of Kentucky from November 5 to 7. National officers, delegates from the twenty chapters and alumni members gathered at 7:30 p. m. on November 5 at the Lafayette Hotel in Lexington for a model initiation of pledges from the Kentucky chapter, the pre-convention smoker and a meeting of the executive council of the society. Formal sessions of the convention began at 9:00 A. m. on November 6, with an address of welcome by Professor Wm. S. Webb, head of the department of physics of the University of Kentucky. Dr. R. C. Young, of the College of William and Mary, then delivered his address as retiring president on "Recent Advances in Physics in their Relations to Other Sciences."

The report of the secretary, Dr. Marsh W. White, of the Pennsylvania State College, indicated a substantial development of interest in the idea of a national honorary physics fraternity, as evidenced by the chartering of fourteen new chapters since the previous convention in 1928 and a growth in membership to more than 700. Among the new chapters scheduled for installation is one at the University of the Philippines. The secretary reported the beginning in 1930 of the publication of a magazine, The Radiations of Sigma Pi Sigma and an esoteric publication, The Bulletin. Each chapter delegate also presented a report of the activities of his group, showing that open meetings of the chapters during 1930-31 have been addressed by such speakers as R. A. Millikan, K. T. Compton, W. E. Forsythe, Arthur Haas (University of Vienna), D. C. Miller, F. K. Richtmyer, C. E. Mendenhall, etc.

The guest speaker at the convention was Dr. W. F. G. Swann, director of the Bartol Research Foundation. He was initiated into the fraternity as an honorary member, after which he spoke on "Electrodynamics and Relativity." His evening address to a large audience was on "Some Philosophical Concepts of Modern Physics."

At the business sessions on November 7 plans were devised for nation-wide tours of prominent physicists as speakers to the chapters of the fraternity and at neighboring institutions. Officers elected were: President, Dr. M. N. States, Central Scientific Company; Vice-president, Professor G. D. Collins, Duke University, and Executive Secretary, Dr. Marsh W. White, the Pennsylvania State College. The additional members of the Executive Council are: Dr. R. C. Young, College of William and Mary; Dr. R. C. Colwell, West Virginia University; R. W. Graves, Duke University, and Dr. J. M. Douglas, Davidson College.

THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PHYSICS TEACHERS

THE second annual meeting of the American Association of Physics Teachers will be held on Decem-

ber 30 and 31 in New Orleans in conjunction with the annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, with which this association is affiliated. Headquarters has been established at the Hotel Roosevelt.

On Wednesday, December 30, at 6:30 P. M., the association will meet with the American Physical Society at a joint dinner at the Hotel Roosevelt.

On Thursday, December 31, at 10:00 A. M., the association will meet in Room E, Hotel Roosevelt, and the program will consist of a list of invited papers dealing with various phases of the most recent developments in the teaching of physics.

The afternoon program at 2:00 P. M. will consist of a number of short papers given by members of the association, dealing with special pieces of laboratory and demonstration apparatus of recent development by the authors. Some of this new apparatus and others not discussed in these papers will be on exhibition in the general apparatus exhibit of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in the Municipal Auditorium.

At 4:00 P. M. on Thursday, December 31, there will be the annual meeting for election of officers and transaction of business.

The detailed program of the various sessions may be obtained previous to the meeting by writing to the secretary of the association, Professor Wm. S. Webb, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky.

THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE AMERICAN ORNITHOLOGISTS' UNION

The Forty-ninth Stated Meeting of the American Ornithologists' Union was held in Detroit, Michigan, from October 19 to 23, 1931. The meeting was largely attended and representatives were present from 21 states and 5 provinces. The headquarters were at the Book-Cadillac Hotel where the business sessions and most of the public sessions were held. On Wednesday the meetings were held at Ann Arbor, in the Museum of Zoology of the University of Michigan, and on Thursday afternoon the closing session was held at the Cranbrook Institute of Science at Bloomfield Hills.

The officers were reelected for 1932 as follows: President, Joseph Grinnell, Berkeley, California; Vice-presidents, A. C. Bent, Taunton, Massachusetts; J. H. Fleming, Toronto; Secretary, T. S. Palmer, Washington, D. C.; Treasurer, W. L. McAtee, Washington, D. C. Additional members of the council, James P. Chapin, Ruthven Deane, H. C. Oberholser, J. L. Peters, C. W. Richmond, T. S. Roberts and P. A. Taverner.

The election of new members included three corresponding fellows: Albert Collin, of Helsinki, Fin-