin Waterhouse, who held the post from 1782 to 1812. His successors have been James Jackson, 1812–1836; John Ware, 1836–1859; George C. Shattuck, 1859– 1873; Francis Minot, 1873–1891; Reginald Heber Fitz, 1892–1908, and Henry A. Christian, who was appointed in 1908.

The speakers at the meeting were Dr. Christian, the present holder of the professorship, and descendants of his six predecessors. Five of these six descendants of the former professors are themselves now members of the teaching staff at the Medical School. The program, in addition to Dr. Christian's address, was as follows:

"Benjamin Waterhouse and the Introduction of Vaccination into America," by his great-great-granddaughter, Margaret Thayer Lancaster.

"James Jackson as Professor of Medicine," by his great-grandson, Dr. George R. Minot, professor of medicine.

"John Ware, the Family Physician," by his grandson, Dr. Robert M. Green, assistant professor of applied anatomy.

"George Cheyne Shattuck and his Medical Contributions," by his grandson, Dr. George Cheever Shattuck, assistant professor of tropical medicine.

"Francis Minot and Hemorrhage in the Newborn," by his grandson, Dr. Francis Minot Rackemann, instructor in medicine.

"Reginald Heber Fitz and Appendicitis," by his son, Dr. Reginald Fitz, associate professor of medicine.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

IN view of the death of Dr. Louis W. Austin in July, 1932, Professor A. E. Kennelly has been elected to the presidency of the International Scientific Radio Union (Union Radio Scientifique Internationale) to succeed the late General Gustave A. Ferrié.

DEAN ANDREY A. POTTER, of the School of Engineering at Purdue University, was elected president of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers at the recent New York meeting.

THE Paul Ehrlich Foundation of Germany has

awarded its gold medal to Dr. Oswald T. Avery, of the Hospital of The Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, New York, and its silver medal to Dr. Michael Heidelberger, formerly of the Hospital of The Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research and now of the Medical Department of the Presbyterian Hospital and associate professor of biochemistry of the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University, for their "epoch-making chemo-immunological discoveries."