Vol. 75, No. 1949

Chicago Section of the American Chemical Society. The medal will be presented to Dr. Franklin before a national gathering in Chicago on May 20.

"Dr. Franklin's work on liquid ammonia solutions," the citation reads, "opened up an entirely new field, and also modified profoundly our views on aqueous solutions. He has made a life-long study, characterized by insight, thoroughness and experimental skill, of reactions in liquid ammonia. All trained chemists, both organic and inorganic, are aware of the profound effect of Franklin's work upon modern concepts of the relation between the solvent and the chemistry of the solute. The well-known experimental and theoretical development constituting practically a lifetime contribution has received recognition of the American Chemical Society through the fact that Dr. Franklin was president of our society at one time."

The Gibbs Medal, founded by William A. Converse, was first awarded in 1911 to Svante Arrhenius, of Sweden. It is named for Josiah Willard Gibbs, professor of mathematical physics at Yale from 1871 until 1903, who, although not primarily a chemist, did much to advance the science of physical chemistry.

Previous medallists in addition to Svante Arrhenius include Madame Curie, of France; Sir James C. Irvine, of Scotland, and the following Americans: T. W. Richards, L. H. Baekeland, Ira Remsen, Arthur A. Noyes, Willis R. Whitney, E. W. Morley, W. M. Burton, W. A. Noyes, F. G. Cottrell, Julius Stieglitz, G. N. Lewis, M. Gomberg, J. J. Abel, W. D. Harkins, Claude S. Hudson, Irving Langmuir and Phoebus A. Levene.

Members of this year's jury of award are: B. S. Hopkins, W. Lee Lewis, S. C. Lind, Julius Stieglitz, W. D. Bancroft, G. Borrowman, Otto Folin, F. C. Whitmore, W. L. Evans, J. H. Hildebrand, L. V. Redman and H. Steenbock.

ELECTIONS OF THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

AT the annual meeting of the National Academy of Sciences held in Washington on April 27, the fifteen new members permitted by the rules were elected as follows: Raymond T. Birge, physicist, University of California; Edwin G. Boring, psychologist, Harvard University; Samuel R. Detwiler, anatomist, Columbia University; Walter A. Jacobs, chemotherapist, Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research; Douglas W. Johnson, geologist, Columbia University; Louis O. Kunkel, plant pathologist, Boyce Thompson Institute, Yonkers, New York; Karl Landsteiner, pathologist, Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research; Walter C. Mendenhall, geologist, U. S. Geological Survey; (Harold) Marston Morse, mathematician, Harvard University; Floyd K. Richtmyer, physicist, Cornell University; John C. Slater, physicist, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; John R. Swanton, anthropologist, Bureau of American Ethnology; Robert J. Trumpler, astronomer, Lick Observatory; Edward W. Washburn, chemist, Bureau of Standards; John B. Whitehead, electrical engineer, the Johns Hopkins University.

Four foreign associates of the academy, who are limited to fifty, were elected. They are: Karl E. von Goebel, botanist, Munich; Fritz Haber, chemist, Berlin; Marchese Marconi, engineer, Italy, and Heinrich Wieland, chemist, Munich.

Arthur Keith, the U. S. Geological Survey, was elected treasurer to succeed President Joseph S. Ames, of the Johns Hopkins University. Professor Ross G. Harrison, Yale University, and Professor Henry Norris Russell, Princeton University, were elected members of the council to succeed Professor Edwin G. Conklin, Princeton University, and Dr. Harlow Shapley, the Harvard Observatory. Officers of the academy, apart from the treasurer, who were elected last year for a four-year term are Dr. W. W. Campbell, University of California and the Lick Observatory, president; Dr. David White, U. S. Geological Survey, vice-president; Dr. Fred E. Wright, Geophysical Laboratory of the Carnegie Institution, home secretary; Dr. R. A. Millikan, the California Institute of Technology, foreign secretary. Members of the council continuing in office are: President Karl T. Compton, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology: Dr. W. B. Cannon, Harvard Medical School; Dr. J. McKeen Cattell, New York, and Dr. Roger Adams. University of Illinois.

Dr. W. H. Howell, who retired this year from the directorship of the School of Hygiene and Public Health of the Johns Hopkins University, has been elected chairman of the National Research Council, to succeed Dr. George K. Burgess, director of the Bureau of Standards. A successor to Dr. Vernon Kellogg as permanent secretary of the council has not been elected.

At the dinner of the academy on April 26, the Mary Clark Thompson Medal was presented to Dr. David White, U. S. Geological Survey, the presentation address being made by Professor William B. Scott, of Princeton University. The Public Welfare Medal, awarded a year ago to Dr. Wyckliffe Rose, formerly general director of the International Health Board and president of the General Education Board, who has since died, was received by his son, H. Wyckliffe Rose, the presentation address being made by Dr. Simon Flexner, the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research.