Clutterbuck for his expedition to Akpatok Island; the Cuthbert Peek Grant to Miss Gerturde Caton-Thompson for her investigations in the historical geography of Lake Moeris, and the Gill Memorial to Dr. E. B. Worthington for his studies of East African Lakes.

APPOINTMENTS AND PROMOTIONS AT THE ROCKEFELLER INSTITUTE FOR MEDICAL RESEARCH

THE Board of Scientific Directors of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research announces the following appointments and promotions on the Scientific Staff to take effect on or after July 1, 1932:

New appointments:
Associate Member Dr. Francis O. Holmes
Associates Dr. A. Garrard Macleod
Dr. Herbert T. Osborn
Assistants Dr. Joseph W. Beard
Dr. William F. Bruce
Dr. Merrill W. Chase
Dr. Herald R. Cox
Dr. George L. Fite
Mr. Roger M. Herriott
Mr. Samuel E. Kamerling
Mr. Malcolm H. Merrill
Dr. Johannes K. Moen
Mr. William C. Price
Dr. Edward S. Rogers
Dr. Jerome T. Syverton

Members of the staff of the institute have accepted appointments as follows:

Dr. George P. Berry, professor of bacteriology and head of the department, and as associate professor of medicine at the Rochester Medical School, New York.

Dr. Philip Levine, instructor of pathology and bacteriology at the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

Dr. Currier McEwen, assistant dean of the New York University Medical School.

Dr. Harold J. Stewart, associate professor of medicine, Cornell University Medical College, and attending physician at the New York Hospital.

Dr. J. Lionel Alloway, assistant professor of bacteriology, department of bacteriology, Cornell University Medical College.

Dr. Macdonald Dick, instructor in medicine, Duke University.

Dr. Filip C. Forsbeck, research epidemiologist to the State of Michigan, Lansing.

Dr. Ralph E. Knutti, resident pathologist at the Strong Memorial Hospital, Rochester, New York.

Dr. Douglas H. Sprunt, assistant professor of pathology at the Medical School, Duke University.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Foreign members elected to the Royal Society of London are Dr. Theobald Smith, Princeton, comparative pathology; Dr. Graham Lusk, New York, physiology; Professor Jacques Salomon Hadamard, Paris, mathematics, and Dr. Walther Nernst, Berlin, physics.

Dr. Albert Einstein has been elected a corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences at Lisbon.

M. LE DUC DE BROGLIE, the French physicist, has been elected an honorary member of the Cambridge Philosophical Society.

ELECTIONS as correspondents of the Paris Academy of Sciences include M. Paul Stroobant, in the section of astronomy; M. Henry Buisson, in the section of general physics to succeed the late M. R. Blondlot, and M. H. Perrier de la Bathie in the section of botany.

At the recent commencement of Western Reserve University, the honorary degree of doctor of laws was conferred on Dr. Lafayette B. Mendel, Sterling professor of physiological chemistry in Yale University. The degree of doctor of science was conferred at the one hundred and sixty-fourth commencement of Brown University on Charles Franklin Kettering, vice-president of the General Motors Corporation.

Dr. Roscoe W. Thatcher, retiring president of the Massachusetts State College, received the degree of doctor of laws at the commencement of Amherst College.

At the commencement of Denison University, Ohio, its honorary doctorate of science was conferred on Dr. Douglas Johnson, professor of physiography at Columbia University.

At the recent commencement exercises at Lehigh University the honorary degree of doctor of science was conferred on Mr. Henry A. Gardner, director of the Institute of Paint and Varnish Research of Washington, an authority on protective coatings; and on Edwin Fitch Northrup, vice-president of the Ajax Electrothermic Corporation, of Princeton, New Jersey, who has contributed to electrical and metallurgical science through his development of electrical instruments, electrical pyrometers and induction furnaces.