- "Development of Electrical Machinery in the U. S.," by P. L. Alger and F. D. Newbury.
- "Production and Transformation of Electrical Energy in the U. S.," by F. A. Allner, A. D. Bailley, A. G. Christie and F. C. Hanker.
- "Evolution and Development of Railway Electrification in the U. S.," by E. L. Moreland.
- "World-wide Telephony, its Problems and Future," by F. B. Jewett and B. Gherardi.

The American delegation included, in addition to Dr. Kennelly, Dean Harold Pender, secretary, Dr. H. L. Curtis, Dr. V. Karapetoff, Mr. A. S. Garfield and Mr. H. E. Shreeve. Dr. Kennelly, who is professor emeritus of electrical engineering at Harvard University, was appointed by the Committee of Organization as the American vice-president of the congress. Over 30 nations were represented with more than 1,300 individual members in attendance. No official actions were taken.

The transactions of the congress, to be published in fourteen or fifteen volumes of about 8,000 pages in all, are expected to be ready for distribution about November 1.

THE NEW YORK DINNER FOR DELEGATES TO THE GENETICS AND EUGENICS CONGRESSES

ON the evening of Tuesday, August 23, there will be held at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City a dinner in honor of the foreign delegates to the Sixth International Genetics Congress, which will begin its session at Cornell University the next day, and to those of the Third International Congress of Eugenics, which will have just concluded its sessions in New York City. Previous to the dinner the delegates and their friends will inspect the hotel as guests of its management. There will be a brief speaking program after the dinner, and at its conclusion those who are to attend the Genetics Congress will board the special train for Ithaca.

It is hoped that a large number of American biologists will attend this dinner and help to welcome our distinguished guests. The dinner will be a complimentary one to all foreign delegates through the generosity of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. Others may purchase tickets, at \$4.00 per plate, from the treasurer of the congress at its headquarters at John Jay Hall, Columbia University, after August 19, or from the undersigned.

> E. W. SINNOTT, Chairman Dinner Committee

BARNARD COLLEGE,

COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY

OFFICERS OF THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

ANNOUNCEMENT is made of the election of the following officers of the National Research Council for the year 1932-33:

- Chairman, William H. Howell, director emeritus and professor emeritus of physiology, School of Hygiene and Public Health, the Johns Hopkins University.
- First Vice-chairman, David White, vice-president, National Academy of Sciences; principal geologist, U. S. Geological Survey.
- Second Vice-chairman, Simon Flexner, director, Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research.
- Third Vice-chairman, John J. Carty, Winter Park, Florida.
- Chairmen of the Divisions of General Relations:
 - Federal Relations, George Otis Smith, chairman, Federal Power Commission.
 - Foreign Relations, R. A. Millikan, director, Norman Bridge Laboratory of Physics, and chairman of the Executive Council, California Institute of Technology.
 - States Relations, Raymond A. Pearson, president, University of Maryland.
 - Educational Relations, S. P. Capen, chancellor, University of Buffalo.
- Chairmen of the Divisions of Science and Technology: Physical Sciences, F. K. Richtmyer, professor of physics, and dean of the Graduate School, Cornell University.
 - Engineering and Industrial Research, Dugald C. Jackson, professor of electrical power production and distribution, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
 - Chemistry and Chemical Technology, Charles A. Kraus, research professor of chemistry, Brown University.
 - Geology and Geography, W. H. Twenhofel, professor of geology, University of Wisconsin.
 - Medical Sciences, Stanhope Bayne-Jones, professor of bacteriology, School of Medicine and Dentistry, University of Rochester.
 - Biology and Agriculture, Fernandus Payne, professor of zoology, Indiana University.
 - Anthropology and Psychology, A. T. Poffenberger, professor of psychology, Columbia University.

Dr. George E. Hale, honorary director of the Mount Wilson Observatory, continues as honorary chairman of the council, and Dr. Vernon Kellogg, for twelve years the permanent secretary of the council, is retained as secretary emeritus.