THE AWARD OF THE PERKIN MEDAL

GEORGE OENSLAGER, chemist at the B. F. Goodrich Company Laboratories at Akron, Ohio, has been awarded the Perkin Medal for 1933. It is given annually for the most valuable work in applied chemistry and regarded as one of the highest honors which can be conferred upon an American chemist.

Mr. Oenslager's selection is based on the pioneering work he has accomplished for the rubber industry on organic accelerators, besides other chemical research. In 1906 he started work to find a means by which the cheaper wild rubbers could be made to vulcanize as rapidly as those of high grade and also to result in as good or better finished product. It was his untiring effort on that problem that resulted in the use of organic compositions as accelerators of vulcanization. Their use permitted rubber to be vulcanized in only a fraction of the time formerly required and brought about greater life to tires and all other rubber products. It is estimated that chemical research work on organic accelerators alone has brought a saving to motorists of at least \$50,000,000 a year.

The Perkin Medal is awarded by the American section of the Society of Chemical Industry and is made to any chemist in the United States for work done at any time during his career. A committee representing the American section of the Society of Chemical Industry, the American Chemical Society, the Electrochemical Society, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers and the Société de Chimie industrielle of France makes the award. The medal will be presented at a joint meeting of these societies in New York City on January 6.

Established in 1906 by Sir William H. Perkin, the first medal was awarded to Sir William for his pioneer work in the synthetic dye industry. The complete list of recipients of the medal follows:

J. B. F. Herreshoff, improvement in chamber process for sulfuric acid; Arno Behr, work in corn products; E. G. Acheson, development of carborundum; Charles M. Hall, development of process for manufacture of aluminum; Herman Frasch, contribution to refining of Canadian and Ohio petroleums.

James Gayley, invention of dry air blast for manufacture of iron; John W. Hyatt, discovery of celluloid and development of its manufacture; Edward Weston, achievements in electrodeposition of metals; Leo H. Baekeland, discoverer of Velox paper, Bakelite and other synthetic resins; Ernst Twitchell, work with organic sulfo acids; Auguste J. Rossi, achievements in field of titanium steel and other titanium alloys; F. G. Cottrell, recovery of helium from natural gas wells.

Charles F. Chandler, work as educator and expert in field of industrial chemistry; Willis R. Whitney, achievements as research director of General Electric Conpany; William M. Burton, for high temperature process of cracking petroleum under pressure.

Milton C. Whitaker, achievements in manufacture of alcohol, ethyl acetate, acetone and other solvents; Frederick M. Becket, process of extraction of rare metals from ores; Hugh K. Moore, development of electrolytic processes for chlorine and caustic soda; R. B. Moore, achievements in the field of helium and radioactive elements.

John E. Teeple, achievements in manufacture of acids; Irving Langmuir, accomplishments in field of low pressures, conduction and radiation of heat; E. C. Sullivan, development of special glasses for heat resistance; Herbert H. Dow, developments in production of chlorine and alkali; Arthur D. Little, work as a pioneer in application of research to industry and development of processes; Charles F. Burgess, development of the dry cell.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. IRVING LANGMUIR, assistant director of the Research Laboratory of the General Electric Company at Schenectady, New York, has been awarded the Nobel Prize in chemistry.

THE honorary degree of doctor of medicine was conferred by the University of Upsala on Sir Charles Sherrington, Waynflete professor of physiology at the University of Oxford, in connection with the Gustavus Adolphus celebrations on November 4.

THE triennial award of the De Morgan Medal of the Mathematical Society, London, has been made to Bertrand Russell in recognition of his mathematical work. The medal was presented at the annual general meeting of the society on November 10.

THE Max Planck Medal has been awarded to Dr

Max von Laue, professor of theoretical physics at the University of Berlin.

At the annual dinner of the Royal Society of Medicine, London, on November 17, Sir Thomas Barlow was presented with the gold medal of the society.

THE chemists whose names are given below have been nominated for 1933 for the office of presidentelect of the American Chemical Society: Dr. Edward Bartow, professor and head of the department of chemistry and chemical engineering at the State University of Iowa; Dr. C. A. Browne, chief of chemical and technological research of the Bureau of Chemistry and Soils, U. S. Department of Agriculture; Dr. William Lloyd Evans, professor of chemistry and chairman of the department at the Ohio State Uni-