ods Employed in Mississippi Valley Archeology" with special reference to past work in Illinois. The Academy of Science maintains separate sections in agriculture, anthropology, botany, economics, geography, geology, medicine and public health, physics and chemistry, psychology and education, and zoology, all meetings being open to the public. A banquet was held on Friday evening at the Shoreland Hotel, after which Dr. Cole delivered the annual public address of the retiring president on "The Coming of Man." On Saturday morning an inspection was made of the new Oriental Museum at the University of Chicago, and also of the Field Museum, the Adler Planetarium and the Shedd Aquarium group in Grant Park.

GEOLOGICAL SESSIONS AT THE SUMMER MEETING OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION

Section E will hold sessions during the summer meeting of the association at Syracuse, New York, between Tuesday, June 21, and Friday, June 24. Arrangements for the sessions are being made by Dr. George B. Cressey, Syracuse University, local representative for Section E. On Tuesday there will be a joint session with Section M, consisting of a sym-

posium on aerial photography and aerial mapping. Section E will also participate in the symposium dealing with land use, which is being arranged by the general committee for the Syracuse meeting. The Wednesday morning session will be devoted to papers on local physiography, including glaciation. In the afternoon a field trip will be taken to points of physiographic interest. On Thursday morning, in addition to general papers, there will be a number of reports on stratigraphy related to the classic New York section. In the afternoon a field trip will be arranged especially for stratigraphers. Friday, June 24, will be devoted to an all-day field trip in the Mohawk Valley and the Adirondacks.

Those who desire to present papers should send titles to the secretary promptly. Titles must be accompanied by abstracts of about 250 words, giving the substance of the paper, and the author should indicate whether he will use lantern slides, charts or other illustrative material. All titles and abstracts must be in the hands of the secretary not later than May 24, if they are to appear on the program.

KIRTLEY F. MATHER,
Secretary, Section E,
Harvard University

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

The Theodore William Richards Gold Medal was presented to Dr. Arthur Amos Noyes, director of the Gates Chemical Laboratory of the California Institute of Technology, at a meeting of the Northeastern Section of the American Chemical Society in Boston on May 4. The program included a survey of the work of Professor Noyes by Professor Arthur B. Lamb, of Harvard University, president-elect of the American Chemical Society. Professor Lyman C. Newell, of Boston University, gave the history of the medal. William P. Ryan made the presentation and after accepting the medal Professor Noyes spoke on "Education for Chemical Research."

PROFESSOR MICHAEL I. PUPIN, of Columbia University, was recently tendered a testimonial dinner by friends at the Faculty Club, in honor of his having been made an honorary member last summer of the Royal Institution of London. Professor Pupin spoke on "Faraday, the Prophet in Science."

Professor E. W. Brown, Stirling professor of mathematics at Yale University, has been made the first incumbent of the professorship of mathematics recently established in honor of Josiah Willard Gibbs.

DR. HELEN DEAN KING, assistant professor in the Wistar Institute of Anatomy and Biology of the Uni-

versity of Pennsylvania, and Dr. Annie J. Cannon, astronomer of Harvard Observatory, have been given jointly the \$2,000 Ellen Richards Research Prize awarded annually by the Association to Aid Scientific Research by Women.

AT the annual meeting of the Boston Society of Natural History on May 4, the Walker prize was awarded to Thomas C. Brown, of Fitchburg, Massachusetts, for a paper on the "Glacial Geology of the Nashua Valley," while the second prize was awarded to Kenneth K. Landes, of the department of geology of the University of Kansas, for a paper on "Classification and Distribution of Pegmatites." The following officers of the society were reelected: Charles H. Taylor, president; Nathaniel T. Kidder, Glover M. Allen and William M. Wheeler, vice-presidents: Clinton V. McCoy, secretary; Augustus P. Loring, Jr., treasurer; Thomas Barbour, William L. W. Field, Frederic H. Kennard and John C. Phillips, trustees. John A. Blanchard and Ralph Hornblower are newly elected as trustees.

PARRY H. Moon, assistant professor of electrical engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been awarded the prize for the best paper presented during the year by the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, northeastern district. The