The James Douglas Gold Medal for achievement in non-ferrous metallurgy was awarded to Professor C. H. Mathewson, of Yale University, for "his scientific contributions to the art of working and annealing non-ferrous metals."

Professor C. T. Eddy, of the Michigan College of Mining and Technology, received the Alfred Nobel Prize of \$500 in cash for a "paper of particular merit contributed by a member of any of the four founder engineering societies before the author is thirty years old." Professor Eddy is only twenty-eight years old. His paper was on "Arsenic Elimination in the Refining of Native Copper."

The J. E. Johnson, Jr., award for meritorious researches in iron and steel was given to Mr. Ora E. Clark, of Hamilton, Ohio, who has "developed an exceptional insight into the reactions of an iron blast furnace without the usual aid of a university education, his theoretical training being gained at odd moments through a correspondence course and at night school."

Mr. Howard Scott, of the Westinghouse Company, East Pittsburgh, was the recipient of the Robert Woolston Hunt Prize for his paper on "transformational characteristics of iron-manganese alloys." Mr. Scott has also "developed a number of low-expansion and special-purpose alloys, and has carried on fundamental research in heat-treatment."

Insignia were presented by the retiring president, Mr. Robert E. Talley, to the new members of the Legion of Honor, class of 1882, who had completed fifty years' membership in the institute.

Mr. G. Temple Bridgman, who was the toastmaster, introduced Mr. Scott Turner, president for 1932. The following are the newly elected vice-presidents: Frederick M. Becket, vice-president, Union Carbide and Chemical Company, New York; Paul D. Merica, the International Nickel Company, New York. New directors are: Erle V. Daveler, treasurer, Utah Copper Company; Eugene McAuliffe, president, Union Pacific Coal Company; H. S. Mudd, consulting engineer, Los Angeles; J. B. Umpleby, petroleum engineer,

Norman, Oklahoma, and Charles C. Whittier, consulting engineer, Chicago.

## THE HAYDEN MEMORIAL GEOLOGICAL AWARD FOR 1932

THE Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia announces that its committee on the Hayden Memorial Geological Award has selected Reginald Aldworth Daly, Sturgis-Hooper professor of geology at Harvard University, as the recipient of the 1932 award.

Professor Daly was selected by the committee in recognition of his outstanding work "in the study of igneous rocks, their genesis and the mechanics of their intrusion into the mountains of the Earth; his glacial-control theory of coral reefs, his work on the eustatic shift of oceanic level and his researches on the constitution of the Earth."

The committee on the Hayden Memorial Geological Award for 1932 consisted of Dr. Charles Schuchert, chairman, Dr. Henry Fairfield Osborn, Dr. Edgar T. Wherry, Dr. Henry A. Pilsbry and Dr. William Berryman Scott.

The Hayden Award was established with the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia in 1888 by Mrs. Emma W. Hayden, as a memorial to her husband, Dr. Ferdinand V. Hayden, a member of the academy, and director of the U. S. Geological and Geographical Survey in the early days of that organization.

The deed of gift provides that it shall be given "as a reward for the best publication, exploration, discovery or research in the sciences of geology and pale-ontology, or in such particular branches thereof as may be designated." From 1888 to 1900 the award consisted of a bronze medal and honorarium given annually, but in 1900 a modification of the deed of trust substituted a gold medal to be given every three years, for the previous annual award.

The Hayden Award will be formally presented at the meeting of the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia on April 19.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

At the exercises commemorating the fifty-sixth anniversary of the Johns Hopkins University on February 22, portraits of four past and present faculty members were presented to the university. Dr. Joseph S. Ames, president of the university, presided and Sir Wilmott Lewis, Washington correspondent of the London *Times*, was the principal speaker. Mr. George F. Baker, Jr., New York, presented a portrait of Dr. William H. Wilmer, since 1925 professor of ophthalmology in the school of medicine and head of the

Wilmer Ophthalmological Institute of the Johns Hopkins Hospital. The painting is the work of Frank O. Salisbury, London. Dr. William H. Welch, professor emeritus of the history of medicine, presented a portrait of the late Dr. William S. Halsted, first professor of surgery in the school of medicine. Dr. William S. Thayer, professor emeritus of medicine, presented a portrait of Dr. Frederick H. Baetjer, professor of clinical roentgenology. Both of these portraits are the work of Eric Haupt. Dr. William