children in the Children's Science Fair (there were over 400 exhibits and 35,000 visitors at last year's fair), it is felt that the institute should broaden its scope. Dr. H. H. Sheldon, president of the institute, expressed satisfaction at the favorable reception the plan had received.

The Junior Science Clubs Plan Committee consists of the following members: Dr. Morris Meister, New York Teacher Training College; Herbert J. Arnold, Lincoln School of Teachers College; Alexander Brodell, Franklin K. Lane High School; Dr. John E. Brolles, George Washington High School; John A. Clark, Alexander Hamilton High School; Alexander Efran, John Adams High School; Irving Fine, James Monroe High School; Charles A. Gramet, John Adams High School; Doris Spier Harman, School Nature League: Rosalie Kant. Bryant High School; William R. Leng, Junior High School No. 55, Bronx; Paul B. Mann, Evander Childs High School; Irving Mosbacher, Morris High School; Professor S. R. Powers, Teachers College; Grace Fisher Ramsay, American Museum of Natural History; B. Taplitz, Grover Cleveland High School; Superintendent John L. Tildsley; Samuel Yacknowitz, Walton High School.

THE LOS ANGELES MEETING OF THE AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

AT the final session of the recent summer meeting of the American Mathematical Society, held on the

Los Angeles campus of the University of California, the following resolution was adopted:

The American Mathematical Society wishes to place on record its recognition of the Los Angeles meeting as one of the most successful and enjoyable in the history of the society, its admiration for the genius of those who have won and are winning for the mathematical sciences their due place in the amazing cultural development of the Pacific Coast, and its gratitude to all those whose courtesy, hospitality and devoted effort have made the occasion memorable: to Professors E. R. Hedrick and W. M. Whyburn for their unremitting attention to every matter of plan and detail, to all members of the local committee on arrangements and its subcommittees including the faculty, students and ex-students of the University of California at Los Angeles, to Vice-president and Provost Ernest C. Moore, host at the luncheon on Tuesday, to Mrs. Phelps and those associated with her at Mira Hershey Hall, to Professor E. T. Bell and other members of the staff of the California Institute of Technology, to the staff of the Mount Wilson Observatory, to the Los Angeles Chamber of Commerce for assistance in registration, publicity and general information, to Professors D. N. Lehmer and Tibor Rado for their addresses delivered by special invitation of the society, and to Professor J. F. Ritt, whose colloquium, in addition to the significance of its content, has been by unanimous agreement one of the most notable for the lucidity of its oral presentation among all those which the society has heard. The secretary is directed to send copies of this resolution to the persons and groups designated.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE autumn meeting of the National Academy of Sciences will be held at the University of Michigan on November 14, 15 and 16. The regular council meeting will be held on the preceding evening, Sunday, November 13. Members of the local committee are F. G. Novy, chairman, H. D. Curtis, C. F. Kettering, Frank Leverett, Walter B. Pillsbury and Moses Gomberg, secretary.

HITCHCOCK lecturers at the University of California for the year 1932 to 1933 are: Dr. Peter Debye, professor of physics at the University of Leipzig, September 15 to October 15; J. B. S. Haldane, Sir William Dunn reader in biochemistry at the University of Cambridge, head of the genetical department of the John Innes Horticultural Institute and Fullerian professor of physiology at the Royal Institution, October 15 to November 15, and Dr. George Sarton, research associate of the Carnegie Institution at Washington, lecturer on the history of science at Harvard University, and editor of *Isis*, January 15 to February 15. The establishment of the Hitchcock professorship to bring eminent men to Berkeley for pe-

riods of three weeks or longer, is made possible by a bequest, amounting to about \$115,000, from the late Mrs. L. Hitchcock Coit. Mrs. Coit asked that this sum be added to a lecture fund presented by her father in 1872, which now amounts to \$10,000, and that in honor of her father and mother the chair commemorate their name.

The Remington Honor Medal for outstanding service to pharmacy has this year been awarded to Eugene G. Eberle, editor of the Journal of the American Pharmaceutical Association and a past-president of the organization. The presentation will be made in Baltimore, on October 12, at a testimonial dinner given in his honor by the New York and Baltimore branches of the American Pharmaceutical Association. Among the speakers will be Professor E. Fullerton Cook, chairman of the Revision Committee of the United States Pharmacopoeia; Dr. Henry V. Arny, dean of the School of Pharmacy, Columbia University, and Dr. E. F. Kelly, secretary of the American Pharmaceutical Association.