only. In addition, of the 29,080 deaths from automobile accidents in 1930 shown in the supplemental tabulation; 280 burns, 227 drownings and 934 falls contribute to the total deaths from accidental and unspecified external causes and are also shown under their respective titles in the regular table.

ITHACA MEETING OF THE AMERICAN PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION

THE American Psychological Association will meet at Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, on September 8, 9 and 10, under the presidency of Professor Walter R. Miles.

Reservations of rooms can be made in the dormitories. The sessions will be held in Goldwin Smith Hall and there will be an exhibit of apparatus in the Library of Psychology in Morrill Hall. In addition to the presidential address on Friday evening and the round table on radio education on Friday afternoon, with Dr. Paul S. Achilles as chairman, the scientific program will be given in seventeen sections.

The chairmen of the sections and the number of papers are as follows:

General Papers, Walter R. Miles, seven papers.

Personality and Character, H. L. Hollingworth, eight papers.

Work and Efficiency, Walter Dill Scott, five papers. Sensory Phenomena, Madison Bentley, seven papers. Animal Psychology, Robert M. Yerkes, seven papers. Clinical Psychology, James Burt Miner, five papers. Child Psychology, John F. Dashiell, nine papers. Sensory Phenomena, J. McKeen Cattell, eight papers. Abnormal Psychology, Knight Dunlap, seven papers. Animal Psychology, Harvey A. Carr, eight papers. Clinical Psychology, Fred Kuhlmann, six papers. Applied Psychology, Clark L. Hull, five papers. Physiological Psychology, K. S. Lashley, eight papers. Learning, Raymond Dodge, eight papers.

Mental Tests, Joseph Jastrow, four papers.

Memory, Arnold Gesell, nine papers.

Animal Psychology, Walter S. Hunter, seven papers.

THE JOHN SCOTT AWARDS

THE John Scott awards, for inventions or discoveries of industry which "may add to the comfort, welfare and happiness of mankind," presented annually by the Board of City Trusts, Philadelphia, were presented recently, according to *The Christian Science Monitor*, to Dr. Joseph Slepian, Mr. George H. Emerson, Mr. Edward G. Budd and Mr. William Le Roy.

Dr. Slepian, consulting engineer of the Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company, was cited for his work in connection with gases and fundamental inventions involving these discoveries, the application of which has resulted in the production of an apparatus for arresting lightning charges and other electrical discharges of extremely high voltage.

Mr. Emerson, of Baltimore, was honored for his invention of the water tube fire box, which makes for greater efficiency and longer useful existence of the engine. Engines equipped with this type of fire box are capable of much longer runs than those with the ordinary type. Runs of 300,000 miles without substantial fire box repairs are frequent, and there is also less tendency to explosion with this box.

Mr. Budd, of the Budd Manufacturing Company, of Philadelphia, received the award for his process of shot-welding stainless steel which makes possible the use of this material for railroad cars and airplanes. This material gives the necessary stiffness, with far less weight per passenger than has been realized in any railroad car heretofore built. Lighter trains result in a reduction in cost of construction and operation of the cars. A greater speed is also attained.

Mr. William Le Roy, of the General Electric Company, Schenectady, New York, was named for his development of the mercury boiler, which is capable of higher ranges of temperature than are practicable with steam in turbines.

Established in 1816, through a bequest by John Scott, a chemist of Edinburgh, Scotland, these awards consist of a bronze medal, a certificate and \$1,000 each. The original fund amounted to only \$4,000, and the cash awards were each \$20. Increasing to what amounted to \$100,000 in 1910, the fund now permits the increase in the awards.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE honorary degree of doctor of science has been conferred by the University of Cambridge on Sir William Bragg, director of the Royal Institution.

THE honorary degree of doctor of science was conferred by the University of Oxford, on June 22, on Sir John Russell, director of the Rothamsted Experimental Station, and on Dr. Willem de Sitter, professor of astronomy at the University of Leiden.

THE University of Rochester conferred at com-

mencement the doctorate of science on Dr. Willis R. Whitney, vice-president of the General Electric Company, and on Dr. James Ewing, professor of pathology in the Cornell Medical School.

DR. CHARLES V. CHAPIN, superintendent of health at Providence from 1884 until his recent retirement, received the degree of doctor of science at the commencement exercises of Rhode Island State College.

MRS. ANNA JOHNSON PELL-WHEELER, of Prince-