botany, University of Alabama, chromosome structure in several plant genera; Harold Kirby, Jr., associate professor of zoology, University of California at Berkeley, protozoa of termites; C. L. Turner, professor of zoology, Northwestern University, fishes of the Mexican plateau.

To J. E. Coover, professor of psychology, Stanford University, analysis of expert performance in typing; Warren K. Moorehead, director of the department of archeology, Phillips Academy (Andover), classification of stone-cutting tools of the American Indians of the United States and Canada; S. L. Pressey, professor of educational psychology, and L. C. Pressey, assistant professor of educational psychology, Ohio State University, emotional attitudes and interests among certain tribes of American Indians; Ruth Sawtell Wallis, assistant professor of sociology, Hamline University, cranial types of western Europe.

VERNON KELLOGG,

Secretary

## THE NATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR AERONAUTICS

ACCORDING to the U. S. Daily, facilities of the Langley Memorial Laboratory of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics were made available to members of the nation's aircraft industry on October 22 when the committee at its regular annual meeting passed a resolution favoring such action.

Use of the laboratory for test purposes will be permitted, providing the individual pays the expense, the resolution provided. This action was taken, it was explained orally at committee headquarters, in order that test projects not of general interest to the industry, yet capable of being carried out only at the Langley laboratory, might be conducted for the benefit of individual manufacturers.

Results of such experimental and test work will be turned over to the person requesting the test, it was agreed, but in the discretion of the committee may also be published for general distribution.

Rear Admiral William A. Moffett, chief of the bureau of aeronautics, Department of the Navy, extended the committee an invitation to inspect the new naval airship Akron. Considerable research work on airships was conducted by the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics at Langley Field in conjunction with building of this dirigible.

The committee also adopted a testimonial resolution on the death of Dr. Samuel W. Stratton, late president of Massachusetts Institute of Technology, former director of the Bureau of Standards, one of the three organizers of the committee and a member of the research group since its formation.

Dr. Joseph S. Ames was reelected as chairman and Rear Admiral David W. Taylor (retired) as vicechairman. The executive board which was elected consists of Dr. Ames, Admiral Taylor, Dr. Charles G. Abbot, Dr. George K. Burgess, Major General James E. Fechet, Mr. William P. MacCracken, Jr., Brigadier General Henry C. Pratt, Admiral Moffett, Captain Arthur B. Cook, U. S. N., Mr. Edward P. Warner and Mr. Orville Wright.

## THE DOHME FOUNDATION AND NA-TIONAL FELLOWSHIPS AT THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY

In the first lecture of the 1931–32 series under the Dohme Foundation, given at the Johns Hopkins University on October 23, Dr. Leo Hendrik Baekeland, honorary professor of chemical engineering at Columbia University, addressed the faculty and students of the department of chemistry. Under the title, "My Mistakes," the lecture dealt with the fortunate accidents which have contributed to Dr. Baekeland's long and successful career in chemical research and industry, describing from the speaker's personal experience the adjustments that must be made by a man who carries the spirit of pure research into the industrial field.

The lecture was followed by a dinner given in honor of Dr. Baekeland by the students under the national fellowship plan, in connection with which the Dohme Foundation lectures are conducted. This furnished the first occasion of the academic year for a formal gathering of these students, who now number thirtyone. The new incumbents of national fellowships are: Philip G. Ackerman, from Oregon State Agricultural College, on the American Can Company fellowship for Oregon; C. Gerald Albert, from Yale University, the Mary Carroll Garvan memorial fellowship for Connecticut; R. Keith Blakely, from the University of New Mexico, the Chemical Foundation fellowship for New Mexico; Kenneth W. Brighton, from the University of Utah, American Can Company fellowship for Utah; Harold G. Burman, from Dakota Wesleyan University, Chemical Foundation fellowship for South Dakota; Lawton A. Burrows, from Drury College, William R. Warner and Company fellowship for Missouri; Clayton W. Ferry, from the University of North Dakota, John M. Hancock fellowship for North Dakota; William P. Hall, from Occidental College, American Can Company fellowship for California; Arnold L. Lippert, from the University of Illinois, Central Scientific Company fellowship for Illinois; Robert J. Myers, from Creighton University, Cudahy Packing Company fellowship for Nebraska; James L. Nauman, from Cornell College, G. A. Pfeiffer Company fellowship for Iowa: Charles C. Rainey, from Emory University, Coca-Cola Company fellowship for Georgia.

Subsequent lecturers for this year under the Dohme