APPOINTMENTS OF THE CARNEGIE INSTITUTION OF WASHINGTON

Dr. H. A. Spoehr has resigned as director of natural sciences of the Rockefeller Foundation and has resumed his former association with the Carnegie Institution of Washington as chairman of the division of plant biology, with headquarters at the central laboratory of this division, at Stanford University, California.

Dr. Jens Clausen, of the Royal Veterinary and Agronomic Laboratory, Copenhagen, has been appointed eyto-geneticist to the staff of the division of plant biology. Dr. Clausen is now carrying on his work in association with Dr. H. M. Hall at the central laboratory of this division, at Stanford University.

Dr. Robert W. Bates, of the department of physiological chemistry of the University of Chicago, has undertaken studies, beginning on October 1, as an associate of Dr. Oscar Riddle, staff member of the department of genetics of the institution, at Cold Spring Harbor, Long Island.

Dr. W. H. W. Baade, of the Hamburg Observatory, has been appointed astronomer at the Mount Wilson Observatory, dating from October 1, 1931.

Dr. Joel Stebbins, director of the Washburn Observatory of the University of Wisconsin, has undertaken service as a research associate of the institution, for the purpose of collaboration in studies of stellar photometry at the Mount Wilson Observatory.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE National Academy of Sciences will hold its autumn meeting at Yale University, New Haven, beginning on November 16. At this meeting Dr. W. W. Campbell will preside, having been elected to the presidency in succession to Dr. T. H. Morgan.

The executive committee of the American Association for the Advancement of Science will hold its regular fall meeting at the Cosmos Club in Washington on Sunday, October 25, with a forenoon and an afternoon session.

Dr. Samuel Wesley Stratton, chairman of the corporation of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, previously professor of physics at the University of Chicago, founder and first director of the National Bureau of Standards and president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, died suddenly from heart disease on October 18 at the age of seventy years.

The John Fritz gold medal, conferred by the four national societies of civil, mining and metallurgical, mechanical and electrical engineers, has been awarded for 1932 to Dr. Michael I. Pupin, professor of electromechanics and director of the Phoenix Research Laboratory at Columbia University, for his achievements as "scientist, engineer, author, inventor of the tuning of oscillating circuits and the loading of telephone circuits by inductance coils."

Dr. George E. Hale has been elected president of the International Council of Scientific Unions, the new name of the International Research Council. He succeeds M. Picard. Sir Henry Lyons remains general secretary.

At the recent centenary meeting of the British Association for the Advancement of Science, Sir Alfred Ewing, lately principal and vice-chancellor of the University of Edinburgh, was elected by the general committee president of the association for next year, when the meeting will be held at York. The new members of the council are Dr. J. Drever, Professor T. E. Gregory, Professor H. S. Hele-Shaw, Professor E. B. Poulton and Professor A. M. Tyndall.

At the reception held at the University of London on September 28 to celebrate the centenary meeting of the British Association, the degree of doctor of science was conferred on General Jan Christiaan Smuts, F.R.S., president of the association; Professor Sir Frederick Gowland Hopkins, F.R.S., Sir Charles Scott Sherrington, O.M., F.R.S.; Lord Rutherford, O.M., F.R.S., and (in absentia) Sir Joseph John Thomson, O.M., F.R.S.

Dr. James Rowland Angell, president of Yale University, who was made "Chevalier" of the French Legion of Honor in 1930, has been promoted to the rank of "Officier."

Dr. ALICE HAMILTON, assistant professor of industrial medicine at the Harvard School of Public Health, was given a special dinner at the recent meeting of the American Public Health Association.

Dr. Russell M. Wilder has resigned his position as professor of medicine at the University of Chicago to join the staff of the Mayo Clinic and the faculty of the Mayo Foundation Graduate School of the University of Minnesota as professor of medicine.

Dr. Karl T. Waugh, head of the department of psychology at Long Island University, has been elected president of Dickinson College.

Dr. ELIJAH SWIFT, Williams professor of mathematics and head of the department in the College of Arts and Sciences, University of Vermont, has been made dean of the college, succeeding Dean George H.