That of Francis Clark Grant, University Hospital, Philadelphia, for excellence of demonstration of exhibit on ventriculography.

That of O. E. Denney, National Leprosarium, Carville, Louisiana, for exhibit on leprosy. (This work has been recognized by awards at previous scientific exhibits of the American Medical Association.)

The Committee on Awards commended especially the group exhibit of the Mayo Clinic and Mayo Foundation as a model of presentation, the excellent demonstrations given in the special exhibits on poliomyelitis, on cancer and on physical therapy.

A special Certificate of Merit was awarded to the American Society for the Control of Cancer for a cooperative exhibit on cancer as the best exhibit in the educational (national organizations) classification.

AWARDS TO ENGINEERS IN ENGLAND

It is announced in *Nature* that the British engineering societies have made awards as follows:

The Council of the British Institution of Civil Engineers has made the following awards for papers read and discussed at the ordinary meetings during 1931-32: The Telford Gold Medals to Dr. C. F. Jenkin, emeritus professor of engineering science in the University of Oxford, and to Sir Bernard D'O. Darley, of Bahawalpur, India; the Stephenson Gold Medal to B. G. White, London; a Telford premium jointly to H. C. Whitehead, Birmingham, and F. R. O'Shaughnessy, Birmingham; Telford premiums to Raymond Carpmael, London, H. J. Deane, London, John Goodman, Skipton; a Manby premium jointly to W. F. Stanton, Bishops Castle, and A. G. Le Clercq, Walton-on-Thames; a Trevithick premium to W. C. Ash, Vizagapatam, India.

The Council of the British Institution of Electrical

Engineers has made the following awards of premiums for papers read during the session 1931-32, or accepted for publication: Institution premium to J. Bruce; Ayrton premium to F. Lydall; Fahie premium to H. Kingsbury and R. A. Goodman; John Hopkinson premium to H. W. Clothier; Kelvin premium to Professor W. M. Thornton and Dr. W. G. Thompson; Paris premium to E. W. Dickinson and H. W. Grimmitt; extra premiums to H. Blades and A. C. MacQueen; R. O. Kapp and C. G. Carrothers; Dr. F. Luschen, H. Pearce and T. T. Evans; E. A. Watson, Major E. H. E. Woodward Wireless section premiums: Dudand W. A. Carne. dell premium to T. L. Eckersley; extra premiums to B. S. Gossling, J. A. Ratcliffe, L. G. Vedy and A. F. Wilkins. Meter and Instrument Section premiums: Silvanus Thompson premium to Professor J. T. Mac-Gregor-Morris and H. Wright; an extra premium to S. H. C. Morton.

Two awards of the Gold Medal of the Institution of Mining and Metallurgy, the highest distinction in its power to confer, have been made: (a) Sir Harold Carpenter, in recognition of his eminent services in the advancement of metallurgical science and technology; (b) Dr. Thomas A. Rickard, in recognition of his services in the general advancement of mining engineering, with special reference to his contributions to technical and historical literature. The following awards have also been made: The Consolidated Gold Fields of South Africa, Ltd., Gold Medal to P. J. Crowle for his investigations on ground movement and methods of support in deep mines, Kolar Gold Fields; The Consolidated Gold Fields of South Africa, Ltd., premium of forty guineas to Professor Bernard W. Holman for his work on flotation reagents; the William Frecheville Student's Prize of ten guineas to Gilbert F. Hatch for his paper on "Check Sampling of Diamond Drill Holes at the Trepca Mines, Jugoslavia."

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

The Manson medal for tropical medical research, given triennially by the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, has this year been awarded to Dr. Theobald Smith, who recently retired as director of the department of animal pathology of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research. The previous recipients of the Manson medal have been Sir David Bruce (1923), Senator Ettore Machiafava (1926) and Sir Ronald Ross (1929).

THE Lister Medal of the Royal College of Surgeons for distinguished contributions to surgical science has been awarded to Sir Charles Ballance, who will deliver the Lister Memorial Lecture at the college in 1933.

The Hungarian Academy of Sciences has elected as foreign member Sir Arthur Eddington, Plumian professor of astronomy at the University of Cambridge and director of the Cambridge Observatory.

At the annual convocation of McGill University on May 26, honorary degrees were conferred on Surgeon-General Robert Hugh Patterson, U. S. Army; Dr. Alfred North Whitehead, professor of philosophy at Harvard University, and Dr. J. S. Plaskett, director of the Dominion Astronomical Observatory.

The presentation of the Mendel Medal will be made on June 7 at the commencement exercises of Villanova College to Francis P. Garvan, of New York, in recognition of his contributions to scientific progress. Former winners of the award have been Dr. John A. Kolmer, professor at the University of Pennsylvania; Dr. Albert F. Zahm, of the Congressional Library at Washington, and Dr. Karl F. Herzfeld, of the Johns Hopkins University.

Professor William Mundell Thornton, who holds the chair of electrical engineering at Armstrong College, Newcastle-on-Tyne, has been awarded the